We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cutest Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights while on a Porsche driving tour. This is the cutest little town. We were here in early September and there was snow on the way to the hotel. The rooms are large with beautiful views. Great location, the hotel is in the middle of the little town. The lighting in the room is great and the bathroom has a lighted make-up mirror. The rooms have many outlets, which is always convenient. There was food and bottled water left for us in the room every day. It was either cookies or fruit. This was the best fruit I've ever had. We were there during the off season, but there was plenty to do. You need a jacket here, even during the summer. There is a store that sells Swiss Army knives located across the street from the hotel. Great selection of knives, some you won't find in the US. I thought it was cool to bring home Swiss Army knives that I bought in Switzerland. The brunch at the hotel is great. The food was wonderful with a huge selection. The "American" coffee is very strong.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KulmHotel-Kronenhof, Manager at Grand Hotel Kronenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear guest Christina W,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Engadine and would be pleased to welcome you soon again at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof, whether for a winter stay or again in summer!
Kind regards
Marc Eichenberger, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Many have written enthusiastically about this fine hotel and rightly so. From Reception to Bar to Dining Room (and what a beautiful room that is) service is silky smooth and unobtrusively of the highest standards. The excellent General Manager is clearly in evidence and manages to find time to welcome guests and bid them farewell. The hotel is spotlessly clean.
Bedrooms in the modern part are well-sited for the very good indoor pool, spa and saunas as well as the essential underground car park, and are well-equipped and spacious with good balconies (rooms in the older part do not have the latter). The Dining Room provided excellent breakfasts - both healthy and naughty. Dinners are very good indeed with plenty of choice - the table d'hote is very adequate and caters, through two versions of the same menu, for those who want the full works and those concerned about carbohydrates (for whom the fattening bits are removed). The wine list contains all one would want to see, some at high prices, but several wines are available by the glass. The hotel's own gourmet restaurant (on the street but part of the hotel) is good but perhaps not quite as good as it thinks. Here the service is as attentive as it is in the main restaurant , if a little more obsequious. The Bar area provides all you will think of drinking; it is, however, where you can indulge in a cigar. The very comfortable lounges are plentiful and there are rooms set aside for such things as bridge, billiards and table-tennis. For younger children there is a supervised and very complete toddlers room. the grounds are well-kept as is the outside pool.
We were there in early September and the hotel was far from full. Indeed, some in the area, including the Kronenhof's sister hotel in St. Moritz, were closed and were awaiting the ski season. So it was quiet but oh! so good! The town is small but attractive - and it is well worth looking out for concerts: we found one by chance in the local Protestant Church on a wet morning at 10.30 a.m. and a jolly and rumbustuous affair it was!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank JCW394568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KulmHotel-Kronenhof, Manager at Grand Hotel Kronenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear guest JCW394568,
We would like to thank you for your detailed and marvellous feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof last month - great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Grand Hotel Kronenhof Team would be very pleased to welcome you soon again!
With our best wishes and kind regards
Marc Eichenberger, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

First of all, Pontresina is darling. A small, but cosmopolitan town and Grand Hotel Kronenhof is perfectly located within it.
Our experience at the hotel was exceptional from the minute we walked in until the minute we left. We were warmly welcomed and given a tour of the hotel and our room. Our room was large and comfortable and had a great view of the landscape and the river. We were always too late for dinner (so bummed!), but the breakfast was amazing! Anything you could ever want! The concierge was great with helping us find the best hike for us. Once we finished our hike, someone from the hotel was there to pick us up (with bottles of water) and take us back to the hotel. On another day, we took their awesome e-bikes for a spin and explored the area. The spa: Just WOW. I feel like I am pretty well traveled, but I have yet to experience a spa like this. We couldn't bring ourselves to leave. I am really picky about my massages and find a lot of spa massages to be average at best, but I had a fantastic massage here, from Henriette. This hotel is such a treat! I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KulmHotel-Kronenhof, Manager at Grand Hotel Kronenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear guest SDandi,
We thank you very much for your great feedback and are delighted to hear that you had an unforgettable stay at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof Pontresina.
Looking forward to your next visit and wishing you in the meantime all the best!
Kind regards
Marc Eichenberger, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

I am Kronenhof's life-long fan, it is truly my favourite hotel ever. Once again, my family and I visited Pontresina just for one night at the end of August and I cannot stress enough how all three of us loved our stay in the Grand Hotel Kronenhof.

The Spa, the breakfast, the most amazing amazing dinner (I recommend you pay a little extra for the half-board option), the views, the most attentive personnel... We were even able to check out at 11AM (not usual 3PM)! I cannot wait to return!

I loved it again! 10 out of 10!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KulmHotel-Kronenhof, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Kronenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Oliko,

We would like to thank you for your precious feedback in reference to your stay at the end of August. We are very grateful for your compliments about our employees, the spa, the breakfast, the food and the fantastic view, but especially having you as a life-long fan of the Grand Hotel Kronenhof.

The Grand Hotel Kronenhof Team is pleased to welcome you and your family soon again!

Kind regards,
Marc Eichenberger, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This was our second trip to Pontresina, Switzerland which is just outside St. Moritz. Both times we stayed at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof and both times we were astonished at the quality of literally everything. The care and attention of the employees is just something you don't see anymore. The staff is friendly, helpful, and is clearly well-trained to do their jobs.

We took the half-board option and I highly recommend it. The main restaurant is outstanding, with several options to choose from at each meal. The food is very high quality and the service is delightful. One gets the feeling of dining on a grand oceanliner from a previous era.

The pool, sauna, and spa are excellent.

I could go on and on.... And btw, the region is stunning. We went hiking, horseback riding, and exploring everyday for 11 days and only scratched the surface.

If there is any problem with this hotel, it is that you will find yourself comparing all your other hotels that you like and think "well, such and such is a good place, but not as good as the GH Kronenhof."

I thank everyone there for a wonderful, wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank biztraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KulmHotel-Kronenhof, Geschäftsführer at Grand Hotel Kronenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear biztraveler71,

We would like to express our gratitude for your marvellous feedback in occasion of your stay at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof. We really appreciate your precious and outstanding compliments regarding our employees, the meals, the spa, the hotel structure and the Engadine region in general.

We would love to welcome you soon again for a third stay at the Grand Hotel Kronenhof!

Kind regards and best wishes
Marc Eichenberger, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontresina
0.1 km away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#3 of 21 in Pontresina
639 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
5.3 km away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Walther
Hotel Walther
#5 of 21 in Pontresina
190 reviews
4.6 km away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
551 reviews
4.6 km away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kronenhof? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kronenhof

Address: Via Maistra 130, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Family Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Business Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Spa Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range: ₹ 23,895 - ₹ 49,352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kronenhof 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Kronenhof is located in the heart of the Swiss mountain village Pontresina and has more than 165 years of history. At 1,800 meters, guests can enjoy 112 elegant rooms and suites, as well as one of the most impressive wellness facilities in the Alps, with a swimming pool with underwater music, a wide range of saunas, steam baths and spa treatments. As the only five-star superior hotel in town, it combines a great location with impressive architecture, breathtaking views and excellent cuisine. Awarded the title GaultMillau Hotel of the Year in 2009, it has three restaurants: Grand Restaurant, Kronenstubli and Pavillon. In 2016, TripAdvisor crowned the hotel as N 1 of the Swiss luxury hotels and one of the top 25 hotels with the best service worldwide. The Swiss economic magazine Bilanz categorized the hotel as a top 12 ranking of the 50 best Swiss holiday hotels. In 2016, the house was also recognized as the best spa resort in the country at the World Luxury Spa Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Kronenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing