We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel pur sang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed 6 nights in a junior suite in this grand old lady. We were very please with our junior suite on the 6th floor offering fabulous views over the mountains. It was a spacious room with very good beds, nice sitting area, writing table and bath room. Very kind and personal reception on arrival. The manager of the hotel was there to welcome us as well. Complimentary transfers from/to Pontresina railway station. Impressive lounge, salons and dining room. Really as it was in the old days and a must for guests who like to stay in these kind of hotels. Dress code. After two days the rather formal staff seems to recognize you and are a little less reserved as in the beginning. We had the feeling that they had a little stress as the working pressuere was quite high due to the many guests. All staff were running which gave us a bit uneasy feeling. Later when there were lest guests it was more relaxed. Everything here is handled in the old fashioned way. The head waiter welcomes you in the restaurant, asks if you want coffee or tea during breakfast, writes out a paper and hand it over to one of the waiters who gets what you want, etc. Good breakfast buffets and 4-course dinners are served here in a formal ambience. The food is quiet good and you have a choice of two at each course. We liked the cheese fondue in the bowling alley as well as dinner in the Italian restaurant at the Kulm Hotel, the sister property in Sankt Moritz. The Kronenhof bar is beautiful but lacking atmosphere. We think the manager over there was a superstar bartender in the old days and has seen better days. Waiters were waiting eagerly to get drinks from him while he talked to guests or, at times, there was no one in the bar to attend to the guests. Sometimes we had to wait long for our drinks and were not offered any snacks or these were brought after we had finished our drinks. We did not like the piano player very much. He was repeating, night after night, the same tunes from the VERY old days during tea time, cocktail hour, dinner and after dinner drinks. It seems they have a different piano player every month. It think can can skip the piano player every other night and put on some classical, jazzy or new age music as well. There is a really beautiful spa and impressive pool area with the most stunning view ever seen from a pool. Small sauna area and nice and relaxing whirlpool. The Pavillion Restaurant is very nice to have lunch next to the ice skating rink. Very attentive receptionists and concierge, porters. This is a very nice hotel, but lacks a bit of frivolity which makes good make it more attractive to people who come here for the first time.They could do more with better paintings on the walls, a combination of modern and old furniture, more flowers and so on. We think we will be back due to the hotels location and pool, but think the management should spice up things a little and make the place a bit more attractive for a new generation of guests.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 240 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

We were a party of 10 travelling from Zurich by train to Pontresina. We were impressed how prompt they collected us from the station & transfered us to the hotel. The staff were very polite and helpful. The transfers to the slopes was part of the package which was bed, breakfast & evening meal. A very good deal. You had a choice where to eat your evening meal. The smart dress code made it feel like a special occassion. The breakfast service was rather slow. We however, got up early enough not to be bothered by this. The spa has a swimming pool with an exceptional view of the mountains! It also catered for the UK guests who could keep their swim wear on!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDJJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just back from one week at Kronenhof. This was absolutely the best skiing vacation we have had ever. The hotel is wonderful, the service above all expectations and the spa like heaven. We enjoyed every minute and will be back. We just can not find one thing to point fingers at. Mrs. and Mr Hunkeler have a wonderful hotel and a very nice and competent staff, who knows how to fullfill all you wishes and at the same time create a wonderful feeling.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I was impressed by the high level of service, my room was spacious and modern, had all amenities expected. I tried two restaurants in the Hotel complex and both were just exceptional n quality and service. I can highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed for a long weekend (friday to sunday) and came back home to Zurich feeling refreshed, relaxed and just happy after such a lovely weekend.

Location is great - a short way from St Moritz and the ski fields - 10 mins max in car or shuttle bus (hotel can arrange this for you - pick up at both ends). Some very cool little restaurants and wine bars in town, ski shops for last minute shopping etc etc.

There was a big conference/ event (SVITA) on in Pontresina with this hotel hosting events - workshops through to dinners.... BUT you would never have known all this was going on except for the posters of the agenda up in the foyer. I assume this hotel as an events team - they did an awesome job of isolating those activities or the impact from the every day guest.

Service is 11/ 10. We had exceptional help from Wouter - if you need to know what to do, where to eat, where to shop, how to get somewhere, get ski lift tickets, book restaurants ... the list goes on.- he is your man! And he is super friendly and nothing is a trouble at all.

We stayed in a junior suite - spacious, very comfortable, big bath and a balcony with views of the mountains. My only criticism would be that the rooms didnt have WiFi which you would expect in this calibre of hotel (there is a WLAN you can plug in but that's not much use for ipads etc) However there is free wifi in the common areas which is fast and reliable.

Breakfast is yummy with good variety. Clearly cater to an international audience so you arent stuck with bread or a croissant and jam as is often the case in europe.

The spa is to the standard of hotels you expect in this range -nothing more and nothing less- in facilities, services and prices. I would say the receptionist at the spa was a little ''chilly'' in her manner - perhaps we had become too accustomed to the smiling face and helpful manner of Wouter?

We would definitely go back and not hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzieandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontresina
0.1 km away
Hotel Saratz
Hotel Saratz
#3 of 21 in Pontresina
639 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
5.3 km away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Walther
Hotel Walther
#4 of 21 in Pontresina
190 reviews
4.6 km away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
549 reviews
4.6 km away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kronenhof? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kronenhof

Address: Via Maistra 130, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Business Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Family Hotel in Pontresina
#1 Spa Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range: ₹ 24,020 - ₹ 49,733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kronenhof 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Kronenhof is located in the heart of the Swiss mountain village Pontresina and has more than 165 years of history. At 1,800 meters, guests can enjoy 112 elegant rooms and suites, as well as one of the most impressive wellness facilities in the Alps, with a swimming pool with underwater music, a wide range of saunas, steam baths and spa treatments. As the only five-star superior hotel in town, it combines a great location with impressive architecture, breathtaking views and excellent cuisine. Awarded the title GaultMillau Hotel of the Year in 2009, it has three restaurants: Grand Restaurant, Kronenstubli and Pavillon. In 2016, TripAdvisor crowned the hotel as N 1 of the Swiss luxury hotels and one of the top 25 hotels with the best service worldwide. The Swiss economic magazine Bilanz categorized the hotel as a top 12 ranking of the 50 best Swiss holiday hotels. In 2016, the house was also recognized as the best spa resort in the country at the World Luxury Spa Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Kronenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing