We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectations”
Review of Hotel Saratz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saratz
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Pontresina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What really positively surprising about the whole value for money. Excellent breakfast and great staff. Could also be a five-star hotel. Absolutely try half-board, the food was excellent. Even if the weather was not so nice, the garden close to the river is really charming.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 554ernestoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaratzHotel, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Saratz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review!

We are very glad to read that you have had a wonderful stay at the Saratz. A highly motivated team of 75 employees are giving every day their best performance to satisfy the needs of our guests. The compliments we receive are motivating us even more to improve our services and make a stay at the Saratz even more enjoyable.

Wie hope to welcome you soon again at the Saratz and remain with sunny greetings.

The Saratz Team with Thierry Geiger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

we took advantage of the Summer deal to spend a couple of days and we enjoyed it thoroughly. The surrending country is beautiful, people are nice, food is good and the outdoor swimming pool a must, located in a nice park facing the snowcapped mountains. One slight comment: the place is not made for non-german speakers. Staff is gently struggling and all written communication is in german. Could be improved

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donniefritts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaratzHotel, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Saratz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Herzlichen Dank für Ihre Bewertung!
Es freut uns sehr zu lesen, dass es Ihnen im Saratz gut gefallen hat.
Einen Team von 75 Mitarbeitenden kümmert sich liebevoll um alle Gäste und gibt täglich ihr Bestes um die Erwartungen zu übertreffen.
Wenn es uns gelungen ist, Sie zu begeistern, freuen wir uns umso mehr.

Bis zum nächsten Mal im schönen Engadin.

Das Saratz Team mit Thierry Geiger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Apartment punt ota (nr 6) is located in the house next to hotel Saratz (the 2 houses are connected) and is a good alternative, if you want the servies from a hotel but wish more space than the standard room/suite at Saratz. The service is the same (breakfast buffet, free use of their spa, daily house cleaning, room service menu....). The apartment is modern, with large windows to enjoy the magnificent mountain view. Great for a couple. They sell the apartment as a 3 room apartment, but it is actually 2 room in my opinion. 1 large sitting room with kitchen and table, a smaller bedroom with a large outdoor terrasse with loungers, a small bathroom with shower and a dressing room which they sell as a third room. The room does not have windows and is the connecting room between the bedroom and bathroom. Maybe for a small child it is ok, but not for older children or adults. The other apartments in the house belong to permanent residents. We hardly saw or heard anybody. Nice touch: on our arrival we found a flower bouquet and prosecco in the apartment. Included in the price is a daily refilled fridge with non alcolcolic beverages. We loved this stylish apartment and would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: apartment punt ota for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxuryvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaratzHotel, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Saratz, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review!

We are very glad to read that you have had a wonderful stay at the Saratz. A highly motivated team of 75 employees are giving every day their best performance to satisfy the needs of our guests. The compliments we receive are motivating us even more to improve our services and make a stay at the Saratz even more enjoyable.

Wie hope to welcome you soon again at the Saratz and remain with sunny greetings.

The Saratz Team with Thierry Geiger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located in the city center. An ideal place for people who either want to relax or would like to go for a hike.
The rooms are big and airy some offering an amazing view of the mountains and glacier. Service is very friendly. One can also enjoy a drink on the terrace if the weather is good. Evening entertainment with music at the bar. You will never feel lonely.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Qamar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaratzHotel, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Saratz, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review!

We are very glad to read that you have had a wonderful stay at the Saratz. A highly motivated team of 75 employees are giving every day their best performance to satisfy the needs of our guests. The compliments we receive are motivating us even more to improve our services and make a stay at the Saratz even more enjoyable.

Wie hope to welcome you soon again at the Saratz and remain with sunny greetings.

The Saratz Team with Thierry Geiger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We are currently staying for 8 nights in one of their south view corner rooms (offer "Bergsommer"). The offer has some interesting items listed that sound really great, but....

-Fruit basket in the room on arrival

This turns out to be a a plate with four mushy peaches

-One Aperitif at the chimney bar or on the outside sun terrace

This is obviously the beer and mineral water we got while waiting for the room to be ready. The room was only ready 30min after the official check in time at 15:00h...

-Hiking map of the region with 10 suggestions

The map is missing but there are about 10 suggestions

-Free tickets for mountain trains and all public transportation including your dog and mountain bike

Well, the mountain bikes turned out not to be free on the trains and we had quite some hassle because of this when the conductor arrived to check our tickets... At least the manager promised to reimburse us for the additional cost

-Half pension:
Dinner is included ever evening in either the "Jugendstil Restaurant" or the "Pitschna Scena"
The first one mentioned is really good with nice choices and good service, the quality of the food is also great
The "Pitschna Scena" though is a bit different... For example they offer beef tartare which turned out to be more like beef mousse with some kind of sweet chili flavor. Then they also offer Thai papaya salad which turned out to be more like a carrot salad with sweet dressing. Fish for main course was over cooked and tasteless... Not sure if we will go there again.
Also no one told us at checkin that reservations are needed, so when we wanted to eat @18:00h we had to wait either 1 1/2h or 2 1/2h, depending on the restaurant we want to go!

-Breakfast
Breakfast is good with lots of regional, fresh items

-Personnel
Mostly a bit unsure and even giving no or wrong information

The room is nice and relatively big for Swiss standards.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank swissmountain1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaratzHotel, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Saratz, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thank you for your review!
We are pleased to read, that you have had a good time at the Saratz.

The Hotel has been in business since 1865 and we are all very glad to receive always advice to make our service even better. We thank you for the comments which can help us to improve our performance.
Unfortunately you forget to mention, that our Manager offered you a bottle of sparkling wine to make your stay more enjoyable as a couple of complaints were absolutely correct. Critics are important, but you should also tell when something is good. ;-)

Wie hope to welcome you soon again at the Saratz and remain with best regards from the Swiss Alps.

The Saratz Team with Thierry Geiger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pontresina hotels
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
857 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Walther
Hotel Walther
#5 of 21 in Pontresina
189 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Schloss Pontresina Family & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Rosatsch
Hotel Rosatsch
#7 of 21 in Pontresina
223 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#2 of 21 in Pontresina
234 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#8 of 21 in Pontresina
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saratz? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saratz

Address: Via da la Staziun 2 | 7504, Pontresina 7504, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Pontresina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pontresina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pontresina
#2 Family Hotel in Pontresina
#3 Spa Hotel in Pontresina
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Pontresina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pontresina
Price Range: ₹ 14,728 - ₹ 26,791 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Saratz 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Pontresina and at the heart of the holiday region Engadine St. Moritz, Hotel Saratz is elegant yet cosy, contemporary yet charming - and its blend of old and new exudes one thing above all: atmosphere. The modern way of living merges with the Engadine hotel tradition, grandeur with design and nature with architecture. True values for a holiday adventure in a magnificent setting. According to the latest rating of the "SonntagsZeitung" of 31 May 2015, Hotel Saratz has been ranked the 7th best family hotel in Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Saratz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratz Hotel Pontresina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing