We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
187
30
7
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
187
30
7
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his wife morning walk jp singh horse riding personal touch tea estate home away from home beautiful monasteries white horse excellent hosts every evening great food an amazing view home cooked food polite staff paneer wonderful stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2021

We had the opportunity of spending five days at Colonel's Resort. Our stay was extremely comfortable and relaxing.
The resort made all the arrangements for us, right from airport pickup at Dharamshala and the drop. They even organised the Paragliding for us, including pick and drop from the resort.
The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and tastefully done. The staff was cordial and helpful. The room opened out to green exteriors, with ample fruit bearing trees.
The food was sumptuous, hygienic and tasty.
The icing on the cake was the personal touch by Col and Mrs JP Singh, who interacted with all the guests regularly, to make them comfortable.
Overall a nostalgic sojourn. I would definitely like to stay again and would highly recommend to everyone visiting Bir.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sanjeevkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2021

I had this amazing holiday at the Colonels Resort. I had informed the Colonel of my arrival and he most painstakingly guided me to his resort. I later on saw him actually guiding guests after they left the resort. That is the kind of fine detail he goes into.

The cottages of the resort are located in a pear orchard and the trees were laden with fruits and all kinds of birds visit the orchards- a bird watchers delight. The vegetables they serve at the resort are harvested from their garden and they are organic. The resort is surrounded by the Colonels Tea Gardens and you can get some pretty exotic tea at the resort. The garden if full of flowers roses petunia nasturtium and the most amazing Hydrangea. If you are fond of butterfly watching this is a place you should visit! The view from the resort is pretty stunning. All around the resort are some stunning stone sculptures.

The rooms were neat and clean. The entire resort is clean everything is in order - very army like.

The resort has two beautiful horses. One is Marwari and the other is a mountain pony. The Colonel and son are excellent horse riders and they organized a fantastic cross country trail ride. If you love horse riding this is a place you should visit.

Bir does attract people for paragliding but this is a hidden gem for cyclists. The Colonel knows some awesome cycling tracks . We had a wonderful time going on some tough mountain biking trails. If you are up to the challenge then ride up to Billing.

The food at the resort is at another level! The family that runs the place are present for every meal they are present to attend to every guest! that pretty unique.

If you want to get way from the city and just breathe fresh air this is the place to go to.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Escape685074
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2021

Spent a week remote working from colonels. Loved every minute of it. The rooms were nice ans spacious. The food was absolutely delicious and the hosts were absolutely amazing.
Highly recommend an after dinner walk to the tea garden where you can see hundreds of fireflies dancing around.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Abhimanyu2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2021 via mobile

After a long COVID confinement for more than a year, all family decided to go for a nice one week vacation and to Bir famous for world class paragliding and monasteries in Himachal Pradesh and have a wonderful luxury stay in Colonel’s Resort at Bir, Baijnath. Our experience for a week staying in luxury at Colonel’s Resort of Colonel (Retd) J P Singh and his wife Pratibha has been awesome. The overall ambience, landscaping with beautiful lush green gardens, very spacious well lit rooms with nice pine wood flooring, dinning hall and front open spaces for morn evening tea and bonfire, overlooking hills and also watching paragliding all day, horse riding, morn even walking trails around the resort and amidst tea gardens, most delicious multi cuisine food and unparalleled hospitality has been superb. The family’s personal attention to guests, their guidance and help for all our visits including for paragliding has been our most memorable experience.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SunilNanda_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2021 via mobile

Visited Colonel's Resort at BIR and what a lifetime experience. Such a beautiful Resort, asthetically designed, awesome hospitality with personal Care, courteous staff, Sumptuous/Exotic & hygenic Food with huge Variety, very reasonable rates. Seemed like I am at my own home...waiting to go back again. Loved my holiday here..

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank anilnanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews