We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
175
30
7
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
175
30
7
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his wife personal touch tea estate excellent hosts an army great food wonderful stay paneer bir billing tucked away take care home made special mention jp horses feisty walks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2020 via mobile

The location of Colonels Resort, Bir Billing, nestled in the foothills of the Dauladhar mountains is picture perfect. The buildings, dining room, meadow with horses, walkways blend into the landscape. This is off season in February but it’s a beautiful time- mist rolling in, chill, a bonfire begging to be lit! The rooms are snug and welcoming, the food is delicious and Col JP and his family are excellent hosts. Walking trails, para sailing, monasteries- you never want to leave!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank annuuraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2019

Great view, abundance of greenery, hot food, and well-kept rooms are amenities that most hotels and resorts in Himachal can claim to offer. But checking into The Colonel’s resort- run by the owners of the property themselves- is like coming to stay with relatives, or visiting your favourite neighbours.
The atmosphere is one of friendship and easy camaraderie. The Colonel himself, with their pet dog Frisky basking in the sun at his feet, is happy to strike a conversation with willing guests. His petite wife ensures that each guest is well looked-after, and personally supervises the kitchen. (One evening, when a cranky little kid of one of the guests insisted that he will eat only paneer-parathas for dinner and nothing else, the gracious hostess gladly ensured that the child’s whim was catered to!)
Providing every assistance with an affable smile is the debonair son of the Colonel and his wife. Widely-read, unassuming, and a gentleman to the core, he ensures that each guest makes wonderful memories at Bir.
I stayed at the resort with colleagues and the students of my school, and my experience was so wonderful that I went to the place the following year again, with my family.
Picturesque ambiance- complete with handsome, contentedly-grazing horses... warm conversations by the bonfire until late into the cool evenings, homely food and polite staff... I have had a lovely stay at the resort and confidently recommended it to several friends.

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 2,00,601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2019 via mobile

Good property in the lap of nature. Colonel and his staff is amazing. This my 2nd stay with them and they are humble and helpful as before. Property is spread across multiple fields with horses,tea plantation and many more thing s to explore.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sachin_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2019

I stayed in Colonel's resort. This is the best place in the region.

The one main reason is their extraordinary service staff.
One of the lacking things in properties in Himachal is that the staff are not that well trained to take care of the guests.
But, it is not so in Colonel's cafe. I believe the main reason is that it is run by an Army man.

We reached quite late in night, but even then they took care of us by making the dinner ready, after long hours of it was closed. And to top that up, the dinner was yummy.

This is a big property, we could walk in the gardens, enjoy the beautiful restaurant, and even do camping there.
And they also have their own cows, that's the reason their food is so pure and tasty.

They also have horses, and stable!
and it is right next to tea estate.

Love this property, and I would be a regular visitor. Thank you guys.

Date of stay: August 2019
1  Thank SanchitThakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2019

Lovely sprawling property in the midst of nature. Obviously a labour of love by Colonel and his family. While it is has all the comforts of a resort, it also the caring personal touch of the owners. We spent a wonderful 2 days there, especially memorable evenings around the bonfire. Special mention and thank you to the Colonel for his concern and reassurance during our journey from Manali as our son taken taken ill on the way!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jakes0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews