We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Rheinfels
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Predrag(Sankt Goar)
View Hotel
Hotel Rheinblick(Sankt Goar)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Hotel an der Fahre(Sankt Goar)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Montag(Sankt Goar)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Pohl's Rheinhotel Adler(Sankt Goarshausen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nassauer Hof(Sankt Goarshausen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
100
78
26
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
78
26
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerthe rivercurryst goarno liftscrambled eggshuge windowsfirst floorreception deskstone's throwbeautiful viewa river view roomcar ferrywest banksuperb locationlocated hotelparking area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Run by an Indian family, the lobby is not promising but the room we were shown to - an upgrade on what we paid for - was very spacious and decorated as if someone had been to the old part of Vegas circa 1977 and gone nuts! Lots of faux gold leaf and shiny mirrored surfaces and heavy curtains. The room looked out onto the river and the huge windows opened out to let in the fresh air. It was quite a change from the cell like austerity of many places we had stayed in at this price in the previous two weeks.

Bathroom quite small, and the little cabinets the Europeans like to squeeze into them makes for a deicate operation for a couple of dirty sweaty Rheinhohenweg walkers, but we had become adept at it by this time, nearing the end of our trail.

The Indian food available int he restaurant made for a pleasant change fromt he stodge that is served up in many german restaurants, and at breakfast the owner and his family would make you anything you wanted.

Free wifi but on the top floor it didn't really work - not enough routers. This seems a common problem as you get tot he upper floors of hotels along the Rhine.

Overall a nice change from the bland.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stemar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed here on the off chance, returning from a short holiday iin southern Germany and we regretted not having had more ime. The hotel is relatively newly renovated and the personal reception by he owner, his friendly welcome and warm reception was much appreciated. The rooms facing the river were spacious and well equipped and the breakfast was ample. I organise private group tours from tme to tme and this would be an ideal stop for a discovery tour to the Rhine Valley. A terrible shame hat there is no lift since I cannot expect my elderly compatriotes to climb 3 floors to their rooms... Otherwise geat place and I will be back!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a river facing room- it's worth it!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redsilence1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We had a very warm welcome from the owner when we arrived, which was great after a day of cycling. There was secure parking for our bikes. We opted for a room without the river and castle view, as it was considerably cheaper, and glad we made that choice. We still had a nice view from the back of the hotel. The breakfast was fantastic - the best so far. The location is beautiful - right in the middle of the rhine gorge with castles all around. St Goar is a beautiful little village and well worth the stop over. The only negative was that there was no lift. We were on the 2nd floor with heavy awkward bags, so that made things a little more difficult. The owner did however offer us help with our luggage

Room Tip: The river view rooms would have an amazing view, but if you don't want to spend the extra money, the rooms at the back of the hotel are nice also.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tractor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had the most wonderful experience during our stay you could have. We enjoyed the hotel and the owners so very much that we stayed 2 more nights. From check-in to check-out the experience was great, without stress and easy. Breakfast was served every morning by the owner and offered an excellent breakfast experience. The entire hotel from lobby to rooms were exceptionally clean. One of great things about this hotel is the owner and his wife are there and do everything. They make sure you are enjoying your stay. The owner also speaks many languages and can speak with nearly any guest regardless of where you are from. I encourage you to give this hotel a try, you will enjoy it.

Room Tip: The hotel offers many room types and views and is very quiet throughout
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveD34345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights at a cost of 95 euros per night which was a bit steep for the type of hotel it is but we paid more for the Rhine view.. There is quite a difference in cost for rooms at the front overlooking the Rhine but it is worth the extra as the terrific view made a difference to our experience here. There was always something to look at as barges and pleasure cruisers were up and down all the time. The room was pleasant, spacious and comfortable with traditional furnishings, though the en suite was really cramped. The toiletries provided here were minimal so bring your own. The bed was good and the room was very clean and well serviced. We were on the third floor which was great for the views and absence of noise. Though the hotel fronted the main road and was opposite the KD line terminal, the double glazed windows effectively shut out noise however the 45 steps up would be a problem for anyone with mobility difficulties as there was no lift. There were no tea/coffee facilities and no air con but that is true of most of the hotels we have stayed at in Germany. The breakfast was really only average and ordinary though cooked eggs were provided upon request.

In common with other hotels in St Goar, there is no parking area but there is ample free parking about 300 metres away or you may find a spot on the street about 30- 50 metres away for 4 euros a day. It is a 2 minute to the train station. Around the corner is Goar Bikes where I recommend you hire a bike from - the owner is a really helpful and friendly old chap and the bikes are excellent.

Rheinfels is really a guest house with 30 rooms as there is no lounge for guests, restaurant or other facilities. The owner however is most helpful and friendly and speaks good English. St Goar is a lovely place to stay and there is nothing wrong with the Rheinfels but if we came to the area again we would probably stay in the nearby town of Boppard which has more facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Togtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews