We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable room, riverfront view.”
Review of Hotel Rheinfels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rheinfels
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sankt Goar
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable room, riverfront view.”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We upgraded to river front room – nice view. No elevator, so you have many steps. Room is nice size, bath is small but adequate. Bathroom fan in our room was quite noisy. Breakfast was very extensive and had freshly cut fruit. Parking is on the street, but did not seem to be a problem.

Room Tip: River front rooms are worth the upgrade cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    75
    23
    0
    4
See reviews for
45
110
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austinmer
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Run by an Indian family, the lobby is not promising but the room we were shown to - an upgrade on what we paid for - was very spacious and decorated as if someone had been to the old part of Vegas circa 1977 and gone nuts! Lots of faux gold leaf and shiny mirrored surfaces and heavy curtains. The room looked out onto the river and the huge windows opened out to let in the fresh air. It was quite a change from the cell like austerity of many places we had stayed in at this price in the previous two weeks.

Bathroom quite small, and the little cabinets the Europeans like to squeeze into them makes for a deicate operation for a couple of dirty sweaty Rheinhohenweg walkers, but we had become adept at it by this time, nearing the end of our trail.

The Indian food available int he restaurant made for a pleasant change fromt he stodge that is served up in many german restaurants, and at breakfast the owner and his family would make you anything you wanted.

Free wifi but on the top floor it didn't really work - not enough routers. This seems a common problem as you get tot he upper floors of hotels along the Rhine.

Overall a nice change from the bland.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stemar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed here on the off chance, returning from a short holiday iin southern Germany and we regretted not having had more ime. The hotel is relatively newly renovated and the personal reception by he owner, his friendly welcome and warm reception was much appreciated. The rooms facing the river were spacious and well equipped and the breakfast was ample. I organise private group tours from tme to tme and this would be an ideal stop for a discovery tour to the Rhine Valley. A terrible shame hat there is no lift since I cannot expect my elderly compatriotes to climb 3 floors to their rooms... Otherwise geat place and I will be back!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a river facing room- it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsilence1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We had a very warm welcome from the owner when we arrived, which was great after a day of cycling. There was secure parking for our bikes. We opted for a room without the river and castle view, as it was considerably cheaper, and glad we made that choice. We still had a nice view from the back of the hotel. The breakfast was fantastic - the best so far. The location is beautiful - right in the middle of the rhine gorge with castles all around. St Goar is a beautiful little village and well worth the stop over. The only negative was that there was no lift. We were on the 2nd floor with heavy awkward bags, so that made things a little more difficult. The owner did however offer us help with our luggage

Room Tip: The river view rooms would have an amazing view, but if you don't want to spend the extra money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tractor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had the most wonderful experience during our stay you could have. We enjoyed the hotel and the owners so very much that we stayed 2 more nights. From check-in to check-out the experience was great, without stress and easy. Breakfast was served every morning by the owner and offered an excellent breakfast experience. The entire hotel from lobby to rooms were exceptionally clean. One of great things about this hotel is the owner and his wife are there and do everything. They make sure you are enjoying your stay. The owner also speaks many languages and can speak with nearly any guest regardless of where you are from. I encourage you to give this hotel a try, you will enjoy it.

Room Tip: The hotel offers many room types and views and is very quiet throughout
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveD34345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sankt Goar hotels
0.0 km away
Rheinhotel St. Goar
Rheinhotel St. Goar
#1 of 14 in Sankt Goar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.8 km away
Romantik Hotel Schloss Rheinfels
0.1 km away
Rhine Hotel Zur Loreley
Rhine Hotel Zur Loreley
#4 of 14 in Sankt Goar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel an der Fahre
Hotel an der Fahre
#6 of 14 in Sankt Goar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.9 km away
Weinhotel Landsknecht
Weinhotel Landsknecht
#5 of 14 in Sankt Goar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Loreleyblick
Hotel Loreleyblick
#9 of 14 in Sankt Goar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rheinfels? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rheinfels

Property: Hotel Rheinfels
Address: Heerstr. 69, 56329 Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Sankt Goar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sankt Goar
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,476 - ₹ 9,342
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rheinfels 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rheinfels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rheinfels Hotel Sankt Goar
Hotel Rheinfels Germany/Sankt Goar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing