We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
34
19
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
19
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2015

A very good hotel with a great location at the seacoast. Rooms are spacious and very clean. Beds are quite comfortable. A person on reception was very friendly.
Although I was staying there in November, when the hotel was almost empty, wlan signal was very weak and internet speed was low. Breakfast is average, I prefer to have more milk products at the breakfast.
I would say that it is important that this hotel is located right in the middle between Kühlungsborn-Ost and -West, because it allows you to easily get to both locations.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Hotel Polar-Stern, situated in Kuhlungsborn, the "German Riviera" is a quaint, family owned hotel, which balances old fashioned charm with modern necessities perfectly. The hotel is equipped with modern appliances/services such as a flat screen and Wi-Fi, but the décor remains charming and romantic. The location of the hotel on the Baltic Sea makes views from the balconies picturesque and the sea air is refreshing. I particularly liked the various pieces of artwork hanging in the public areas of the hotel, which depict the hotel, and its location, through various artists interpretation. I dined in the restaurant twice, and was very impressed with the Argentinian steak (a picture of this meal has been added.) As an English (only) speaking guest I was made feel very welcome in this hotel; there were no issues in communicating with the hotel and restaurant staff, so non-german speaking guests need not worry! Overall, I am a very satisfied guest and would definitely recommend this hotel to those planning to travel to the beautiful Kuhlungsborn.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This lovely hotel is situated in "Kühlungsborn"a nice little town, and is managed by an american and his german wife, together with their two daughters. In the early 90's they moved to the northcoast of Germany and started up this hotel. The restaurant offers the best steaks in town, imported out of the USA and Argentina. Behind the hotel is a very nice lounce which offers around 100 single-malt wiskeys from all over the world. (Hobby of the boss). The rooms are furnisched quite comfortable; also the service is very good. You'll feel almost at home.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent a wonderful long weekend on the German Baltic and stayed at Polar Stern Hotel. Our mini-holiday couldn't have been more pleasant. This charming hotel is run by the Kurbjuhn family, and there is a special family feeling about it. The food was good, the service excellent, the rooms clean and comfortable and the location is perfect, as it is right across from the beautiful sandy Baltic beach. The personal art collection, which is a direct result of the hotel's coopration with international artists, was an additional attraction and made the entire experience very special.

Room tip: Remember when booking, that the hotel does not have an elevator.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I spent 2 days at the Polarstern, and enjoyed it very much. I felt very welcome from the minute I entered the hotel. The reception staff were very helpful, and the General manager even came out to welcome me. I enjoyed the restaurant and the good atmosphere, and their nice breakfast selection.

The Garden lounge has a warm ambience, and is definagtely worth a visit, where Christian, the bar manager will mix any drink to your liking.

The hotel has free wifi everywhere, and a nice club lounge where you can work, if you prefer that to your room.
Don't miss a nice stay at the Polarstern !!

Room tip: The staff will always select the best room avasilable for you.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelart2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews