We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
31
20
10
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
20
10
7
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2016

My School friend and I visit this Island for more than 25 years, always two weeks before easter for 10 days, when all the restaurants are already open but the island is not yet crowded.
Since 3 years I stay in the renovated Inselhotel Koenig, with a modern and contemporary flair, nice size rooms, friendly staff which is always willing to go the extra mile.
The breakfast is excellent. Dinner was included but we went most of the time to the other nice restaurants on the island, however the hotel diner is good. We booked already for next year

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALFAFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuechter, Manager at Inselhotel Koenig, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2016

Dear Guest. Thanks a lot for your excellent assessment. We are glad to see, that you felt comfortable in our hotel. We are already looking forward to see you again on the island of Norderney. The Team of Inselhotel König

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015

For years we have dreaded the idea of visiting one of Germany's Frisian islands for a summer vacation because of the uncertain weather. This year, we took the splunge, and were well rewarded by a beautiful sunny stay on the island of Norderney. It is one of the larger islands, with excellent tourism infrastructure, easily reachable by hourly ferry service (independent of the tides), and breathtakingly beautiful beaches and nature. The water temperature reached 21 degrees, with a nice surf, which was very pleasant.

We stayed at the Inselhotel Koenig in the core of town, surrounded by many restaurants, shopping, and the spa center (Badehaus). The lobby area was very small but airy, and a glass-walled elevator accessible only to hotel guests made the guest room floors easy to reach. Our room was on the top floor, overlooking a protestant church and shopping street, and very quiet; we could always sleep with open windows. The room was well appointed, with hardwood floors, firm beds, a chair and ottoman, desk, tv, closet and safe. Everything was spotlessly clean, and housekeeping surprised us on several days with artfully folded bedding (once it was two swans). The bathroom was also very nice and functional.

Breakfast was outstanding, with ample selection for every taste and a nice Northern German touch. It can be had either inside the nicely renovated restaurant or on the terrace outside.

We picked the hotel based on reviews on booking.com (there are few recent reviews on Tripadvisor) that showed that it was renovated and for its location in the heart of everything. We would recommend renting bicycles for the duration of the stay, as biking is the best mode to explore the island and reach the dune-lined beaches. And do not forget to rent the typical German canopied wicker beach chairs to round your island vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the side of the hotel, as front rooms may be a bit noisy because of outdoor bars and restaurants.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

a great hotel,very friendly people working there.
food very good & a lovely atmosphere.
not many better places to go to than nordeney,& if you go there insrehotel könig is the best adress.close to the shops,in the middle of town & close to the town hall with its beautful lawns which the children love to play on.
i have stayed ther many times & have always been very happy & satisfied there.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014

We stayed in April 2014 based on 7 days package which included breakfast and dinner in a superior room which was the highest category apart from the suites offers. The hotel itself is quite difficult to find from the ferry as it is in the center of Norderney where cars are now allowed. The reception on check-in was not the most friendly and we were disappointed by our room while announced as spacious was not so spacious after all roughly around 20 - 23 sqm with a quite small bathroom. The worst was actually that the room did not have a air-conditioning and the sun was in full effect on the room during a large part of the day which made it quite difficult to stay comfortably in the room during the day.

the breakfast in the morning in the main restaurant was ok although overall selection could have been better, but this may be a matter of perception. With regard to the dinner we were happy with the selection - although we upgraded everynight from the menu included in the MAP to an a la carte selection, which proved to be the right choice.

The hotel prides itself through their central location in Norderney - but it is really central - and central normally does not mean quiet actually the noice started around 8 am in the morning when certain shops started their preparation for the day. So in the end location of the room in the hotel matters.

All in all the disadvantages for us cumulated so much that we decided to cut our stay short and left three days before the check out. I have to see say that in the end the hotel was quite accommodating and did not charge us the full cancellation fee.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank ThWilmesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews