We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Hotel for this village”
Review of Hotel Helmer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Helmer
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Stayed her for 2 nights August 11th-13th 2014. This hotel has a large car park, beyond the car park and hotel itself is a pretty garden area with deck chairs facing the sun on a slopped area. The exterior of the hotel has pretty a facade, with wooden balconies filled with flowers. The hotels restaurant wraps around the first floor and is a calming place to sit and drink. All the staff here spoke perfect English and were delightful and helpful at all times. The room we had was spacious with a balcony of now particular view (apart from car park). The room appeared clean enough, but was not spotless, dust mainly on high surfaces. The room was dated with a wooden ceiling and built in old plain wooden furniture. It was sufficiently spacious, with a large bed (that later turned out to be rather uncomfortable and lumpy). There was an old orange carpet & curtains, table, chairs, dressing table, TV (German channels only), a good amount of room for storage and an orange sofa that had certainly seen better days. Although this room was old and dated it did have a certain charm. The best thing about the room was that the toilet and bathroom were separate. Two rooms opposite each other, a small toilet room with its own sink, opposite again a small showroom with sink, decorated with 1970's brown tiling. The rooms could definitely do with a spruce up. Don't expect any towels of quality (they were well worn and thin) and don't expect any shower products of quality either a very small soap with no fragrance and the smallest bottle of combination shower/wash gel enough for one person. All the hotels welcome information is written in German. As stated we stayed in August (2 adults) and it was scorching hot, the rooms have no air conditioning or fans, opening the window lets no draft in but does fill your room with many flies.

We ate in the restaurant, the portions were small and not fine dining, both our meals were exceptionally salty so if you eat make sure you have some water with you, although with no fridge or tea or coffee facilities be prepared for your drinks being warm. Although the room was dated and the food average, the hotel is on a very quiet street. The little village is small and quaint and the end of the street has an amazing view od the castles. You can walk around the village feeling really safe, even the shops do not take any of there displays in at nighttime. One large shop had ornaments of all types and wooden carvings on a wrap around table around the shop, it was filled, this was 10am at night, so clearly crime and petty theft is not an issue in this village and we felt safe at all times. Whether you choose this hotel or not and to be honest all seem pretty similar, and you probably wouldn't get much better no mater where you stay. I would definitely recommend you stay in this village. (PS Breakfast typical German buffet style and pretty average, bread, cheeses, ham, fruit, nothing out of the ordinary or special).

Room Tip: Ask if they can provide a fan if its hot, before you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank teachersupply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here in February. The hotel at this time of year is quiet but still with all facilities open. Bikes are available for hire, a restaurant is available and the bar stays open until people go to bed...

Service was friendly, the staff speak some English but any attempt at German is greeted with patience and appreciation. The hotel itself was immaculately presented (I've stayed at many five star hotels that look less freshly-decorated).

The family room we booked was massive (216 if you want a large room) and full toiletries were provided. We didn't get the chance to eat an evening meal in the hotel but there's a nice (large) brauhaus within a 5 minute walk of the hotel that does good food and locally-brewed beers. There's also a well-stocked supermarket within a 2 minute walk of the hotel. Amusingly there's a small dairy farm on the high street but it doesn't smell too bad at all.

The hotel has a few other hotels nearby handy for a drink/meal for a bit of variety and is within a 2 minute drive of Neuschwanstein Castle or a pleasant 20 minute walk.

Very happy, we'll be back here.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank gongladosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

Vacation driving (late) from Munich to Italy, this was an idyllic spot to rest and enjoy absolutely perfect German hospitality, while preparing for our long-planned visits to the nearby Neuschwantein & Hohenschwangau schlosses/castles! We were not disappointed. From the charming exterior adorned with many flowers, to their big comfortable guest rooms and uber attractive dining facilities, this was truly the place during our two week vacation, at which we wished we could have stayed longer!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank LoneStarBeachLazorTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

We stayed here one night in early October, should have stayed longer, very nice, clean hotel. We could see the castle from our rooms balcony. The staff was great and so was the food, very good and lots of it. A little hard to find as the street its on did not show up on our GPS. We asked some of the very nice folks in Schwangau and they directed us right to it...I would stay again next time I go to see the castle!

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015

I used this hotel on a night stop on my way to Austria and Italy, so I am not too sure of all the facilities that the hotel offers to the guest as I understand it is an hotel that cater mostly for tours, families and for long stay as the area is great. I know for a fact that the hotel offer free bikes....lol.
All in all a great establishment, typical of the area, very good service, nice bedroom and great breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwangau
1.2 km away
Hotel Das Ruebezahl
Hotel Das Ruebezahl
#1 of 16 in Schwangau
638 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Helmerhof
Hotel Helmerhof
#2 of 16 in Schwangau
239 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Weinbauer
Hotel Weinbauer
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Das Koenig Ludwig Wellness & SPA Resort Allgaeu
1.9 km away
Landhotel Huberhof
Landhotel Huberhof
#13 of 16 in Schwangau
98 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmer? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmer

Address: Mitteldorf 10, 87645 Schwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Schwangau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Schwangau
Price Range: ₹ 8,619 - ₹ 10,837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helmer 3*
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing