We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best pizza in Tübingen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zum Alten Fritz

Zum Alten Fritz
Ranked #32 of 172 Restaurants in Tubingen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Tübingen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

The pizza here is excellent, and the pasta dishes are also delicious. I love eating both inside (which has the design of a wine cave) or on the upstairs patio (open only in summer). Highly recommend the Pizza Rucola.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Corazon20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    5
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Change of Pace in Tubingen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is a very nice Italian Ristorante & Pizzaria conveniently located on Gardenstrasse along the Neckar river. I can highly recommend the restaurant for not only pizza, but for their pasta and salads. We had a special pizza for the night (with mozzarella di bufala) as well as gnocchi with a Gorgonzola sauce. They also have a nice selection of wines, mainly from Southern Italy, that are well priced and very complementary to the food. The service was also excellent and our waiter/host was extremely accommodating. Lastly, the atmosphere is great and this would be a great setting for a more intimate, romantic evening. Highly Recommended!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“best pizza in Tübingen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have been to Alten Fritz five or six times since September and it is definitely the best pizza in Tübingen. The cave-like restaurant is great and the outdoor terrace in the warm weather is wonderful as well. We have always only ordered the pizza because we love it so much (the Arugula and Rustica pizzas are our favorites), but we have heard the pasta is excellent as well. The staff is friendly. It is nice family restaurant, but it is also a place where neighborhood people hang out, and business people come for an early dinner on week nights. One night we were there and there was a wedding party with people dressed to the nines at one table and some families with young kids at other tables.
I highly recommend it!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Maaaaaaaaaaaariooo, Pizzaaa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Cave setting is nice, Antonio is friendly, but... it is all about the pizzaolo. Fresh great tasting real Italian PIZZA! The best!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank IenjoyLocalfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zum Alten Fritz also viewed

Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
Tubingen, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Zum Alten Fritz? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing