We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
79
42
11
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
42
11
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor no air conditioning one night interior design service was top notch absolutely stay here again centre of town on arrival walking distance hotel restaurant small hotel sauna germany tubingen roses alessandro euros
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

I was in a tour group of about 30 people the majority being American. We were on a castle tour of Germany and stopped here for a night before going onto the Hohenzollern Castle. We pull up to this quiet town and quaint hotel in this big blue tour bus. I'm pretty sure our tour group took over the whole hotel for the night. The staff had been expecting us and check in went really smoothly. We were personally escorted to our rooms by the staff, shown how to access the lights, given the wifi password, etc.

The rooms are STUNNING! No one in my tour group was expecting these lavish rooms... in fact we were so surprised at how classy and well decorated the rooms were that we were running back and forth checking each other's rooms out as each one was slightly different. The staff looked on quietly and became concerned that these accommodations were not up to our standards when in fact quite the opposite was true! Our minds were blown to find such a treasure of a hotel. From the classical music that played on the TV as you entered the room, to the fresh apples on the bedside table, to the heated floor in our bathroom we were beyond impressed with the place. The beds were comfortable and the linens fresh and clean. As the hotel doesn't have A/C we found the room to be a little hot, but sleeping with the window open was a good way to solve this problem.

The decor throughout the hotel was stunning from the fresh single roses hanging on vases on the wall, to the FOUNTAINS in the lobby.

We got complimentary breakfast the next day and the food was delicious with a good variety of food and pastries. The table settings were SO classy, like something out of a magazine.

While I personally didn't use the spa and pool facilities, some people in our tour group did and said they were absolutely top notch and very relaxing.

This hotel is an absolute treasure and I will always cherish my stay there. I only wish I could have stayed there longer than one night...

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glendyne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

This hotel could be good but ….

The hotel has no air-conditioning (not uncommon in Tubingen), but it also does not have shading or adequate ventilation. We were placed in a room on the top floor with windows in the roof and no external sun-shading to speak of – it was like trying to sleep in a greenhouse. For our second night, after complaining, we were moved to another (smaller) room on the same floor, better shading but when the weather broke in the late evening the windows were automatically locked shut so even though it was cooler outside we were still in an oven.

Part of the issue is the design of the stair well and lift shaft which is made of glass (unshaded). This heats up and, of course, the hot air rises from below. There are windows at the top but these are kept shut most of the time so the corridors on the top floor are quite unbearable. We did ask for the windows to be open after the heat was gone from the day but the staff refused as there might be a storm. It was two hours before the storm arrived and even after the storm had gone they remained firmly shut and were still shut when we left the following morning.

Other issues – inadequate staffing meant that restaurant service was very slow (took half an hour just to get some water and a menu and we gave up waiting for the dessert menu); “hot” items at breakfast were stone cold; the owner is clearly rarely present, I also got the strong impression that he does not empower the staff to fix any issues, so they are powerless in his absence. Location is a bit so, so; it is in walking distance of Tubingen, but not if it’s hot and you also want to walk around the town, up to the castle etc. The advertised fruit in the room consisted of one overripe nectarine and an apple that was rotten at the core. The shower was more like standing under a tap than a shower.

The only reasons I’ve given this 2 stars and not 1 is:
- The staff were friendly and polite and much of the time I felt sorry for them as it seemed that they were not “allowed” to meet requests
- We did receive a discount by way of compensation for our experience

Would I stay here again – No! (The only hotel on a two week touring holiday in Southern Germany that I would actively avoid in future).

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AwayAtWeekends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaCasa2008, Geschäftsführer at Hotel La Casa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for letting us know your criticisms. In response to your feedback we would like to point out the following.
AC/Shading: In Tübingen there is not a single hotel which offers air conditioning because of our latitude. In the predominantly moderate climate of Central Europe the use of air conditioning is environmentally harmful and unnecessary. You were immediately offered a different room as a free upgrade into a Junior-suite in the first three floors. All these rooms offer vertical windows that can be opened as well as balcony doors. However, you wanted to stay on the 5th floor with room equipped with roof windows, which cannot be opened in the event of thunderstorms and rain. In you room there were also additional balconies to the roof terrace which you did not want to open. Opening a door from the room directly and a door with further windows from the open bathroom to the terrace would have made a pleasant cross ventilation possible. As the roof windows are equipped with external blinds and additional sun protection glazing, a heating of the room would also have been avoided if the roof windows had been shaded during the day. In this respect, your guest behavior is not compressible and the complaint concerning the “unbearable heat” in the room is not justified. In addition, this was explained to you several times by our housekeeping and also adjusted that way to keep the room cooler, but not maintained by you. You stated to the staff and management that you are an engineer and are familiar with it. Our stairwell is equipped with high-quality sun protection glass, which prevents an enormous heating, as mentioned. In addition, in the case of thunderstorms and storms, an opening of the windows is not useful.
Presence of the management/owners: We as owners, and our daughter being the management, were always present at the hotel and always well informed by our employees. We have often tired to meet your complaints and always offered alternatives. However, you have never accepted our varied proposals with you in multiple conversations. We are a family owned business with high personal presence and direct contact with out employees, whose statements and information we greatly appreciate.
The teabags brought along by you, because in your opinion we do not offer high-quality tea, surprised our staff very much. We offer loose teas from TWG Tea from Singapore, which is a very prestigious and high-quality brand. The fact that you prefer a tea bag to this rich offer not only amazed us, but also our employees. Our staff is always friendly, hospitable and rarely confronted with such topics, but lets leave it at that.
On your departure our very generous discount should have finally showed you the respect we have for our guests and their experiences in our hotel.
We wish you better stays for your future trips.
Claudia Leuze und Peter Hihn (Owners)
Stefani Leuze (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

On arrival, the exterior of the hotel is deceiving. Inside does not disappoint. Interior design is in a Spanish style with many tasteful touches. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Family owned and this shows in the way it is run - staff are all superb. Breakfast was very good with excellent variety. 10 minute walk into town centre. On site car park (18 euros per day), good wifi. Highly recommended

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 2pards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Spent a week here while on business and really enjoyed the space, staff and comfort. The rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable. The underground parkig was convenient. Stay on the courtyard side to avoid street noise. There is no AC so I requested a fan and had no issues. The breakfast and restaurant is worth the price as well. While the location is about 1/2 mile away from the city center and the hotels I have stayed at: I'll definitely stay here again on my next trip.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

We stayed here two nights and loved it. From the outside it doesn't look like much, but inside it's beautiful - mighty fancy. Service was top notch. The ladies at the desk were amazing. They helped us with directions, suggestions on what to see and do, and they were able to answer all our questions about the area. We liked the cookies and tea available in the lobby as well.

A really good Greek restaurant is right around the corner and lots of other restaurants are in downtown Tubingen (which is a pretty 10-15 minute walk along the river). Make sure you check out the town! We didn't eat at their restaurant, but next time we will. We sadly didn't have time to use the SPA either.

The rooms are five star: very clean, big, and very nicely decorated. Nightly turndown service with chocolates. Free wifi. Free water each day, and even the minibar items were free (but we didn't try anything out of there). The bathroom was great - roomy, with a very nice shower and nice amenities. Beds were large, the mattress was wonderfully supportive but still super comfy. The weather was nice when we were there, so we didn't need heat or AC. They don't have AC - which may be an issue for some people.

They also had underground parking (costs extra), which was good, since we didn't see any in the neighborhood. The location for exploring the area by car was perfect - easy in and out of the town. Overall, It was a little bit of a splurge for us, but since there were not a lot of good choices in town that met our needs, it was well worth the extra.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews