We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice beergarden

You can either walk or bycicle here along the Danube. There are nor cars or ships going here. Enjoy... read more

Reviewed 13 August 2017
jen112017
,
Munich, Germany
Relaxing

Great walk beside river with refreshing beer as a reward. Very friendly staff. Good food selection... read more

Reviewed 5 September 2016
Fearless571244
via mobile
Read all 20 reviews
  
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
9
8
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
8
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2016

As locals we often went to Weltenburg and "hired" some raftsman to transport us to the other side of the danube river, where we start walking towards Kelheim (where boats are going to and from Weltenburg). In between there is this nice spot which good and not expensive food or drinks (bavarian style).
When one cames across (bycicle or walking tour) I'd definitely recommend a stop.

Thank DrCraq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Hermit Antonius von Siegenburg built in 1450 a small chapel around a rock (Monolithic church or rock-hewn church) in honor of St. Nicholas. With the support of Dukes Albert III and Louis IX (also known as Louis the Rich), as well as some bequests, he built a larger church, ramaprted the monastery and thus arose "Bruderloch" in Traunthal. In 1457, the Hermitage was restituted to its rightfull owners, the Franciscan order, who had established a larger monastery in Kelheim and only used the Hermitage as a summer retreat. The “Höhlenkirche” was built in 1603 as well as the small chapel renovated. Due to the secularisation of Bavaria the “Klösterl” was abrogated in 1803 and became state property. The roof of the Church is the far-overhanging part of the rock. The walls of the ancient Monolithic church are decorated with three frescoes, however, the inner part of the exterior wall has been very damaged by weather influences.

Thank vakantiejozef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews