We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
14
39
12
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
39
12
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2015

This is a great place to stay, free parking, free WIFI, staff friendly and helpful, The location is a couple of minutes drive to Goslar which is full of bars, shops,and restaurants.
The rooms are clean and spacious and the whole layout of the grounds give it a theme park feel, the restaurant does a nice menu,and the food is excellent .
Breakfast is self service with a good variety of choice.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015

I am a hotelier - I have spent my career working in luxury hotels in the UK and charging guests extortionate rates for the priiviledge of staying there. Needless to say, service was impeccable, guests wanted for nothing and everything from the beds in the bedroom to the cutlery in the restaurants were spared no expense. Everything in the hotels were meticulously arranged to please the eye and attention to detail was paramount. If you are the type of guest that would want to stay in a hotel like I have worked at, DO NOT stay at this hotel - you will not enjoy it. However, if you, like me, can appreciate both the finer and more simpler things in life, and judge each individual experience on its own merit, then you will not fine a better place guaranteed to give value for money. My husband and I stayed here for one night in January and paid €49 for bed and breakfast (the cheapest rate in Goslar!) We also took our dog, Frank. We were given a warm welcome and helpful information by the receptionist. The room was basic but clean and practical. There was enough room to set up a doggy area for Frank and the room was warm, which was important because it was super cold and snowing! Breakfast was typical German style - bread rolls, cold meats and cheese, etc - and we were well attended to by the friendly staff, despite the fact it's 'help yourself'! We asked for a late check-out as we wanted to visit the Rammelsburg Mines, and got it at no extra cost. The exterior is kitsch but querky and it made us smile. We went walking in the mountains with Frank, but for toilet purposes we felt there was plenty of space for him to do his business. We walked into town very easily and it took us 10 minutes. This is the one of the only free places to park in Goslar - all the central hotels/b&bs are chargeable for parking. All in all, we were more than happy with the services and products provided by Harzlodge Hotel for the price we paid. If you want luxury, you have to pay for it!! This is not a luxurious hotel, but if you want a place to rest your head, wash your body and have breakfast before getting back out in the amazing Harz National Park, for a very cheap price, then I cannout recommend this place highly enough. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, you can ask for a ground floor room, which just makes life that much easier, frankly!
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Stayed here as part of a coach tour last month. Pulling up outside, I think nobody knew what to expect, as it looked like a village in the woods rather than a hotel. Looks can deceive! Rooms were clean, and looked recently decorated with lovely powerful showers. No hospitality tray, but this is nothing unusual in parts of Europe, and staff were happy to let you make a coffee in the Restaurant and take it back to your room. Breakfast was continual with a good selection of bread, cheese and meat, etc. Dinner portions were massive, and food was always hot. Location is around a 10 minute walk from the beautiful town of Goslar, which can be reached by a walk along a footpath located just past the Restaurant, which is pleasant. However, slightly muddy if it has rained. Staff are very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayGirl66uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Myself, my hubby and dog have just stayed here for 4 nights Sunday - Thursday (FEB) The rooms are clean'ish - I say ish! as on the surface they look clean but the walls in the bathroom could have done with a clean down and in the corners of the bathroom dirt/mould needed a wipe down. The room was a good size with a TV and the shower was good/powerful.
Its cheap to stay at, so I guess you get what you pay for. We did find it alittle noisy in the morning with people leaving early for brekkie not good if you wish to have a lay in after 7am. I think there needs to be a speed limit round the area as some cars were going quite fast, we didn't have young children with us but think people need to go alittle steady.
The brekkie was nice - fresh bread rolls each day, meats, cheese, cereals, and boiled eggs, Juice (but it could have been done with being chilled) or maybe it was and we just got there to late! about 9am we made it each morning. There was a bowl of apples however they had seen better days, and were still there after our visit!
Dogs are allowed on site and in the breakfast room, but we didn't take ours in only by choice - he is a big dog! One dog on the last day (the only one we had seen there) was in the breakfast room and roaming free in between the tables, and then it did alittle wee on the floor!!! not nice when you are having your breakfast :( and I am a DOG LOVER.....
Not sure if the woods behind the rooms belong to the hotel, but with the hotel allowing dogs you would think they would make sure it was clean and safe enough to be used to walk your dogs. However it seems to be used as a dumping ground for old bike frames, bottles (glass) and broken radios! not nice.
We didn't have a evening meal there so can not comment on this.
But it does what it says, cheap, comfortable, and rooms on the outside abit different ( like a western style village) abit of TLC needed round the area but it is Feb, maybe in the summer it will be tidied up alittle.

Room Tip: If you would like a quiet room choose one away from the main building.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickiwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel - this time it was chosen by friends, for a visit as a group. The is a group of buildings superficially made to look like a village street, with the reception & restaurant 50m from the 'houses' where the rooms are located, a bit like a motel. It is situated just off the Claustal-Zellerfeld road, so traffic noise isn't a problem; it's surrounded by trees & about 20 mins walk into the old town (where hotels rarely have parking). The outside of the buildings & the public areas are 'rustic' style (mostly mock) but the bedrooms are standard, a decent size, plainly but nicely furnished (with large paintings of rural mountain scenes in primitive frames). Bathrooms are very clean with good fittings but one morning there was no hot water.
Our group had a buffet evening meal twice, good homemade soup, chicken, pork. Also a salad bar. The chef came out & asked if we were happy (we were).
Breakfast was buffet style, very extensive (because there were quite a lot of guests), with ham & meats, various cheeses, boiled eggs, cereal & fruit puree, yogurt etc.
Wifi only in the small reception area & for me it was very flakey.

They seem to specialise in parties - the remote location means that neighbours are not disturbed! So weekends can be noisy, but the rooms are a little way from the public area.

It's main recommendation is that it's relatively cheap, has parking & is walking distance to town (which is gorgeous).

Room Tip: As far from Reception & Restaurant if you want peace & quiet. Also quieter facing away from the 'street'
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornish_traveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews