We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 Star Hotel in a 4 Star building and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chigwell
Romford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“2 Star Hotel in a 4 Star building and location”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed for one night on the 24th May 2012.

The Good points;

The hotel is in an excellent location, large car park and the bar/restaurant was very nice.

The Bad points,

To get to the room was like a mission from the krypton factor, we had to walk along a very long corridor, take a lift, then another long corridor than another lift to the 3rd floor.

Along the very long walk one had time to take in all the delights of the threadbare carpet and little holes in the wall and to see the years of TLC that has sadly been lacking there.

The room, although clean, was extremely small and far more basic then a Travel Lodge or Western Inn. The furniture looked very old and dated.

The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep, until 8:51am when one of the staff starting banging on the door. I opened the door and asked what was the matter, to be told ‘Oh I’ll come back later to clean the room’. 8:51am is a wee bit early to be banging on the door.

Now being half awake we both decided to get up and have a cup of tea and shower. I had a very lovely shower, then about 20mins later my partner had a shower to which there was no hot water, so she just had a cold one.

Upon checkout I informed the receptionist that the hot water had stopped. She apologised and said ‘oh that must be George doing something’.

My partner and I decided to take advantage of the health faculties, as the hotel stated on their website (and still does!) that for a fee of £10 guests of the hotel can use all the faculties at Repton Park Health Club.

The receptionist said they could not issue us with a pass, as Repton Park had changed ownership and the hotel had no deal or permission. This did upset me as this was and still is advertised on their website. http://www.menzieshotels.co.uk/hotels/london-hotels/london-hotel-facilities

The Hotel is basically a 2 Star hotel in a 4 Star building and location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friell, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Member,

Thank you for your recent review. I was disappointed to read of the issues you had when you stayed at the Menzies Prince Regent Hotel.

Firstly whilst I cannot change the location of the furthest bedrooms within the hotel I, was pleased to read that you had a good night’s sleep and you found the room comfortable albeit my housekeeping staff woke you at 8.51 am asking to clean your bedroom.

I am aware from our maintenance log that our in-house maintenance staff were working on a nearby shower unit which resulted in the hot water being unavailable temporarily and in all cases we would have informed any guest still in house that would have been affected by the shortage and I would like to apologise if this was not brought to your attention.

Sadly Repton Park has recently changed hands and we are awaiting confirmation from the General Manager of Virgin Active on the membership agreement that the hotel had previously.

Yours sincerely,

Stuart Friell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    143
    104
    89
    80
See reviews for
139
193
27
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We chose the Prince Regent due to the fact we were attending a wedding in the area and also to be part of the Jubilee Celebrations !
We read previous reviews which are mixed but did not put us off . The hotel itself is certainly unique with the bedrooms being in an old chapel in pleasant grounds.
I have to say the staff are very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble, breakfast was also a real winner in our eyes.
We had a small problem with our window being stuck but was dealt with in no time which was very efficient , great personal service in general from all the hotels team.
All in all great stay . We will be back .!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friell, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Member,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Menzies Prince Regent in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Stuart Friell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We loved our stay ,staff top notch and helpful. We were even given bus numbers and times ( when london underground decided to shut for weekend ) to get us to upton park in time for early kickoff . Dinner and breakfast most enjoyable - real hotel for real people .

Room Tip: the old chapel ,even though it's a long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friell, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Member,

Thank you for your recent review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Menzies Prince Regent Hotel and I was particularly pleased to read that my staff were helpful with your travel arrangements.

Yours sincerely,

Stuart Friell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

had a great time at this hotel. the staff couldn't be nicer. So accomodating and friendly.
A very relaxing room with plenty of space and freshness.
had dinner and breakfast...absolutely deliscious! the staff were very friendly and attentive at all times the choice of food was very good and the efficiency was outstanding.
I couldn't ask for more from a hotel
well done to all the staff.

tina

Room Tip: ask for the 4 post bed bedrooms as the bathrooms are better. but overall any room is great anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friell, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Member,

Thank you very much for your recent review, I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and I will certainly pass on your kind comments to the team at the Menzies Prince Regent.

Kind regards,

Stuart Friell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

What a lovely Hotel and I know it is due a revamp...but go with it.
Russell - reception manager went beyond the call of duty when we had a problem with another events company booking in our daughter for the UK School Games.
Nikki helped also and generally the staff were a great big asset for this hotel.
We really didn't have any problems and if we were in the region again we would book again.
Thanks,
Tom and Paula mc Ilwaine.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McIlwaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friell, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Member,

Thank you very much for your recent review, I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and I will certainly pass on your kind comments to the team at the Menzies Prince Regent.

Kind regards,

Stuart Friell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chigwell
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
3.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest
8.6 km away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Packfords Hotel
Packfords Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woodford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.3 km away
St. Georgio Hotel
St. Georgio Hotel
#3 of 15 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
4.2 km away
Premier Inn London Chingford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent

Property: Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
Address: Manor Road | Woodford Bridge, Chigwell IG8 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chigwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chigwell
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,394 - ₹ 13,611
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent is an ideal venue for anyone wishing to stay close to London, with easy access to the city via London underground, as well as to main road routes out of the city. Located within the picturesque area of Chigwell on East London-Essex borders, the Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent offers 61 comfortable rooms set within a converted Georgian house and a chapel. Outdoor areas contain summer terrace and plenty of onsite parking for our guests. One of the main attractions for the hotel is their meetings and events space. Be it a corporate meeting for up to 350 delegates, or your wedding day - The Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent has facilities and the team to make your event a truly memorable one. Please contact the hotel directly to find out more, they will be delighted to hear from you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Prince Regent Hotel Chigwell
Regent Menzies Prince
Regent Hotel London
Regent London
London Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing