We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”
Review of Kathton House

Kathton House
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Sturry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is fine dining at a reasonable price. The dinner menu was excellent with a choice of 2 or 3 courses. The food was first class with more than adequate portions. What makes this a really enjoyable occasion is the high level of friendly service with attention to detail including not leaving the wine standing on your table but stored away from the table and brought to you to re-fill your glasses.

My tip is to book well in advance to ensure you get a table in this small, delightful restaurant where you are made to feel important in a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamSample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    49
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“1 word: wonderful”
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

We visited Canterbury with a group of 7. It's very difficult to find a fixed menu that everyone likes. I loved the 2/3- course dinner at Kathton House. It offers everyone the opportunity to choose and it's a fixed price.
The staff was very friendly and never appeared over-friendly as sometimes happens. They were all adding to the atmosphere. I can't remember the last time I've been welcomed like this. The building was beautiful and well decorated. All in all we felt really good sitting here.

As I said we were 7 and ordered many different dishes. They all came at the same time and every plate was greeted with moans of pleasure. It all tasted great.
The wine list included a very nice red housewine that was reasonably priced!
If you're looking for a place to eat and don't know where to go, try Kathton House. If I'm ever back in Canterbury it'll be the first place I visit.

Helpful?
3 Thank Anno1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Olympic Gold in Sturry”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We were down in Canterbury last weekend for my wife’s 60th birthday and I wanted to find a special restaurant for the occasion. WOW Kathton House is definitely a good find and a special restaurant indeed; it is small, friendly and delivers the most delicious food. Everything was superbly cooked and presented perfectly right from the small appetisers continuing all the way through to the main meal. If the chef and his team were playing in the Olympics then Gold medals would be in abundance, definitely one to visit if you’re in the area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonyuk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Small & welcoming with beautiful food”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Visited for lunch based on recommendations and we were not disappointed. Beautifully prepared and presented local food. The set lunch (£21 for 3 courses) gave enough choice for all of us yet was small enough to know it would be cooked to perfection. Sorely tempted to return for dinner-the cheese board looked awesome!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFarnhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent worth a visit”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Our second visit to this restuarant and we were not dissapointed, went with family for a 60th and the food and wine were top class , service was also very good family run and all seem to care that you have an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kathton House also viewed

 

Been to Kathton House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing