We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position, good food, what's not to like?”
Review of Val Chaviere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Val Chaviere Hotel
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed here the week after Easter so at the end of the season. The room was fairly spacious, plenty of wardrobe space and hangers which is always useful. The bathroom was a good size with plenty of room to spread out toiletries etc - the rooms don't have a hairdryer but one was available from reception. Our room was really cold with no heating on our first day, but this was mentioned to the lady on reception, we went to pick up skis and wander round town, and on our return the room was lovely and warm. The staff were always helpful.
It's a perfectly positioned hotel for skiing, you open the door from the ski room to outside, and you are straight onto the slope. The food during the week was fine, 5 courses starting with soup, starter, main course, cheese board and always a delicious dessert. The food was generally well prepared and full of flavour. There was plenty of choice at breakfast - the croissants were always fresh each morning, unlike some hotels I've stayed at - guests could fry or boil eggs for their breakfast.
Overall I would be more than happy to stay here again, the position of the hotel next to the slope being a big plus as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C_Sutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed in the apartments section above the hotel, which tripadvisor does not seem to have a section for but it is run as a separate entity. We are a family of 5 but stayed in the 6-8 person apartment knowing the size of typical French apartments and we are glad we did - 8 people sharing one toilet would have been a nightmare!
Great features are the fireplace with free wood provided, a lovely balcony with view over the nursery slopes and surrounds, ski in/out (although in April you have to walk about 100 metres due to the melt), 2 bathrooms with a jacuzzi bath, 3 bedrooms, plus they have a zero tolerance for noise so we slept very peacefully!
On the downside the apartment was a little on the tired side, pillows were very of plus a distict lack of English tv - but maybe thats expecting too much - the upside of that was that it did force us to be more sociable!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randsbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our first ski trip to Europe. The Val Chaviere is not a high-end luxury hotel but it's older but clean, cheerful and was quite comfortable for our week long visit. The staff was wonderful to us even with ours being a large group, they provided lots of helpful advise to benefit our visit. My wife and I had a great time. We would certainly stay here again.

You enter the hotel portion (there are apartments as well) from the street at the 5th floor with all the hotel rooms below. Hotel rooms are small but bright and cheery with big windows and a small deck. All appear to have small ensuite bathrooms. Ours was clean and had a rather tight narrow toilet room but with the sink, bidet, and tub/shower in an separate room next door. The tub had a hand held shower and lacked a curtain or screens so ended up a bit messy. Our double bed was quite comfortable. The pillows were too large for us to use so glad we brought our own. WiFi was only in the public areas up on the 5th floor near reception with adequate Skype-level service quality (when it was running). The snug 4 person elevator was balky but the stairs made for good exercise when luggage wasn't involved.

The location was wonderful, a couple of nearby grocery stores, with the noisy bars and clubs close enough but still far enough away. We really appreciated the ski-in/ski-out location. The ski storage room had adequate security with outside key pad access, video monitoring and was locked at night. the ski locks are wall brackets assigned to each room which won't take extra fat skis - and you might consider using your own lock as those provided are tiny luggage style combo's. Didn't see any accommodation for snow boards, those that used them just looped the cable tethered locks thru them. We really appreciated the automated outside door when carrying gear.

Contrary to other reviewers, we thought our food was wonderful all week. The dining room is large and cheery (and our large group was screened from the rest of the guests so I hope that improved their dining experience). Breakfasts were simple buffet affairs but lots to choose from with a couple cereals, yogurts, and fruit, sliced cheese and ham. There was plenty of bread with an assortment of jam and honeys and tasty baked goods. They had a small grill to cook your own eggs as well as a large cooker to boil them yourself. Truly great coffee! Loved the hot milk dispenser. Dinners were sit down fixed 5 course affairs. Across the week, we found the dinner selection quite creative and diverse. As a result we looked forward to dinner every night. We appreciated the kitchen accommodating our food allergy issues. It was obvious that great effort was put into dinner preparation, presentation and getting plates to the table at the temperature the chef intended. The simple pork stew in a mustard sauce was divine as was the salad with a warm mushroom dressing. Our waiter could not have been better, we really enjoyed his attentive services.

The bar was simple with a limited selection but remarkably fair prices (<3E for a glass of wine, <5E for a beer). There is no hot tub, spa or related facilities at the Val Chaviere. The public areas are quite accommodating with lots of nooks and comfortable sitting areas for conversation or reading.

We were there to ski, and ski we did. The March 2012 snow cover was pretty low with lots of exposed rocks off-piste and the snow often quite hard and icy in the mornings and sloppy/slushy by the late afternoons. We couldn't fault the near daily blue sky and unlimited sunshine with a backdrop of the fabulous Alps. Our only regret with the trip was renting skis to avoid the onerous excess baggage charges from North America - won't do that again.

After exploring all the ski areas in these 3 valleys, we highly recommend the Val Thorens valley over the adjacent alternatives and have no reservations recommending the Val Chaviere, would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet. I would suggest asking for 2nd floor and above. rooms XX6-X11 face the slope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellyb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel the first week in March 2012. It is located next to the main piste and it is possible to ski in and out from the hotel. The room decor is looking a bit tired. The room was adequate size wise but the narrow toilet was always cold- stone floor & no heating. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel food is not for vegetarians. There is a set five course meal- soup, starter course, main course, cheese only (no biscuits), dessert. The starter had some strange assortments and desserts were a bit out of the ordinary. Generally the food was ok but was from cheaper cuts and nothing to write home about. Wine prices varied from 18- 30 euros but, although Val Thorens is in the Savoie wine region of France, there were no bottled white wines from that region on the wine list (although you could get a glass of Apremont (Savoie) from the bar. A carafe of local wine was not available. There is a 4 person lift which serves the five floors of the hotel. This seemed to cause frustration amongst most guests as the lift had a mind of its own. Having pressed the call button it would cancel when it felt like it, and after three or four attempts at calling the lift frustration set in and people ended up using the stairs instead.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacCottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed here with husband and friends in jan. Arrived on new years eve very bedraggled after a hideous 11 hour transfer courtesy of incompetent crystal staff. We'd barely got into the hotel and the staff handed us a free drink (part of the NYE celebration). We were checked in within a couple of minutes and being served a meal even though we'd arrived after dinner service had finished.

The NYE party was great fun even with our tiredness - especially the hotel owners young children handing out party hats/toys/streamers to all the guests.

The food won't win awards but as a very fussy eater I had no problems. We had a vegetarian and a person allergic to nuts in our party and we were well looked after. The cheese course each night is great.

The rooms are clean and comfortable - a little dated but I've had much worse. My only niggle was it was 2 single beds together rather than a "proper" double. Our room looked out over the slope which was great.

The ski room is excellent- unusually for France it could securely accommodate snowboards. Also, you don't need to be an advanced boarder/skier to take advantage of the ski in/out.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.4 km away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
521 reviews
0.1 km away
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
#9 of 29 in Val Thorens
292 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#11 of 29 in Val Thorens
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
Hotel Le Sherpa - Val Thorens
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
396 reviews
0.7 km away
Altapura
Altapura
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
400 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Val Chaviere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Val Chaviere Hotel

Address: Rue de la Lombarde, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Val Thorens
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val Thorens
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Val Chaviere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Val Chaviere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing