We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
91
82
31
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
82
31
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short walk great place to stay perfect location ski hire great apartment double bed ski trip person apartment boot room supermarket balcony snow skiing piste lift proximity mountains
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Myself and my family stayed in a 'one bedroom' apartment (but with an additional two foldaway/sofa beds in a kitchen/living area) in Le Portillo in December 2016. The hotel was everything we needed it to be - in an excellent location, clean, cheap (good value!) with staff who were always happy to help. It's was perfect for a long weekend skiing with the family where we didn't want to have to pay for catering or frills. We would definitely recommend it and would stay again on another short trip.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank jchees_887210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Haven't stayed here but visit the restaurant when in Val Thorens. Food is always excellent, beautifully presented and served. The decor is very French and very Alpine with a modern twist. Perfectly clean throughout as well as cosily warm.

Room tip: Away from the street would be quieter.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Thank you very much! We are really proud of what our restaurant have become, and that kind of review make us feel very happy! We hope to welcome you again at La Pause de Pierrette, or even at Le Portillo. Kindest regards, Manon MB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

We have visited this hotel for new year and were pleasantly surprised by the rooms that are spacious and decorated in chalet style with wood floor and wood all over the walls.

The hotel is extremely well located in the center of the village and close to all amenities with direct access to the slopes. However is the level of snow is low it will only be ski out to get in you will have to walk and take an elevator back.

As nothing is perfect the hotel is poorly staffed and the service is disappointing in addition to the fact that rooms are not equipped with mini bar.

All in all I would recommend this place

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you for your review, it helps to improve our services. First, we are glad that you liked your room and Le Portillo's location. Indeed, our rooms are not equipped with minibar, because we have one bar openned all-day-long. However, I totally understand your desapointment if you were not able to get what you needed quickly. We will arrange a better logictic next season, and hoping to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Good hotel attached to residence of same name, helpful staff, good breakfast, ski out
(not in). Lift pass office right next door, upper village location near loud après bars (5-7pm). The hotels own bar and terrace could be better staffed, other than no private parking generally very good and may use again if the price is right.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyB3111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked your stay with us. Le Portillo was built around 1970, and at this time, there were none of those after-ski bars :) But fortunately, the main part of our rooms/apartments are South located, facing slopes and thus opposite of that potential noise. I well notice the "lake" of staff at certain times at our bar/terrace, and will find a way for next winter. Have a nice summer, and hope to see you next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

We picked this hotel because it advertised ski-out/ski-in. It is easy to ski out from the ski locker area. When you leave the ski locker room, you ski downhill for a 100 feet and join a slope. The ski lifts Funitel Peclet, Cascades, Pionniers, Plein Sud, and 2 Lacs are all in the immediate area. However, getting back to the hotel requires a short walk uphill.
The hotel forbids ski equipment on any of the guest room levels. All ski equipment must be stored in the ski locker room 1 level below the lobby. The room is large and stays mostly warm. Our boots were dry each morning.
Breakfast was pretty good. I particularly enjoyed the chocolate croissants and fruit salad. Husband liked the cold meats and coffee machine.
Our room was large was on the top floor with a balcony that looked up the mountain toward Koh-i-Nor. There was a sitting area with two chairs and a small table next to the balconey so we could enjoy the views from indoors. *Our balcony was covered in 5 feet of snow.
The room had two closets which was great for hanging wet snow/ski clothes. The room also had an adjustable radiator. The bed was comfortable and we slept well each night.
The service was very good. Our room was always clean when we returned from skiing each afternoon. The reception staff also were able to arrange a taxi service for the morning we left Val Thorens.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you very much for this detailled review that let us know what you appreciated during your stay. We are happy to read that you enjoyed it. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews