We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly, sweet personnel, good service, exceptional restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We stayed at this hotel 22 Dec. 2016 till 2 January 2017. We spent Christmas and New Year here and it was a nice experience. Our room was 110, small but had a beautiful mountain view and had everything we needed. Rooms were cleaned daily and service was very good. Our dog stayed at the room while we were snowboarding and it was no problem, Chica made friends will all ladies taking care of our room. This hotel is really dog friendly, she was allowed everywhere (except for sauna:-) Service was excellent! Everybody working there was very sweet and caring. You must understand that it is a 3* hotel and for that the service was exceptional. Breakfast was kind of boring after 11 days,they had two kinds of ham, yoghurt, fruit, hard boiled egg, some bread, sweet breads and some cereals with milk, thats about it. The restaurant however was one of the best we have been to in Val Thorens! Kind of pricey, but worth it. I recommend daily grandma's stews and fish of the day, ordered several times and was always delicious. Starter poached egg was my favourite, sounds boring but served in a special way. For 2 ppl always spent over 100 euro for lunch, about 200 for Christmas dinner with wine and starter. Hotel is located close to main square and close to ski lifts. Overall we would recommend this hotel if you search for affordable cosy solution for otherwise overpriced Val Thorens.

Room Tip: 110 mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank zuzidlopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. I am sure it will help others clients to perfectly understand how we manage our hotel: in a professional and attentive way. Hope to welcome you again, because you were very smiling and nice people. And this is part of why we choose this job!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2016

Myself and my family stayed in a 'one bedroom' apartment (but with an additional two foldaway/sofa beds in a kitchen/living area) in Le Portillo in December 2016. The hotel was everything we needed it to be - in an excellent location, clean, cheap (good value!) with staff who were always happy to help. It's was perfect for a long weekend skiing with the family where we didn't want to have to pay for catering or frills. We would definitely recommend it and would stay again on another short trip.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank jchees_887210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Haven't stayed here but visit the restaurant when in Val Thorens. Food is always excellent, beautifully presented and served. The decor is very French and very Alpine with a modern twist. Perfectly clean throughout as well as cosily warm.

Room Tip: Away from the street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Thank you very much! We are really proud of what our restaurant have become, and that kind of review make us feel very happy! We hope to welcome you again at La Pause de Pierrette, or even at Le Portillo. Kindest regards, Manon MB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

We have visited this hotel for new year and were pleasantly surprised by the rooms that are spacious and decorated in chalet style with wood floor and wood all over the walls.

The hotel is extremely well located in the center of the village and close to all amenities with direct access to the slopes. However is the level of snow is low it will only be ski out to get in you will have to walk and take an elevator back.

As nothing is perfect the hotel is poorly staffed and the service is disappointing in addition to the fact that rooms are not equipped with mini bar.

All in all I would recommend this place

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you for your review, it helps to improve our services. First, we are glad that you liked your room and Le Portillo's location. Indeed, our rooms are not equipped with minibar, because we have one bar openned all-day-long. However, I totally understand your desapointment if you were not able to get what you needed quickly. We will arrange a better logictic next season, and hoping to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Good hotel attached to residence of same name, helpful staff, good breakfast, ski out
(not in). Lift pass office right next door, upper village location near loud après bars (5-7pm). The hotels own bar and terrace could be better staffed, other than no private parking generally very good and may use again if the price is right.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked your stay with us. Le Portillo was built around 1970, and at this time, there were none of those after-ski bars :) But fortunately, the main part of our rooms/apartments are South located, facing slopes and thus opposite of that potential noise. I well notice the "lake" of staff at certain times at our bar/terrace, and will find a way for next winter. Have a nice summer, and hope to see you next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.5 km away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 29 in Val Thorens
522 reviews
0.3 km away
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
#17 of 29 in Val Thorens
153 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Altapura
Altapura
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
400 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
235 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Portillo Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Portillo Hotel & Residence

Address: Place de Peclet, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range: ₹ 7,625 - ₹ 24,415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Portillo Hotel & Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LE PORTILLO is located in the center of Val Thorens, and welcomes you since 1979. This place is authentic and gets family traditions. Do not hesitate to book for a cocooning journey. LE PORTILLO offers lots of services (WIFI, Sauna, Steam bath...), And has a bar, a lounge and a delicious French restaurant at your disposal. Opened for winter season only, from beginning of November until end of April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Portillo Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Portillo Hotel And Residence
Le Portillo Hotel Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing