We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel with great restaurant bar and sunny terrace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Val Thorens
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Haven't stayed here but visit the restaurant when in Val Thorens. Food is always excellent, beautifully presented and served. The decor is very French and very Alpine with a modern twist. Perfectly clean throughout as well as cosily warm.

Room Tip: Away from the street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Thank you very much! We are really proud of what our restaurant have become, and that kind of review make us feel very happy! We hope to welcome you again at La Pause de Pierrette, or even at Le Portillo. Kindest regards, Manon MB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

We have visited this hotel for new year and were pleasantly surprised by the rooms that are spacious and decorated in chalet style with wood floor and wood all over the walls.

The hotel is extremely well located in the center of the village and close to all amenities with direct access to the slopes. However is the level of snow is low it will only be ski out to get in you will have to walk and take an elevator back.

As nothing is perfect the hotel is poorly staffed and the service is disappointing in addition to the fact that rooms are not equipped with mini bar.

All in all I would recommend this place

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you for your review, it helps to improve our services. First, we are glad that you liked your room and Le Portillo's location. Indeed, our rooms are not equipped with minibar, because we have one bar openned all-day-long. However, I totally understand your desapointment if you were not able to get what you needed quickly. We will arrange a better logictic next season, and hoping to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Good hotel attached to residence of same name, helpful staff, good breakfast, ski out
(not in). Lift pass office right next door, upper village location near loud après bars (5-7pm). The hotels own bar and terrace could be better staffed, other than no private parking generally very good and may use again if the price is right.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked your stay with us. Le Portillo was built around 1970, and at this time, there were none of those after-ski bars :) But fortunately, the main part of our rooms/apartments are South located, facing slopes and thus opposite of that potential noise. I well notice the "lake" of staff at certain times at our bar/terrace, and will find a way for next winter. Have a nice summer, and hope to see you next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

We picked this hotel because it advertised ski-out/ski-in. It is easy to ski out from the ski locker area. When you leave the ski locker room, you ski downhill for a 100 feet and join a slope. The ski lifts Funitel Peclet, Cascades, Pionniers, Plein Sud, and 2 Lacs are all in the immediate area. However, getting back to the hotel requires a short walk uphill.
The hotel forbids ski equipment on any of the guest room levels. All ski equipment must be stored in the ski locker room 1 level below the lobby. The room is large and stays mostly warm. Our boots were dry each morning.
Breakfast was pretty good. I particularly enjoyed the chocolate croissants and fruit salad. Husband liked the cold meats and coffee machine.
Our room was large was on the top floor with a balcony that looked up the mountain toward Koh-i-Nor. There was a sitting area with two chairs and a small table next to the balconey so we could enjoy the views from indoors. *Our balcony was covered in 5 feet of snow.
The room had two closets which was great for hanging wet snow/ski clothes. The room also had an adjustable radiator. The bed was comfortable and we slept well each night.
The service was very good. Our room was always clean when we returned from skiing each afternoon. The reception staff also were able to arrange a taxi service for the morning we left Val Thorens.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you very much for this detailled review that let us know what you appreciated during your stay. We are happy to read that you enjoyed it. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

This Ski-Out Hotel, with a short walk back uphill to get in, was reasonably priced for the resort. We had a 2 bedroom apartment, with a large living area. We were also able to book mid-week to mid-week - a lot of accommodation is booked Sat to Sat. Immaculately clean, rooms serviced daily with lovely fresh new towels. Restaurant at night was excellent. The cons - very slow internet, only a cold breakfast in the morning and not much choice - but plenty of pastries and pain au chocolat if you like that for breakfast. There was some noise at night around 2-3am when the youngsters decided to leave the pubs, but it was not a major problem

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieMike12e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leportillo, Directeur général at Le Portillo Hotel & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are actually buying eggs-cookers for the breakfast to add a warm choice to the buffet. Concerning the potential noice from uptown around 2-3am, it is quite hard for us to fix something we do not manage. But fortunately, the main part of our rooms/apartments are South side, facing slopes, and opposite to this zone. Hope to welcome again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.8 km away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 28 in Val Thorens
430 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#13 of 28 in Val Thorens
266 reviews
0.1 km away
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
Fahrenheit Seven Val Thorens
#8 of 28 in Val Thorens
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 28 in Val Thorens
383 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 28 in Val Thorens
268 reviews
0.5 km away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#6 of 28 in Val Thorens
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Portillo Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Portillo Hotel & Residence

Address: Place de Peclet, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range: ₹ 15,317 - ₹ 44,115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Portillo Hotel & Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LE PORTILLO is located in the center of Val Thorens, and welcomes you since 1979. This place is authentic and gets family traditions. Do not hesitate to book for a cocooning journey. LE PORTILLO offers lots of services (WIFI, Sauna, Steam bath...), And has a bar, a lounge and a delicious French restaurant at your disposal. Opened for winter season only, from beginning of November until end of April. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Portillo Hotel And Residence
Le Portillo Hotel Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing