We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr and Mrs Hart”
Review of La Ferme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Ferme
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in La Clusaz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Recently returned from an amazing stay at La Ferme. The rooms are basic but extremely comfortable. Spotless clean with a wonderful hot shower. Fabulous nights sleep. If you want an authentic experience in a gorgeous character building then this is the place. Not forgetting the wonderful food and very generous hospitality. We will definitely be returning. Thank you. Nicky and Chris x

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2017

We had the most wonderful stay here in week 7.

There are just so many good things to say.

First of all the rooms and bathrooms. The bathrooms are newly renovated and really very nice with both regular and rainforest showerheads. Everything is so tasteful and the towels are large and fluffy.
The rooms are also really nice - rustic and cosy and the views from all are absolutely amazing – facing either the town or the piste and all are with mountain view.
Others have commented on the noise from the restaurant – that Is true, but we actually really enjoyed feeling that is was a lively place to stay.

In the morning they serve a really nice breakfast. The very best part about it was no doubt the completely fresh baked croissants that were brought out hot. But there were lots of nice choices like divine cheeses, fresh fruit and fresh fruit salad, orange juice, yoghurt, baguette, eggs etc.

There is a nice ski room and a room with heating for the boots. And with the benefit of the hotel being directly on the blue piste you can ski down to several lifts.

One of the great perks at staying here was being so close to one of the best restaurants in town and we also really enjoyed the terrace that served drinks and snacks. We were so very lucky regarding the weather and had one ½ day of clouds and then sun the rest of the week. Just be aware that this is the most popular place in town and reservations a essential

It only takes under 10 minutes to walk down to town – and here you find lots of places to eat as well

We have already booked for both next year and the year after, and this is necessary during high season – as the rooms are booked up more than one year in advance. We even had to move our vacation a week.

Room Tip: all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

I wrote this review whilst staying in La Ferme for my third night before flying home. Sadly I injured myself on the pistes, so am icing my injury and enjoying the fabulous views from this hotel and restaurant.

If you haven't been to La Clusaz before, it is an exceptionally picturesque and small French village located near five excellent ski areas. Not only that, but only an hour from Geneva, it is ideal for a short stay. I left London at 6AM and had already managed 2 hours skiing by lunchtime. It doesn't have the night life of many of the better known resorts, but brims with excellent restaurants and smart French style.

La Ferme is in an ideal location right on the pistes. 400 yards and you can ski right down to the main chair lifts and gondolas. The views over the beautiful village, and iconic church, are absolutely stunning. To access the village by foot, it is a mere 10 minute walk down the hill.

The rooms are very well decorated in traditional French ski resort style. Quite small, but comfortable and with the benefit of being able to walk out onto the terrace area.

The breakfast in the restaurant is exceptional - fresh fruit salad, croissants, ham and cheese of the highest quality. Open from 8, you can have a leisurely breakfast and still be on the pistes for the first lifts.

In the evening the restaurant was very busy and full of atmosphere. Traditional dishes are cooked at your table with your own personal smoky oven. The smells are absolutely delicious. It is worth booking in advance as it was packed with several diners who were not staying in the hotel.

The staff have been superb and welcoming - always happy to speak to me in English as a result of my pigeon French. I lost count of the amount of times I asked them for ice to soothe my injury, but they always did it with a smile!

I would definitely come again. I was disappointed to miss a day of skiing but the time I did have was exceptional. In my opinion, Balme is the best area to ski with a few challenging reds and plentiful off piste. A lovely cross-country blue run takes you there from La Clusaz and the views over Mont Blanc are heavenly!

Room Tip: Quieter on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

La Ferme is a great restaurant and hotel - combining the benefit of ski in and ski out (about 400 metres above village on main piste) whilst only being 10 mins walk from the bars and shops in town.

I must start with the staff- nothing was too much trouble, from Anouck and Stefan (owners) to all the restaurant staff, they were constantly offering to help with our various queries. This was a massive help in particular as the snow was, as like the rest of the alps, limited during our stay. They were all great and really made our holiday.

The rooms are fine with modern bathrooms. We had two on the lower floor with direct access outside. As others have said there is some noise from the restaurant about but ask for lower floor as much quieter. Beds were big and comfortable.

The restaurant was great- given it was the "quiet" first week in January the fact it was packed lunch and dinner each day says a lot. A good mix of nationalities as well to add to the atmosphere. The food is the traditional mix of cheese and meat dishes so plenty of Tartiflete was consumed! They also offered salads and pizzas etc. Reasonable selection for the children and a comprehensive wine list.

Check out the hotel website as good and accurate reflection of the hotel.

So great place to say and yes we intend to go back!

Room Tip: Lower floors a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrissleJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

This is a very well run hotel and, for us, was a perfect overnight stop. Friendly staff and good food, with a great range of choices and prices. Local wine is available, for once, at a reasonable cost. Impressive service for a busy restaurant. Rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. Our only complaint was that only one bath towel was provided for a double room and a smallish towel at that. Otherwise excellent.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have great views and are a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Clusaz hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Beauregard
Hotel Beauregard
#1 of 20 in La Clusaz
1,253 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
#2 of 20 in La Clusaz
376 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#8 of 20 in La Clusaz
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Alpen Roc
Hotel Alpen Roc
#4 of 20 in La Clusaz
746 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Les Sapins
Hotel Les Sapins
#9 of 20 in La Clusaz
66 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Prestige Odalys Le Chamois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ferme? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme

Address: route du Col des Aravis, 74220 La Clusaz, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > La Clusaz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in La Clusaz
Price Range: ₹ 5,779 - ₹ 10,698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Ferme 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Ferme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing