We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice for business”
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel if you are here for business. Nice location. Lot's of good restaurants at walking distance from the hotel. Rooms are good. Very good bed and important...quit.
Breakfast is OK. You will not find the fat unhealthy English Breakfast over here.
If you like sport, then you can have a run around the small lake (3km). Hotel also has a Spa.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    196
    130
    51
    27
See reviews for
73
213
20
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Avoid - we stayed in an apartment which was quite simply without any warmth or welcome, basic, functional and clean is the best I can say. No effort has been made to create any kind of atmosphere. The buildings, apart from the fancy railings on the balconies, are more student halls than hotel. Never again!

Room Tip: Use the hotel not the apartments and fact our to the lake but avoid being above the restaurant terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Divonne-les-Bains hotels

london
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

bit soulless and in the middle of nowhere - it will take you a long time, and a lot of cabfare, to get to geneva. on the plus side: an artificial lake you can stroll around and good dinners at the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We (family of four - two adults, two young children) have just returned from a stay at this hotel.
We made the booking because the hotel was relatively cheap, certainly in comparison to Geneva hotels, but most of all because of the swimming pool as our 2 year-old absolutely loves swimming.
It turns out that children are not allowed to go in the swimming pool, apart from between 12.30pm and 2pm (on Saturday and Sunday only!) and from 7pm to 10pm!?!
With young children, this basically means no swimming.
This information is mentioned on the website - but only in the Health & Safety regulations at the bottom of the Spa tab.
It is not mentioned when you make a booking via the reservations button, and is not mentioned if you look via Booking.com or another comparison site.

They had also forgotten to provide cots for us, and tried to make out it was our fault and just tough luck as the person with the keys had gone home already (it was 4.30pm). When we mentioned that we had put our requirements on our booking they reluctantly contacted another hotel to get them for us, but then didn't put them up and just left them collapsed in our room.

I would strongly recommend not to book this hotel if you are travelling with children. There are plenty of alternative hotels in the region, and quite a few with pools without strange restrictions on use (the woman at Spa reception tried to tell us it was the law! It is the law that young children can't swim in France?!?).

If you are travelling without children then it is probably ok!

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel! Alternatively, ask for a lake view at time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This hotel is in my top three of worst hotels to stay in. Not from a location point of view, purely from a comfort and business point of view.

Location is very quiet, which is great, there is a village close by with a few decent restaurants (the hotel restaurant has restricted hours). However, the village has irregular opening hours and is closed on Sundays! There is no room service in the hotel, so if you miss the restaurant(s), then it's tough!

The beds are so hard that I have had to have Chiropractic treatment following 2 stays here. "So why did I stay again?" I hear you ask - well my company use this hotel, so I don't have a lot of choice!

The breakfast is sparse and basic and when things run out, you have to push to get the empty dishes replenished.
The rooms are basic with no bathroom facilities, eg shampoos conditioner etc. The Spa facilities are expensive.

The internet is free, but doesn't always work efficiently. They do have bikes you can hire for the day - obviously not recommended in winter, and they have a free shuttle to the airport.

I certainly would not pay money out of my own pocket to stay here!

Room Tip: choose another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jammydodger0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Divonne-les-Bains hotels
0.8 km away
Domaine de Divonne
Domaine de Divonne
#1 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
658 reviews
1.1 km away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree du Parc
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree...
#3 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
147 reviews
0.3 km away
Appart'City Confort Geneve Divonne-les-Bains
Appart'City Confort Geneve Divon...
#9 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Versoix
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Ver...
#6 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
174 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Le Divona
Hotel Le Divona
#7 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
50 reviews
1.1 km away
Chateau de Divonne
Chateau de Divonne
#2 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac

Property: Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac
Address: 93 Chemin du Chatelard, 01220 Divonne-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Divonne-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,683 - ₹ 12,886
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa du Lac is a unique and residential complex in a green environment and nearest Divonne lake. An ideal place to relax and host private dinners, business meetings and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Du Lac Hotel Divonne-Les-Bains
La Hotel Du Lac
La Hotel Divonne Les Bains
Hotel & Residence La Villa Du Lac Divonne-Les-Bains, Ain, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing