We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice accomodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lagrange Confort+ Residence Cybele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lagrange Confort+ Residence Cybele
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Two of us stayed in one of the self catering studios during the first week of March and we found it to be a good base for our skiing holiday. The accomodation was nicely decorated, warm and had powerful hot showers for after a day on the slopes. The kitchen area was relatively small but had all the equipment for basic hob and microwave meals (no oven though). A baker visited reception every morning so you can easily get bread and croissants etc for you day. While perfect for two it would probably be a squeeze with four adults and all their luggage. The reception area is only open at certain times in the morning and evening so make sure you arrive within these times or make arrangements for a different arrival time in advance otherwise you could come unstuck.

We drove from Geneva and parked for free in the surface courtyard area, although I think you can pay to park in the underground car park. Each room gets a lockable ski locker in the basement area and you can hire skis from the intersport which is part of the complex. The pool isn't massive and I found it a little cold, the jacuzzi was out of order when we visited and you have to pay extra for the sauna (the one free session adveristed is only between 10am and 3,15pm so not much use to skiers). This didn't affect our trip but if you have high expectations of luxury spa facilities you may be a bit disappointed.

As has been said previously the apartments are a 5-10min walk from the gondola, we walked a couple of times but tended to use the free mini bus that runs too and from the lift in the mornings and afternoons. On sunny days there was a queue to get on the lift, after queuing it then does take 20-25min and at the top you have to walk a few mins to reach the Meribel lifts. We were aware of this before booking and it didn't affect our holiday. Most days we were at Meribel by 9.15am and as the last lift back to Brides was 5.30pm you can get in a full day skiing (the lift time might be different throughout the season though). It obviously isn't as good as ski in/out accomodation and you need to factor this into the holiday and the price you pay. I expect similar self catering can be found in one of the main three valleys resorts but if you pay the right price and won't find the journey to and from the slopes frustrating the Cybele accomodation will suit you find. As we drove we found Brides was ideal as there is limited snow to negoicate at this alitude and it is a lot more accessible than the other mountain resorts. If you do drive stop at the Super U just outside Moutiers and on the road to Brides as food etc is cheaper than the Spar in town. Brides itself isn't massive but if you wanted too you could just about eat out at a different place every night, there seemed to be a few pubs and the casino but if apres ski and clubbing are important part of you holiday Brides didn't seem that buzzing. Prices to eat out varied and there were some fancier looking places, we ate pizza and pasta for between 10-15 euros and meat based dishes seemed to be around 20 euros. However we also cooked some night to reduce costs.

Overall I felt it was a good standard for self catering accomodation that suited us well as a base for skiing, particularly as we drove, however do your research and make sure Brides will suit the kind of holiday that you want.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank laurabridle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    24
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
29
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I'm currently sitting in the reception of the Cybele following a week of skiing up in Meribel. Let me start with the unrelated subject of the Gondola from Brides Les Bains up to Meribel... The Gondola is located approx 10 min walk from the Cybele apartments however they do offer a free shuttle service from 8:00 - 10:30. The Gondola journey itself takes about 20-25 minutes and when we first read this we didn't quite take into consideration the impact this actually has on your day. Factor in the queuing, the 25 minute gondola ride, then a 5 minute walk to the slopes, another queue and then another gondola before you get onto the slopes then the whole process can get a bit frustrating after a couple of days! Yes Brides Les Bains is a cheap place to stay but this is the reason why, so take this into consideration when booking. We would have gladly paid extra to be in the resort of Meribel had we known.

Ok so back to the Cybele Apartments. When you come into Brides this is the first drop off and it's only a 5 minute walk into town (Another 5 minute walk and you will have left Brides as it's tiny!). We arrive about 2 pm after a 6am flight from Edinburgh so as you can imagine we were keen to get checked in and relax... unfortunately on arrival we were told the reception was closed until 3pm, which would have been fine had it not been for the other 60 odd tired looking people already waiting. We were tired and hungry so decided just to dump our bags and head into town. We got just as the reception was opening so joined the queue. After about 30 minutes we were at the front and going through the check in process. Once complete we were told that our room was not ready yet and to come back at 4pm... ok, I can half accept that as there are a lot of apartments and they must take time to clean but then I remember that these are self catering and we're suppose to clean them ourselves on departure so I'm not sure why there was a delay. Anyway, 4pm and I rejoined the queue, 20 mins later I'm back at the front only to be told that the room is still not ready and that they couldn't give me a time as to when it would be!

At this point I'm going to quickly comment on our holiday operator Crystal Ski who, up to this point had been excellent. I asked the rep (Lucy) is there was anything that could be done to hurry up the check in process, only to be told repeat-ably that there was nothing she could do and that it states in the brochure check-in after 4pm (it was after 4pm Lucy). Since we were not the only people affected by this I wasn't the only person asking her to intervene but she refused and we ended up taking matters into our own hands and asked to speak with the hotel manager... back to Cybele now...

Within 5 minutes of speaking with the manager we were reassigned a different room and on our way up to the apartment.

The apartment we had slept 2-4 people, there were 3 of us and it was a perfect size for us. I did notice during booking that having only 2 people in a room did not incur any under occupancy fee so i would recommend that if there are 4 of you then go for 2 rooms!

On arrival the room was clean, spacious and has a balcony. You need to get your bed linen from reception and make the beds yourself. You get one small blanket per bed but this was more than enough as the room was constantly warm!

The kitchen was well equipped however it does not have an oven which we did not notice until after picking up some shopping. So if you're not into pan fried pizza then take note!

There is a swimming pool, games room and a sauna in the apartment block. We didn't use them though.

My only other small gripe, along with the lack of organisation during check in is the WiFi on offer (the one I'm currently using). It costs 7 euro per 24 hours and 20 euros for 7 days... only problem is that it's only available from 9am - 7pm and only in the reception area. Also during busy times it can be very intermittent (it's taken me a long time to right this review!).

Lastly...

Brides is small with only a handful of places to eat and whilst the food is ok, it's nothing to write home about and can be slightly overpriced.

Also, if you can, bring as many supplies as you can from home as the Spar is very small and expensive (apart from wine, which was cheap!).

All in all though, if you don't mind the gondola ride Brides (and Cybele) is a good, cheap option for skiing in the 3 valleys.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank nickdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We had a great trip here, our studio had a small kitchen, sofa bed and bunk beds. It is small for 4 people but for 2 it was perfect. The location is good and there is easy access to the gondola especially with the suttle bus however if you want a more lively apres ski it would be better to stay in meribel itself as the gondola closes very early in the evening.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank roadtravelled09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earby lancs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

we stayed in the cybele for a week at the end of march.first the rooms and kitchen facilities were great,even had a dishwasher.
the pool and spa were also very good we got 1 free sauna but it was only 7 euro per appartment or 39 euro per week to use the sauna when you wanted(subject to booking).the pool and jacuzzi were free all the time.it also has a small but fairly well equipped gym.wifi was available in the reception at 7 euro per day or 20 euro for the week.also a free shuttle bus to the gondola altho its not a long walk(500m ish)
the girls behind reception were also really helpful.
now for brides itself one word EXPENSIVE
beer from 5 to 7 euro altho from 4 till 6 pm at the amelie it was happy hour 3.10 euro for large beer.food ok if you like pizza otherwise 17-25 euro for a main course.not much choice either.(went to mayhofen at cristmas and was much better value for money)
the spar is fairly well stocked but again its not asda theres no 2 for1's haha..
we got the 3 vallees ski pass which i would reccomend as the ski/boarding was much better over towards val thorrens,but that may have been the time of year we went.and or our boarding ability.
overall tho fantastic boarding not much apres and now im sick of pizza...80)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank craigluvsgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

We chose this hotel as a cheap place to stay for our ski trip to Meribel. Once you get past the fact that you have to pay for things like TV in room (French channels only), Wi-Fi and underground parking, the hotel is actually a nice place to stay. The corridors could do with a freshen up, but the rooms we stayed in had been recently re-furbished and were well equipped. We stayed in two 8 berth apartments and we were pleasantly surprised by the space. The blankets and pillows etc (that do not get sent back to reception) could probably do with a freshen up, but that's about it. For food, there is a restaurant across the car park, and there is a spar in town, but it does not have a fantastic selection. There is also a bread man comes every morning at 7.30. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdaniels12002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brides-les-Bains hotels
0.3 km away
Residence Villa Eureca
Residence Villa Eureca
#9 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.5 km away
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand Hotel des Thermes
Mercure Brides les Bains Grand H...
#8 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Le Verseau
Hotel Le Verseau
#7 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Altis Val Vert Hotel
Altis Val Vert Hotel
#4 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 km away
Golf Hotel
Golf Hotel
#1 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagrange Confort+ Residence Cybele? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagrange Confort+ Residence Cybele

Property: Lagrange Confort+ Residence Cybele
Address: Meribel, 73570 Brides-les-Bains, France (Formerly Residence Cybele)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Brides-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Brides-les-Bains
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,660 - ₹ 5,033
Hotel Class:3 star — Lagrange Confort+ Residence Cybele 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Also Known As:
Residence Cybele Lagrange Classic Hotel Brides-Les-Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing