We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
109
143
101
80
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
143
101
80
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewspa pooloverlooking the waterlarge balconysmall roadbreakfast was includedport towntoilet paperamazing viewscroissantstop floorfirst floorhotel roomsouth of francethree nightssun loungersterrace
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is incredible! It's my third visit because I love it so much and I've already booked for next year.

The staff are the friendliest and most accommodating you will find anywhere.

The service is the best it could be - thanks to the staff like Romain, Julie, Elodie and all the others. They are always smiling and very friendly!

The rooms are absolutely incredible - very stylish, contemporary, fresh, and with the most comfortable beds. Most rooms have gorgeous views out to sea with fabulous cliffs and gorgeous French mansions in the background. It's definitely one of my favourite views from a hotel room that I've ever seen (and I travel a lot)!

The rest of the hotel is designed to perfection! Beautiful white spaces with equally beautiful pieces of furniture and art to make it feel inviting and comfortable. They have a huge outside deck overlooking the sea that leads into the inviting bar and restaurant.

On that note - the restaurant and bar are excellent! I loved the food so much that I have booked my husband's 50th birthday here next year.

The cute little shop full of gorgeous clothes, jewellery and interiors products - all handpicked by Julie, is worth a visit alone!

The Beach Club opposite is perfect! The most stunning views, comfortable sunloungers, great food and cocktails and best of all...always-smiling staff!

As for the beach below, although its pebbly, it offers the most crystal clear, cove-shaped sea to swim in. It's by far my favourite place to swim in all of Europe. Very safe, calm, and even if you're 50 metres out, it's so clear that you can see every detail on the bottom!

It's an easy 40 minutes drive from Marseille airport and the perfect place for a short weekend stay or much longer if you have the time. The main 'town' of Cassis is a mere 5 minute walk from the hotel and it's absolutely gorgeous! There's a market 2-3 times/week and many restaurants and bars (but don't miss eating at the hotel itself)!

I hope you have the opportunity to stay there yourself! It truly is one of the best hotels in the world and the rates are very reasonable!

Thanks to all the staff for another fantastic stay!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank TravellingKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMahogany, Responsable réception at Hotel de la Plage Mahogany, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017
Google Translation

mille merci pour cet avis nous aussi nous sommes très heureux d avoir des clients comme vous a l année prochaine pour un super séjours on vous attends a tres bientot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in one of the top floor "suite" rooms which overlooks Plage du Bestouan, a truly stunning view which surpassed our expectations based on the hotel's website. The room was very tastefully decorated and well appointed with AC; fridge; bath; shower & large balcony, but let down by a stale odour coming from the drains, which spoilt the overall effect somewhat.

The double room (booked by others in our party) was more basic and quite compact but with equally stunning view from the balcony.

The breakfast /restaurant terrace looking out across the bay is also worth a mention - very stylish.

Overall, although the price is at the very top end for a 3 star rated hotel, I doubt many/any others can match its unique aspect and the superb "côte d'Azure" views on offer.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We spent 2 nights here and were a little disappointed by the room size and the overall condition. We had a top floor room with a sea view which was excellent but the entry to the tiny balcony had a wooden tramp like structure that kept moving and was rusty. There was no place to put 2 suitcases and the toilet paper had no holder so you needed to put in on the shelf or bathtub. I expected more. The pool that is shown is only accessed for a price although you are a few steps from a the beach.

Breakfast was ok and presented rather nicely on a tray. The buffet had lovely breads and fruit. The best part was being able to sit on their deck in front of the beach.

Overall the exterior of the hotel and dinning/bar area is lovely, but the I don't think there is value here. If you want a good sea view and to be close the a typical stony beach it is fine. Breakfast was satisfactory.

The pictures of the room we expected did not come close to what we got.

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve parking and if you are older the walk to town is longer than one expected and up hill.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We had a wonderful visit at the Plage Mahogany. The reception staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and very pretty, with a large balcony overlooking the spa pool, and a tea kettle and a selection of coffees and teas. The reception area had a basket of fresh pastries as well.

The spa treatments were fantastic--we had a facial, body scrub and massage for an incredibly reasonable 135 euros! The little pool is perfect for relaxing before or after a spa treatment.

The beach is literally across the street -- so convenient! And the little town of Cassis is a short five minute walk downhill. We didn't eat any meals onsite, but saw other patrons doing so, and they seemed pleased.

I highly recommend Hotel de la Plage Mahogany, and can't wait to go back for another visit!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CRoss121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel's location is the best in Cassis I must say.
It overlooks one of the best bay views.
If you stay there don't miss waking up at 7 am and enjoy the scenery, listen to the magical waves sounds, and smell the pure clean atmosphere.

The hotel itself is not that great. Their rooms cleanness is average, and the staffs too.

The hotel restaurant is good though, with the same great charming view, you can enjoy a great lunch, breakfast or dinner.
The restaurant's staff is very nice and adds taste to the experience.

By the way, they serve good tapas and you must try the Seches plate! Photos attached.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dufour D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews