We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de la Plage Mahogany
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We spent 2 nights here and were a little disappointed by the room size and the overall condition. We had a top floor room with a sea view which was excellent but the entry to the tiny balcony had a wooden tramp like structure that kept moving and was rusty. There was no place to put 2 suitcases and the toilet paper had no holder so you needed to put in on the shelf or bathtub. I expected more. The pool that is shown is only accessed for a price although you are a few steps from a the beach.

Breakfast was ok and presented rather nicely on a tray. The buffet had lovely breads and fruit. The best part was being able to sit on their deck in front of the beach.

Overall the exterior of the hotel and dinning/bar area is lovely, but the I don't think there is value here. If you want a good sea view and to be close the a typical stony beach it is fine. Breakfast was satisfactory.

The pictures of the room we expected did not come close to what we got.

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve parking and if you are older the walk to town is longer than one expected and up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2017

We had a wonderful visit at the Plage Mahogany. The reception staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and very pretty, with a large balcony overlooking the spa pool, and a tea kettle and a selection of coffees and teas. The reception area had a basket of fresh pastries as well.

The spa treatments were fantastic--we had a facial, body scrub and massage for an incredibly reasonable 135 euros! The little pool is perfect for relaxing before or after a spa treatment.

The beach is literally across the street -- so convenient! And the little town of Cassis is a short five minute walk downhill. We didn't eat any meals onsite, but saw other patrons doing so, and they seemed pleased.

I highly recommend Hotel de la Plage Mahogany, and can't wait to go back for another visit!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CRoss121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel's location is the best in Cassis I must say.
It overlooks one of the best bay views.
If you stay there don't miss waking up at 7 am and enjoy the scenery, listen to the magical waves sounds, and smell the pure clean atmosphere.

The hotel itself is not that great. Their rooms cleanness is average, and the staffs too.

The hotel restaurant is good though, with the same great charming view, you can enjoy a great lunch, breakfast or dinner.
The restaurant's staff is very nice and adds taste to the experience.

By the way, they serve good tapas and you must try the Seches plate! Photos attached.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dufour D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Very well situated across the road from a very pebbled beach. Parking is at the Hotel down the road so carry luggage is a real hassle. Our room had a wonderful sea view but was very small. The staff were stand offing, except for a very helpful Australian girl. I always take a sheet when I travel just in case the linen is unsatisfactory. It was, and I did put my king size sheet on the Queen bed. We checked out the next day.
I forgot to take the sheet off the bed. After 4 phone calls I was told it wasn't there & hadn't been found. Another one of life's mysteries.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 509Jennie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

It was a great location to the City center. Most of the staff was nice.Supper meal was way way over priced.not so good,room 27 A/c does not work .paper products rationed ran out every day. Had to go to lobby for WIFI. No English channels on TV.

Room Tip: Do not get Pine view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Camaro435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel13260, Directeur général at Hotel de la Plage Mahogany, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Hello, we thank you for your comments. Know that we do not impose rationing on products... Thank you for having specified that we answered you positively your request. The WIFI actually sometimes has problems, it is unfortunately of for the fact that the city CASSIS is not equipped with fiber. We fight for obtaining satisfaction. We thank you for the positive points

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cassis hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Royal Cottage
Hotel Royal Cottage
#2 of 16 in Cassis
345 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Hotel La Rade
1.4 km away
Les Jardins de Cassis
Les Jardins de Cassis
#4 of 16 in Cassis
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel de France Maguy
Hotel de France Maguy
#1 of 16 in Cassis
384 reviews
0.1 km away
Jardin d'Emile
Jardin d'Emile
#3 of 16 in Cassis
289 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Cassitel
Hotel Cassitel
#12 of 16 in Cassis
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Plage Mahogany? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Plage Mahogany

Address: 19 avenue de l Amiral Ganteaume | Plage du Bestouan, 13260 Cassis, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cassis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Cassis
Price Range: ₹ 14,529 - ₹ 18,763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Plage Mahogany 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de la Plage Mahogany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahogany Hotel Cassis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing