We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character, Quiet, Fontveille Is Lovely”
Review of Le Madaleno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Madaleno
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Fontvieille
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2016

The Good: We had ais a lovely patio/arbor with small table and view of pool. The hotel was not at all full so mornings on the patio in our PJs with coffee, a lovely baguette and jam were heavenly.
The Not-So- Good: We stayed in a triple, it was tight for three adults. The electricity went off several times (also impacted the shower??), but was back on in a few minutes. Who ever tiled the bathroom shower must have been enjoying some lovely French wine at the same time. :)

Room Tip: Rooms with patio are lovely (assuming neighbors are quiet or gone)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoanneWeigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRipaille, Gérant at Le Madaleno, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Dear Joanne,
Thank you very much to took time to evaluate us. It is a great pleasure to read you. Concerning water and electricity the reason is we have natural water from floor so we need a electrical pump, at all. We apologize for this inconvenient moment.
Best regards and hope to see you again,
Family Kieffer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2015

stayed here for two nights before heading to Avignon. Wished we stayed longer! Although our room was small we got better than I had expected for the price paid.

You will need a car as there isn't much within walking distance and taxis are expensive 12€ into Fontvieille for 3min trip. Though the restaurant we ate at that night gave us a free lift back! You don't get that here in the UK!

I felt really at home and comfortable here. Even though I struggled communicating with the owner! (I'd advise to learn some basic French though the staff speak some English)

Food in the restaurant was lovely, as was breakfast. Nice wines from knowledgable waiter. Lovely little (hardly used) pool area and sheltered parking. Just fabulous for its odd 2 star rating. I will never book a hotel based on its star rating again!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRipaille, Propriétaire at Le Madaleno, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015
Google Translation

Chère Rachel,

Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire. Nous espérons vous revoir dans notre région !

Amitiés,
La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Been there for a weekend with a toddler and a baby.
We arrived at 1 at night as the flight was delayed end even though they do not have night service, someone helped us with the accommodation. On Sunday we had late breakfast, well beyond 10, we also checked out late, the friendly family running the business didn't have any problem with us troublemakers.
The breakfast is well catered, the lunch was absolutely delicious.
The swimming pool is really nice and well maintained.
Also the outside of the countryside building is well kept.
The rooms at the ground floor have a little patio in front, with tables and chairs, lovely surprise.
Only the rooms and the bathrooms need a little refreshment. They are fairly small, but again, we were there with 2 kids, and we found space to arrange everything. It was surprising to see how much place to store, lay, hang things is available (cupboards, tables, night stands, bathroom cupboard...).
All very clean and neat.
The road running along the garden is a bit noisy, but did not disturb at all in the bedrooms.
The parking is free and covered by canopy, a blessing!
There is also free wifi.
It's much more than a 2 stars hotel. If I will be again in the area, I will be back here for sure.

Room Tip: Room n.2 looks to the pool, has direct access from the patio, without passing via the entrance, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRipaille, Propriétaire at Le Madaleno, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2015
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire, nous prenons en compte toutes vos remarques. Au plaisir de vous revoir à la Ripaille.

Amitiés,
La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Friendly staff and a daily diner you rather expect in a 4 of 5 star hotel.
Rooms are rather small but very clean.
Located on 5 KM from Les Baux (short distance if you're by car)
Dogs are allowed. Free parking.

Room Tip: ask for balkon are terras (rooms are rather small)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRipaille, Gérant at Le Madaleno, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Dear Marc,
Thank you very much for your advise.
We hope to see you again at la Ripaille.
Sincerely,
Family Kieffer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Upon arrival we were a bit disappointed with no tea/coffee facilities or refrigerator. The hotel itself is nice. The rooms clean although bathrooms tiny. At times very noisy from other guests. Wifi a bit unreliable. The hotel owner was very friendly & helpful. We got into a bit of strife with a flat tire and he called car hire for us and sorted things out. Breakfast was lovely with wide range of foods but the best was the fresh baguettes & croissants. The court yard was a beautiful place to start the day with breakfast. The restaurant meal was very good and the waiter was fantastic. The pool was clean. Hotel is not expensive, good value but would be better if there was a bar fridge in room to store cold drinks as it was quite hot. Location is great with gorgeous towns nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgie267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaRipaille, Gérant at Le Madaleno, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear Georgie870,
Thank you very much for your comment. We enjoy that you appreciate your stay in our hotel. Concerning fridge, we don't propose it in rooms because are too tiny as you said but we propose cold drinks at bar.
We hope to see you again in provence.
Best regards,
Family Kieffer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontvieille
4.6 km away
Best Western Le Val Majour
Best Western Le Val Majour
#3 of 8 in Fontvieille
178 reviews
11.8 km away
Hotel De L'Amphitheatre
3.9 km away
Villa Regalido
Villa Regalido
#1 of 8 in Fontvieille
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Benvengudo
Benvengudo
#4 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
238 reviews
12 km away
Hotel Jules Cesar Arles MGallery Collection
11.5 km away
Hotel le Belvedere
Hotel le Belvedere
#27 of 56 in Arles
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Madaleno? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Madaleno

Address: Route des Baux, 13990 Fontvieille, Arles, France (Formerly La Ripaille Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles > Fontvieille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Fontvieille
Price Range: ₹ 4,403 - ₹ 7,913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Madaleno 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Provence ... •In the heart of the Alpilles hills ... •At the gateway to the Camargue ... •At the foot of les Baux de provence and its Castel ... Our charming Hotel Restaurant will delight you with its peaceful setting in the heart of the countryside surrounded by fields of olive trees and vineyards. With its privileged situation among the villages of Fontvieille, Les Baux de Provence and Maussane les Alpilles, our hotel's location also offers easy access to the towns of Arles, Saint Rémy de Provence and Avignon, as well as all their monuments, such as Glanum and the Antiquities, the Amphitheatre and the Popes' Palace. The sound of the cicada, the perfume of lavender, the swimming pool and our shaded terrace will all help to make your stay a moment of calm and relaxation, as well as of visits and discoveries. Welcome to Le Madaleno ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Madaleno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing