We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (716)
Filter reviews
716 results
Traveller rating
179
321
165
34
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
321
165
34
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car ferry town centre one night excellent shower restaurant staff late arrival comfortable bed easy access rooms are clean next morning bar and restaurant evening meal an overnight stay breakfast buffet catching the ferry channel tunnel the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 716 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018

This hotel was easy to find on arrival in France and we had a warm welcome from the gentleman at reception, who also offered to help with our bags. Although it is an older hotel, the room and bathroom were clean, bed good and there was not too much transient noise. A good stop-over.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Passenger259145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudianne C, Directeur général at Ibis Calais, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Passenger259145,

Thank You very much for your kind feedback about your stay with us.
We are very happy to see that you really enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Best Regards
Claudianne Camphin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

This is a budget hotel and you pay budget prices so it should be reviewed as such. It sits outside the town centre, convenient for the ferries/tunnel but only a 4 minute easy drive to a large supermarket. It has a bar and a basic restaurant reasonably priced. The car park is security fenced but not gated. However the area seems safe and the hotel is manned 24/7. On arrival the receptionist was friendly and the check-in was only a few minutes. The room is basic but big bed, TV (no english on the channel guide) and very good free wifi. The log in offers ultra fast for 2.99 euros but the 3 speed test for free was over 9 mbps. The bathroom is basic and a bit tatty but it is clean. One bad thing is that the doors do not reduce corridor noise. Better seals and even a few signs reminding people to be quiet could improve things.
In summary, a good stop-over hotel with safe parking and friendly english speaking staff.

Room tip: Odd numbers probably quietest but main noise is from corridor.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank john2445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudianne C, Directeur général at Ibis Calais, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear John2445 ,

Thank You very much for your kind feedback about your stay with us.
We are delighted to see that you were satisfied about your stay , about the TV Channel we do have BBC WORLD which is noted on the list (channel n°38 on the list).
We take note of the noise in the corridor and we'll try to fix it , our hotel is to be refurbished before the end of the year so we'll change the seals and we'll see for putting signs reminding people to be quiet.
Best Regards
Claudianne Camphin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

This is a very long established Ibis hotel. I first stayed here 35 years ago. We stayed here on our way home from a holiday in France and Switzerland and it is very convenient for the car ferries, only about 10 minutes away. The staff were excellent and the room was up to the usual Ibis standard for furnishings and cleanliness. However.....Our room was very hot and 'air-less'. This hotel does not have air-conditioning and our room was on the ground floor which precluded our sleeping with the window wide open for security reasons. Furthermore the nearby exterior security lights meant that it was essential that the curtains were kept closed. So we experienced a very uncomfortable night. Fans were available from reception, but we only realised the need well into the night.This hotel does have a well-stocked bar with an excellent Belgian 'craft' beer on draught . This is unusual for Ibis which otherwise seem to offer only Heineken of Kronenbourg. The restaurant menu was disappointing. The choice was very limited; made worse by steak being unavailable. However we had no complaints about the quality nor service. Breakfast was the usual Ibis buffet style...no complaints.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank PaulKStowmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudianne C, Directeur général at Ibis Calais, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear PaulKStowmarket;

Thank You very much for your kind words about your stay with us.
As for the heat you could have come to the reception even late in the night as we have a night staff available at reception , he would have given you a fan if you wanted to and this regardless of the time.
We are very sorry that you didn't have a good night because of the heat.
Best Regards

Claudianne Camphin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

The only reason for this hotel is that it is very close to the ferry terminal and convenient for the Channel Tunnel. There is plenty of free parking both at the hotel and in the surrounding streets. As we had a very early ferry departure the next day, the fact the ferry terminal is only a few minutes easy drive away was very welcome.

It was a little off-putting to be phoned whilst on the motorway on arrival day and told that, in spite of having booked online including providing my credit card details, I would have to give them again over the phone if we were not arriving before 6pm or lose the reservation - something that is very difficult to do whilst driving, and which I refused to do! Fortunately we got there about 5pm.

Having said that, the welcome when we got there was friendly and the rooms are to the usual Ibis standard so you know beforehand what to expect. The restaurant is actually better than some Ibis that we have stayed at and was friendly, helpful and reasonably priced so we were pleased we'd opted to stay in the hotel to eat. We'll certainly stay again when taking the ferry.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudianne C, Directeur général at Ibis Calais, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Stuart S,

Thank You for your very kind feedback about your stay in our hotel.

About the credit card we are sorry for that but as we have to guarantee the rooms we need a credit card number.

We are very happy to see that you had a very nice welcome when arriving and you enjoyed your stay.

Best Regards

Claudianne Camphin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Small room, no tea or coffee, the shower looks dirty (yellow around the shower). No lift, we have 4 months daughter and the dog but they gave us the room on the second floor. How this hotel could get 3 stars??!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Joanna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudianne C, Directeur général at Ibis Calais, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Joanna Z,
Thank You for your feedback about your stay, we are sorry to see that it didn't meet your expectations.
About the fact that we have no lift you should have asked for a room on the ground floor , for the tea or cofee in the room we do provide kettles at the reception you should have asked it as well.
Best Regards
Claudianne Camphin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews