We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
20
15
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
15
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large pool tennis courts great location local area pillows seafront euros bikes facilities children august site
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2017

The BAD – I’m going to start with the bad because quite often people don’t read the whole review and I think this bit is important. On checking out of the hotel we were asked to pay 60 Euros for cleaning. This was never mentioned when we checked in or when we booked. Apparently its standard practice but I have never come across it before in any property anywhere in the world. So be aware.
Secondly, on the third night of our holiday there was a storm, after that night there was a dreadful smell of sewage in our toilet, which was an internal room with no windows, only a small ineffective fan. The maintenance people came twice and both times said they couldn’t smell anything. They either have no sense of smell what so ever or they were lying so they wouldn’t have to do anything. I feel sorry for the people who moved in after us. I have never before looked forward to coming home to use my toilet!
Third thing, the internet was extra which we knew before we arrived however we did not know it only gave Wifi usage for one device which means if you have more than one child they have to take turns.
THE GOOD – lovely setting with great facilities. My boys loved the football pitch and tennis courts, which we were not charged extra for. Neither were we charged extra for the safe. It’s a lovely quiet spot with bike hire on site. The pool was lovely and clean with plenty of sun beds.
If the cleaning fee had been included in the money I paid upfront I would not have minded but to add it on as we were leaving felt sneaky and dishonest, especially as we had left the rooms very clean and tidy. With regard to the toilet if they had admitted there was a smell and promised us they were looking into it my review would have been different. But because of these things which did have an impact on our otherwise lovely holiday I am leaving less stars than I would like to.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joanna584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

I have stayed here for 10 years
An excellent place especially for young children mine now 18,18,and 16 still look forward to St Jean
Now if you want wild music and party nights go elsewhere but if you want to relax know your children are safe ( cars are not allowed near the houses and are parked in front of the building) so the small ones can safely meander around the site on their bicycles visit the website to see the layout yourself Sylvie and Pierre run a Good ship here I strongly recommend this place that's why I keep returning

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank gearoidg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

We visited Le Victoria at the end of June and have nothing but praise for the place. The whole facility is beautifully maintained, and very clean. There appeared to have been a lot of money spent on the site recently as all the sunbeds and parasols around the pool were new and the house that we stayed in had been renovated (including a new kitchen and patio furniture). The fact that the site is car free is a real bonus with small children as they can run about freely. There are carts that can be used to get luggage, shopping etc to and from the car-park, but the site isn't very big so its not an onerous task. We rented bikes (complete with bike seats and helmets for the children) and cycled all over Saint Jean de Monts. Its a lovely 10 minute ride to the beach, through the woods, and there are cycle lanes everywhere, making cycling a great way of getting around the town. The swimming pool is lovely, our children had a great time splashing about and hubby was pleased that his swim-shorts were allowed - hooray! (There is a sign up saying that only 'proper' swimwear is acceptable, so no normal shorts, but swim-shorts were fine). le Victoria is also nicely positioned for visiting attractions, of which there are many.

Accommodation:
We had a 3 bedroom apartment which was plenty big enough for 4 adults and 2 children. The beds were comfortable (can't vouch for pillows as we always take our own!), there were plenty of cups, bowls etc. There was a kettle and toaster which was a nice touch in a French site. There is also a 4 ring hob, sizeable fridge/freezer, microwave and coffee machine. The beds were made on arrival and plenty of towels were provided. We particularly loved the fact that each house had a private garden. The gardens are separated from each other/public areas with hedges so they feel like a very personal space and mean you can sit outside without having the awkward moment of your neighbours sitting right next to you!

Cons: no oven or grill (the microwave is combi so does limited grilling), the BBQ was disappointing, quite small and electric. No tea towel or dishcloth provided. The WiFi (chargeable) only works on one device at a time, which is disappointing, especially when you've paid for it. The connection was good though.

Facilities:
Tennis, boules, table tennis, football, basketball (all included). Bike hire at very reasonable rates, Children's playground, swimming pool (heated) and toddler pool, games room, bar.

Cons; no onsite shop for buying fresh bread etc in the mornings.

The staff were very helpful. The one thing I would say to people travelling from outside the Eurozone is that the deposit is only accepted in cash, and as this deposit is returned on departure you might want to take the £200 with you in £ (they accept payment in euros or pounds) as otherwise you'll be left with £200 worth of euros to take home with you.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel_Erin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Great spot, about 50 houses quite close to each other but with small garden. Large pool & large kids pool (40cm deep). Play garden for kids also available.
The parc is car-free but there are barrows available for transport
Suppose that it can be very crowded in july-august but beginning of september, believe about 7 houses were taken.
Bikes for rent, forest nearby allows you to go to the beach or town by foot or bike (about 2km).
Bar next to the pool has some Belgian beers to :-) :-).
Staff is (to French standards) ok.
Point of disagreement: cleaning cost is badly indicated, had to pay surplus.
Internet access is provided by external party, and allows you only to have 1 connection at the time. In 2014 this is unacceptable

Room Tip: Large houses are better, have kind of private garden, suppose place can be very crowded in july/august so if you have young kids, try june/september
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Comerenkwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We've been to Le Victoria numerous times over the last 10 years - says it all. Great find, would highly recommend, particularly for families with young kids (under 14). Entertainment during high season is quite low key, but good and there's no pressure. All facilities such as tennis, football, table tennis, volleyball are all free. Pool is lovely. Accommodation is nice and simple, but perfectly acceptable. Well maintained all round. The prices are very reasonable - you pay the equivalent for a caravan at Haven/Eurocamp/Siblu, but with no extras to pay for facilities, and none of the "Brits Abroad" that you can sometimes find in those larger places. Around 55 villas, in safe secure grounds. Local area great for fantastic beach, shops, restaurants, cycling, chateaux, and a whole range of activities such as golf, tree adventure, velo rail, quad bikes, etc, etc. If you go, make sure you go to the old Chi Chi Shop at 13 Avenue Demoiselles for the best chi chis and great value burgers. Also, if eating out, try La Bolee and Le Colonial both on the Esplanade. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews