We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
18
48
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
48
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family room star hotel old building small hotel one night meat beds garden noise bath reception breakfast street
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We stayed at the Hotel Notre Dame as a convenient location for viewing the Paris Roubaix bike race which passes through nearby Arenberg. It was a good choice both for the race and for exploring Valenciennes as it is just five minutes or so on foot from the main square. Very typically French in style, our first floor double room, reached by a curved staircase, was very large and clean with a suitably large double bed. The bedroom furniture was a mix of styles but functional, though the lighting was poor. In contrast the bathroom was very well lit and had a large bath tub but only a hand held shower head. Unfortunately I couldn’t get any English speaking channels on the TV but this was a minor inconvenience. Breakfast was limited but sufficient and good value for money. The hotel doesn’t serve evening meals but the very helpful lady on reception kindly pointed us in the direction of a local restaurant which was excellent and who found us a table on a busy Saturday night despite not having a reservation. Overall we found the Hotel Notre Dame well suited to our needs and would have no hesitation in returning should we be in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NorthumberlandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

after some of the negative comments our 4 day stay was a pleasent surprise . the room was clean and well equiped , staff were friendlly and helpful . The bar and dining rooms were very well decorated and the food was excellent . You could not ask for much more .

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patdavies452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We had booked a night as the price and location were good. We weren't worried about the 2star rating as only wanted a bed. On opening the room door we were extremely surprised- in a very good way! A spacious, extremely clean and comfortable room awaited. Staff were welcoming and friendly and there were even hot options at breakfast. This far exceeded expectations and would happily visit again!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

According to the room you might get, your night might be different, but even for the smaller room, there is everything you need to get a studious evening of work (there is free wifi and desk in every room) and an (almost) quiet night to recover. The breakfast is good except and if you don't eat dairy-product, eggs or meat, you can still get some fruits, whole bread, applesauce & corn flakes. The managers of the hotel and their team are super nice and always here to help if you need advice on shopping, activities, beer bar (yes, Valenciennes has some nice place to hang out with colleagues if you like beers), a restaurant or even any delivery foods services, so don't feel affraid to ask. Everything is super affordable and you are right in the inner center of Valenciennes, so if you put aside the few flaws it can get, it's really a bargain.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed here on a work trip. The hotel is quite easy to get to but parking is not very good. We ended up parking up near the roundabout between the two lanes of traffic. The staff are very helpful and speak a little English.
I stayed in one of the superior rooms. I’m not sure on the standard rooms but this room was on the ground floor and unfortunately you can hear every time someone walks overhead or flushes the loo etc. The room it’s self was comfy enough. The bed was comfy and plenty of room around it. The bathroom was a little bit disappointing. The bath had a shower head attached to the bath taps and was situated very low. I had to kneel to wash my hair.
Breakfast was not too bad as I’m used to English breakfasts. The bacon was a bit fatty for my liking but better than a lot of places in Europe. The machine for coffee dispensed hot chocolate not cappuccino as requested.
The garden was very nice and it made a change to have somewhere to relax outside.

Room Tip: don't pick the ground floor rooms
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pokeiarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews