We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely place with lovely Host.”
The medieval chateau tower
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The medieval chateau tower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
The medieval chateau tower
Dining room sitting area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rodez, Aveyron, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

FarAway52...
1 review
“A lovely place with lovely Host.”
Reviewed 18 June 2019 for a stay in June 2019

Very good situation closest to Rodez on a very quiet village.
The donjon is warmly, the equipments and the beds are comfortables.
Beautiful garden with a spa and a swimming pool available.
If we come back un Rodez, we know where to go!

Un accueil chaleureux dans un endroit atypique, pour un rapport qualité-prix excellent, très bonne surprise!

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meander28...
1 review
“Live like Royalty near Rodez”
Reviewed 24 May 2019 for a stay in June 2018

We were blessed to be able to stay at the Chateau de Balsac in June of 2019. At the time the new owners had only recent taken possession and we stayed in the Gitte that used to be the Castle Keep. The Gitte is like its own mini castle with multiple bedrooms, baths and a living room/dining area. The owners Roland and Malena were gracious enough to give us a tour of the full Chateau and tell us about the history of the building and their plans for renovation. It is really fascinating especially to see hidden passageways and to see where there was an internal water source in the event they were under siege. Where we stayed, the Castle Keep would have been where guards would have stayed on the lower level. You could see the areas where arrows would have been shot from as well as the old bathroom drop places. It was very Game of Thrones and my young adult sons loved it.
The Chateau’s location is a great place for doing different day trips and we really felt like we were going back in time and keeping the same GOT themes. We visited a Knights Templar Site at La Couvertoirade, driving from the Chateau you get to drive over the Milau Bridge. With an engineer husband and one aspiring engineer son being able to see old construction that has stood the test of time and brand new construction was fascinating. We did other day trips to see gorgeous villages along the Lot river. Another Day we visited Najac that is one of my favorite villages every because each area seems to represent a different time period. The best thing about the Aveyron area where the Chateau is located is that it is still largely undiscovered. This was my fourth trip to France and I’ve done the Provence region which is overrun by tourists even in the off season. Then Dordogne, which is slightly less crowded, but Averyon is, I think even more beautiful but it seems like only French natives vacation here. There is this designation in France called the Most Beautiful village, I guess it is like a Unesco heritage site and the Aveyron region has more of these than anywhere else. Plus because it isn’t that known, they don’t seem to have the inflated tourist pricing at restaurants like they do in some other parts of France.
We had planned to do even more day trips but we ended up just hanging out at the Chateau some days. Because we had a full kitchen we’d get great food from the local market in Rodez (it’s incredible) grab some wine and then would hang out outside and watch the baby goats play and look at the view. There is only one restaurant in town and it was fabulous. It was like eating Thanksgiving dinner and I think it was maybe like 14 Euros for multiple courses and wine. After we all took naps. A couple of other days of day trips I had planned kind of got scratched in favor of day time drinking with goats, which really wasn’t a bad thing. Looking out over the incredible view you really did feel like you were the kind or Queen of the Castle. We are already planning to go back and I would highly recommend it to anyone .

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest0875...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I liked the views from the chateau, hikes at the plateau's edge, and the hospitality.”
Reviewed 19 May 2019 for a stay in March 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of 4 occupied the Gite, which has a kitchenette and laundry on its first floor, two spacious bedrooms and a bath on its second floor, and two more bedrooms and a bath on its third floor. Even though outdoor temperatures were nippy in early Spring, the rooms were toasty with radiator heat. I was impressed with the lighting and internet accessibility throughout. The showers had good water pressure and plenty of hot water. For supper we enjoyed a quiche made from local fresh eggs, and a beautiful variety of local cheeses and Marcillac wines.
I most enjoyed the countryside views from the chateau, the scenic hike we took at the edge of the Balsac plateau, and the hospitality. My daughter was amused by the sheep, goats, and chickens constantly being herded by an enthusiastic boarder collie.

Date of stay: March 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful stay at a historic chateau.”
Reviewed 19 May 2019 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is surely a find. The chateau is beautiful with a lot of history. If you want to know all about it while you are there, just ask Roland. He has done extensive research about its history and is more than happy to share. Both Malana and Roland are ready to engage with their guests or totally give you the space to relax and enjoy the wonderful grounds. We opted to have a few meals at the chateau that were beautifully prepared and absolutely delicious. The countryside is breathtaking. Balsac is a small village and you will feel totally removed. Or if you prefer you can be in Rodez in no time where you can find city life. There are also plenty of picturesque villages in close proximity as well as Michelin star restaurant. We can't wait to go back this coming September.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic Beauty in the French Countryside”
Reviewed 19 May 2019 for a stay in April 2019
1
person found this review helpful

I recently spent a week at the Chateau and had a great time. Located in Aveyron Department, it's conveniently located in the Southeast of France and is within a short drive of everything I was looking for during my trip; the Riviera, numerous fairy-tale medieval villages and the incredible Millau Viaduct. The village of Balsac is small but located within a 5-minute drive of the Rodez airport and 15 minutes of the town of Rodez, so you are connected to all the conveniences of modern life while enjoying the remoteness of the village itself.

The Chateau dates to the 12th century and is a wonderful example of tasteful, historical restoration. The rooms have been renovated to provide essential modern conveniences while maintaining their historical character. They are large, the furnishings are appropriate and tasteful, and the bathrooms are comfortable and well appointed. There is ample room for storage and closets or armoires are provided.

The grounds are large and provide several different experiences ranging from a private area by the pool to a large common yard. There is a small contingent of friendly livestock consisting of goats and sheep, each with a unique story and personality. The herding dog is a joy to watch as she tends to the flock and provides a bit of entertainment.

The hosts are knowledgeable, friendly and speak multiple languages. They are also well connected within the community and can help with setting up reservations at some of the local restaurants (including several Michelin-starred venues) or outings at the local attractions.

I thoroughly enjoy my time there and look forward to a return visit.

Date of stay: April 2019
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.