We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous fondue”
Review of Le Cellier

Le Cellier
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

We’ve eaten here every time we come to font Romeu and the fondue has never failed to impress. Great staff although the man behind the bar (I assume the owner) was not very friendly when, on one occasion due to a delayed flight, half our party didn’t make it in time (despite the fact that they immediately filled the tables). This week we had some steaks instead and they cut like butter, served with beautiful sauces. No salad or veg which was a disappointing and only a few chips, but the quality of the meat was excellent.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank charlpye21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Our first night out in Font-Romeu and we’d forgotten to book anywhere. Although it was still early at 7pm, the restaurant was fully booked. Looking at my tired kids and the look of despair on my face at the thought of not being able to eat, the manager quickly explained that if we would order and eat quickly, he could fit us in.
We did as we were told and weren’t disappointed. The kids’ pizzas and spaghetti were great, my snails were awesome, and the service was spot on.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Y5784BPnickw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Salade Nicoise with tinned tuna and tinned beans at the height of summer!! Salad was poor with tasteless tomatoes which takes some doing in France

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Stopped off at Font Romeu for lunch after catching le Petit Train Jaune from Villefranche. After a 20 min hike up from the station in hot May sunshine we reached the centre. Alas we found no restaurants open! In desperation we popped into the Gendarmerie who advised us to try Le Cellier. A great find. Sitting outside on the sun trap terrace, we had superb pizzas and a Salade verte between us which was enormous, plus a very generous assiette de frites, which was much more than two of us could handle. To top it off a few bottles of Estrella which made for a relaxing trip back through the mountains on the fantastic value 1€ bus. Would return.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank P4760PKgregb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

we went there with kids. Good that they had table without reservation. We ordered steak hache and bolognaise for kids-very good. Steak was even well done as we asked, which is very unusual here. Pizza: there was misunderstanding and finally I got my pizza when family ate their desert..
If like pizza -go there.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Flora2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cellier also viewed

Font-Romeu-Odeillo-Via, Pyrenees-Orientales
Font-Romeu-Odeillo-Via, Pyrenees-Orientales
 
Font-Romeu-Odeillo-Via, Pyrenees-Orientales
Font-Romeu-Odeillo-Via, Pyrenees-Orientales
 
Font-Romeu-Odeillo-Via, Pyrenees-Orientales
Bolquere, Pyrenees-Orientales
 

Been to Le Cellier? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing