We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Brilliant Location, Great for the Kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunelia L'Escale St-Gilles

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benodet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunelia L'Escale St-Gilles
portsmouth
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Brilliant Location, Great for the Kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We have just returned from our holiday at Camping De La Pointe St Gilles with our 2 children (aged 7 & almost 2) which was really good and thoroughly enjoyed by all.

The site is in a great location, with a 20-30 minute walk in to Benodet and the entrance is approx 30 meters from a small sandy beach with rocks either side which are ideal for rock pooling at low tide. The beach only seems to be used by the site residents and even during the afternoon on the sunniest day of the week it wasn't overly crowded. we also we very close to the pool and entertainment facility's, we didn't have much interaction with the reps which didn't concern me too much as its not Club 18-30 and im an adult who can organise my own life

We took some advice from an earlier post on here which mentioned cutting out the middle man (key/euro camp) and booking direct with sunelia. Not only was it much cheaper (a chalet/caravan with sunelia was the same price as a tent with other travel agency's) but their accommodation wasn't as crammed in as the others. As we booked with a French agency, we got French accommodation, so no kettle for tea but a coffee percolator, oyster knife and lobster cracker! we like to "go native" when on holiday so none of this was a problem for us.

The pool is fabulous with something for everyone, our kids loved it. Its only down side would be there are not enough sun loungers for the amount of guests, although when i went down to the pool to wait for it to open at around 0950 and secured our beds for the day with no problems.

We only went to the evening entertainment a few times mainly for our eldest, who thoroughly enjoyed it. The bar did seem expensive at around 5 Euro's for a pint but as we didn't try any other bars in town, i have no basis for comparison. The music from the bar was quite loud if we were trying to get the kids to bed early and did mt more difficult to get them to sleep

The local carrefour supermarket has plenty of cheap wine & Beers and the local sea food is also cheap, otherwise it is more expensive than your average Tesco/Asda. one family we spoke to did say they had been to the Netto (about 5 km out of town) which was much better priced.

The whole site is spotless and we would have no hesitation in booking this holiday again

Room Tip: Dont throw your towels over the fence on to the sunbeds before the pool opens, the pool attendant wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jimbobsquarepants1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    158
    79
    27
    24
See reviews for
321
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Overall the park is great, shop is good, pool is amazing, bar expensive but nice, restaurant is average. Site and caravan were very clean, only negatives were that the caravan was under equipped for me, I got there and there was no means to cook, just a job, no grill, oven, toaster or BBQ. I even had to request a kettle. Granted they broughta kettle and small table top oven round, but I had to ask for it. I also ordered bedding and towels too and I had to request them, they weren't there on arrival which was slightly annoying.

For me the camp site itself was a little crammed, tents just a couple of foot away from our caravan, with very noisy campers. So close They even kept me awake when the actually went to bed as I could hear them snoring! Apart from that the site was brilliant and a seasoned camper may not have noticed these little things. Let's say I was glad to get to my hotel in Le Touquet on the way back !

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajwilkinson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Cannot think of anything wrong with Sunelia! The bar is good, although expensive compared to in town but theres a really good atmosphere, the staff are very friendly and very helpful and speak excellent english.I was staying with family and friends, aged 12 to age 40 and everyone was catered for. The pool wasn't very deep by the lazy river and the slides were brilliant and the water was clean. The beach is literally right infront of you. Theres loads to do and you really cannot fault the place, definitely going back again!
The bar staff were a good laugh and the music was brilliant, they've always got activities including family activities quizzes karaoke's club/disco nights etc, theres always something different going on so you're never bored, even water aerobics!

The matteres were a bit thin, and although we had two showers you could only use one at a time so it was pretty pointless and there was no room service but tour reps did come round regularly to check you were enjoying your stay and to answer any questions.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have just returned from a week here at this campsite during a 3 week saty in France. we stayed at 4 campsites overall and I have to say this was outstanding. Spotless Clean.. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Keycamp/Eurocamp staff were amazing and the Kids clubs Macs Funstation for our 7 year old and Base for our 12 year old were just brilliant for them. The children were so happy at this site. The pool complex is fantastic ( indoor pool floor slippy beware).. indoor and outdoor pools were warm and spacious. We had a pitch for our own caravan which is a big twin wheel, and we had no problems with these pitches and they had plenty of space for awning, Jeep ect ... We are going to return next year for 2 weeks to this site. Brilliant facilities as we have a 10month old baby who loved it also.. Baby baths in the nursery and baby facilities were lovely. All round I cannot fault this campsite....Oh and check out the Pain Du Raisins in the shop fresh every morning yummy !!!! 10 / 10

Room Tip: we had a caravan pitch 100mtr x 100mtr . Very spacious and we had amazing sea views. private seperat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carrief65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We went with Canvas Holidays to this site and met up with our Daughter and family. Our Granddaughter grazed the back of her leg getting out of the pool as it had rough stone edges, quite bad when you consider how many children use it. It was expensive to eat and drink, would recommend going off site. The bike hire not too good, the pedal fell off one of the bikes on the 2nd day! Also a lot of parents just let their children ride anywhere they want regardless of age and although the speed limit is 10 m.p.h. there have been several accidents this year. On the plus side you are only a 5 minute walk from the beach and it is a lovely walk into the centre of Benodet along the sea front.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benodet
1.9 km away
Armoric Hotel
Armoric Hotel
#1 of 11 in Benodet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.1 km away
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Corniche de la Plage
12.5 km away
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Yelloh Village Port de Plaisance
Yelloh Village Port de Plaisance
#1 of 1 in Clohars-Fouesnant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.4 km away
Residence Les Jardins d'Arvor
5.5 km away
Camping Sunelia L'Atlantique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunelia L'Escale St-Gilles? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunelia L'Escale St-Gilles

Property: Sunelia L'Escale St-Gilles
Address: Corniche de la Mer, 29950 Benodet, France (Formerly Camping De La Pointe St Gilles)
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Benodet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Benodet
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunelia L'Escale St-Gilles 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star campsite is ideally located in Benodet (South Brittany), facing the Glenan Islands and close to the Odet river. Choose between one of our luxury and comfortable accommodations or prefer one of our touring pitches, nestled in a 9-acre green setting. Have fun in our indoor and outdoor swimming-pools or prefer to get away from it all with a moment of deep relaxation in our spa! Food services (take-away, restaurant, bar) and shop available on site! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping De La Pointe St Gilles Hotel Benodet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing