We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect writing retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
South facing with sun and shade
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South facing with sun and shade
Heated Pool with shade and sun Fully compliant fence
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
South facing with sun and shade
Heated Pool with shade and sun
Fully compliant fence
Easy access for all to the pool
Local restaurant on the river Dronne
Plenty of space for all
Papillon well equipped kitchen
Papillon vaulted lounge
It's magical....
As you arrive at La Roche Chabrelle
Papillon vaulted lounge
Local cafe/bistro under the chateau
Cave with table football and table tennis
Fully enclosed garden for animals and children!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Brantome, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
TheWelshT...
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect writing retreat”
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Just back from a months stay at Papillon. Perfect setting for our writing work. Peace and quiet for a whole month in a well equipped gite. The private garden was a boon as we were able to work outside on the patio until fairly late at night. Swimming pool was great on the hot days to cool off in the evening. Charlie and Pam were great hosts, left you to your own devices or there if with help/suggestions of needed. Some fantastic walks locally, nearby towns and villages with their own markets, in fact if you wished you could visit a market almost every day of the week. Recommend St Astier market on a Thursday. The local village La Tour Blanche was wonderful for daily needs - boulangerie and boucherie as well as a little shop for provisions and a market on a Wednesday, particularly liked the fruit and legume seller on the market, they were very helpful and their produce was superb.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Get away from it all in these peaceful surroundings yet lots to do on your doorstep”
Reviewed 4 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Well equipped gite with all mod cons - washing machine, fridge freezer, dishwasher constant hot water, BBQ, WiFi .
Friendly hosts without being intrusive.
Lots to do for children - as well as heated pool there is walking, cycling, canoeing and lots of places to visit - pretty villages.
If you like wildlife - plenty of birds - we also saw wild deer. Lovely flowers in May especially orchids.
Have been here several times before and always feel that our cares are washed away from the moment we arrive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Look forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan w
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“La France Profonde!”
Reviewed 31 May 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The spot on the rocks where this gite nestles makes links with the origins of time, and from the otside as I parked my car on coming "home" every day I saw a welcoming hobbit style home. Once inside I could carry out my tasks with ease as the house is all on one level, so half an hour a day and all the cleaning etc was over with.
The enclosed garden was a delight, and I sat out in March when the rain stopped and watched the changing face of nature, the blossom, birds and leaves unfurling.
From this hilltop posiiton I could walk in all directions and revel in the marvels of our world and my dogs could jump, swim and play freely as there were few cars and a stream with a french washing post at the bottom of the hill. Me too, I got to swim in early May as the pool had been warmed by the solar panels.
I enjoyed shopping in Lisle and Verteillac and bought an unusual butter dish (involving upside down butter in water) at the monthly brocante in La Tour Blanche.
My hosts were invisible unless gardening but were on hand when I struggled with a sickness bug to bring me the right cure, they were a pleasure to know.
This was an area of the Dordogne I had not visited before and I will certainly return and perhaps buy my own piece of peace.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2018
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure sharing our paradise with you.

Pam & Charlie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W
Aldridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful location with many places to visit.”
Reviewed 21 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The gíte itself is lovely, well equipped and has everything you could want.
Generous welcome pack of essentials, friendly welcome from Pam and Charlie and full explanation of everything thing you need to know to enjoy your holiday and find everything you need in the gíte. After this they were easy to contact and were there if we needed them.
In January and February most places are very quiet, very few attractions open, however this did not spoil our visits as we explored the local towns and villages and wonderful Romanesque churches, camera in hand!
We also spent sometime each day exploring the woods and paths around the gíte with our dog who had a wonderful time! Feeding the local horses and donkeys carrots was just part of the daily routine.
Weather was mixed, rain, fog, ice and snow and even a little sunshine. It didn't matter . Loved the area and the gíte. Would love to return one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2018
Thank you for your comments and are happy that you had a great stay. We hope to see you again another year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Been many times before and really enjoy the tranquil surroundings.”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

St Just is set in a lovely quiet area with walks from the door. 30 mins away are the villages of Brantome(for canoeing perhaps) and St Astier where you can catch the train to Perigeaux or Bordeaux. The famous cliff side towns of the Dorgogne river are about an hours drive away and the roads are so good it is a pleasure to drive through the scenic countryside.
Gite itself has good facilities - washing machine, fridge, freezer, dishwasher,comfy beds. Also BBQ. Shared swimming pool, solar heated so usually warm.
Hosts are very friendly without being intrusive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Pam & Charlie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing