We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place, shame some aspects are redolent of dodgy airport hotels!”
Review of Chateau de Brindos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau de Brindos
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Anglet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2009

I'm a little surprised at all the excellent reviews, as most of the guests seemed less than impressed, and comments from friends in the area (including a couple who had celebrated a wedding there) hinted at poor service.
It's a beautiful place, the setting is wonderful, and the rooms are, to be fair, excellent. Service, unfortunately, is friendly but ineffectual. We were very happy about the hotel on arrival, then disappointed to learn that, contrary to statements in the Relais et Chateaux guide, they do not offer a children's programme. Just a minor setback. But the etra bed (in reality, not much more than a camp bed) we had for our 5 year-old was so flimsy and creaked so loudly that all 3 of us slept badly for the whole week, despite the otherwise peaceful setting. Toiletries were not replenished even once in the 6 nights we stayed. One day, we had only two bath towels, instead of the 3 we usually had, (or 4 which most hotels in this category lay out). I had previously seen a complaint on this site about the foam pillows, which I originally thought was a bit of nitpicking, but they are really uncomfortable, huge, horrid, pillows stuffed with hard little lumps of shredded foam!
We were severely jet-lagged and slept in late every morning, which meant we did not show up for breakfast for the first 3 days. We were, however, charged (and at a rate far higher than advertised) for it. To their credit, the charges were removed when we complained. In any case, breakfast was not great - items in the buffet took ages to be replenished, our table was twice set with dirty cups, and the food was just not that great. The food at dinner was better, and desserts were excellent, but quantities were very small (which was not the case when we ordered a snack by the pontoon), and small problems such as missing cutlery and delays in wine service (all of which took a long time to sort out) put a damper on an on an otherwise pleasant evening.
The lack of knowledge displayed by the staff was disappointing. They lend guests boots for a walk around the lake, so we asked about the walk, how long it took and where to find the path. Answers ranged from "2 and 1/2 hours" to "it can't be completed due to construction on the other side". We decided to see how far we got, and are glad we did, as we spent a very nice half hour walking all the way around the lake with our son, who stopped every other minute to collect pine cones, acorns, leaves, and other bric-a-brac until his arms could no longer hold them, with no sign of construction whatsoever...
It's really a stunning place, the pictures do it justice, but a little training and a little investment could go such a long way!
One very positive point: all the children and many of the adults loved the ducks!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2009

We spent 4 days at the Château with our two teenager sons. We really liked everything about our stay: this was another Relais & Châteaux full hit!

First, the location was very quiet and romantic, close to a lake and optimally located to explore the region (Biarritz, Bayonne, St-Jean-de-Lutz etc.). We were a bit worried about the location being so close to the airport, but this was really no issue at all: during the day you could hear a few big jets taking off, but in the evening and - most importantly - during the night it was perfectly quiet.

Second, the rooms were large, stylish and well equipped. We were particularly impressed by the bathrooms of both our connecting double rooms: spacious, excellent materials and functional. The main building was impressive too, with a nicely decorated main saloon with very high roof: a great place to enjoy some evening readings and drink a tea after the dinner.

Third, service was excellent, the staff genuinely committed to help us in whatever matter to make the stay as pleasant as possible. A potential small hicup with the laundry service (the laundry service is outsourced, and they don't work on Sundays) was solved by hotel employees jumping in and personally making sure our laundry was delivered by Sunday evening.

Fourth, the restaurant was very good (and reasonably good value) provided you're not staying more than 4 evenings (meal choice is fair, but quite limited). Excellent and speedy service, highly flexible with special requests and pleasant setting, with a nice view on the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lupoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

This is a dream location set in wonderful gardens. Our room was spacious and luxurious with french doors opening onto lawns down to the lake. Marble bathroom, robes, slippers, candle. The gardens are beautiful. We loved the experience of an evening meal overlooking the lake. The porter made sure that our room was prepard early so that we could check in much earlier than the stated time.
If we'd had longer we would have sampled the lovely outdoor swimming pool area, hammam and gym.
Downside: we booked this hotel because of an advertised airport shuttle but there doesn't seem to be one now. The hotel is slightly isolated so you need a hire car or to use taxis. The air conditioning wasn't working when we were there, and we were told that the technician would fix it. As we were on the ground floor it didn't seem safe to open the french doors at night to get air. The restaurant doesn't open until 7.45 and is highly priced, however the food was good. Next time I'll take a few snacks.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Rose2009_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

Large sunny room overlooking the lake.
Excellent facilities in the room.
Tremendous breakfast to set you up for the day,in the dining room which is on the lakeside.
Need a car but not far to many restaurants.
Did not dine in hotel restaurant as it seemed over fussy for my tastes.
Dinner would have been expensive but that wasn't the issue.It was just too formal.
If you can book this hotel on a good deal,then go for it.
So peaceful and classy

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RedTedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2007

By a superb private lake and in the quietest environment I have come across in a long time (and I've hardly ever slept so well), Chateau de Brindos is a very nice 4 star hotel featuring large sunny rooms, a dedicated staff and a great restaurant close to Biarritz. Room service is limited, though, and so are the fitness facilities. A hearty buffy breakfast is served by the lake every morning.

You will definitely need a car, for the hotel is a little remote. Yet, it is located about 5 minutes away from Biarritz centre and beaches, 15 minutes away from Bayonne and 25 minutes away from Saint Jean de Luz, all worthy local attractions.

Overall, this was a great 3 days romantic getaway with my wife: the hotel was great, the region was great, and we definitely enjoyed the whole experience.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nico1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anglet
3.6 km away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
6.5 km away
Atlanthal
Atlanthal
#1 of 13 in Anglet
685 reviews
12.5 km away
Hotel Parc Victoria
Hotel Parc Victoria
#2 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#2 of 64 in Biarritz
1,114 reviews
1.7 km away
Novotel Resort & Spa Biarritz Anglet
1.9 km away
Le Chateau du Clair de Lune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Brindos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Brindos

Address: 1 Allee du Chateau, 64600 Anglet, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Anglet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Anglet
Price Range: ₹ 10,248 - ₹ 20,191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Brindos 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Basque Coast, close to the Biarritz Beaches, the Château is tucked awayin the heart of lush greenery near the calm waters of the largest private lakes in France. The Hôtel gives its guests a unique, warm reception and offers elegant cuisine with original flavours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de Brindos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Brindos Hotel Anglet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing