We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau de Brindos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau de Brindos
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Anglet
Certificate of Excellence
Swiss
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Classy and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

We spent 4 days at the Château with our two teenager sons. We really liked everything about our stay: this was another Relais & Châteaux full hit!

First, the location was very quiet and romantic, close to a lake and optimally located to explore the region (Biarritz, Bayonne, St-Jean-de-Lutz etc.). We were a bit worried about the location being so close to the airport, but this was really no issue at all: during the day you could hear a few big jets taking off, but in the evening and - most importantly - during the night it was perfectly quiet.

Second, the rooms were large, stylish and well equipped. We were particularly impressed by the bathrooms of both our connecting double rooms: spacious, excellent materials and functional. The main building was impressive too, with a nicely decorated main saloon with very high roof: a great place to enjoy some evening readings and drink a tea after the dinner.

Third, service was excellent, the staff genuinely committed to help us in whatever matter to make the stay as pleasant as possible. A potential small hicup with the laundry service (the laundry service is outsourced, and they don't work on Sundays) was solved by hotel employees jumping in and personally making sure our laundry was delivered by Sunday evening.

Fourth, the restaurant was very good (and reasonably good value) provided you're not staying more than 4 evenings (meal choice is fair, but quite limited). Excellent and speedy service, highly flexible with special requests and pleasant setting, with a nice view on the lake.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lupoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    98
    38
    25
    8
See reviews for
65
301
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, Leicestershire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

This is a dream location set in wonderful gardens. Our room was spacious and luxurious with french doors opening onto lawns down to the lake. Marble bathroom, robes, slippers, candle. The gardens are beautiful. We loved the experience of an evening meal overlooking the lake. The porter made sure that our room was prepard early so that we could check in much earlier than the stated time.
If we'd had longer we would have sampled the lovely outdoor swimming pool area, hammam and gym.
Downside: we booked this hotel because of an advertised airport shuttle but there doesn't seem to be one now. The hotel is slightly isolated so you need a hire car or to use taxis. The air conditioning wasn't working when we were there, and we were told that the technician would fix it. As we were on the ground floor it didn't seem safe to open the french doors at night to get air. The restaurant doesn't open until 7.45 and is highly priced, however the food was good. Next time I'll take a few snacks.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rose2009_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2008

Large sunny room overlooking the lake.
Excellent facilities in the room.
Tremendous breakfast to set you up for the day,in the dining room which is on the lakeside.
Need a car but not far to many restaurants.
Did not dine in hotel restaurant as it seemed over fussy for my tastes.
Dinner would have been expensive but that wasn't the issue.It was just too formal.
If you can book this hotel on a good deal,then go for it.
So peaceful and classy

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RedTedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2007

By a superb private lake and in the quietest environment I have come across in a long time (and I've hardly ever slept so well), Chateau de Brindos is a very nice 4 star hotel featuring large sunny rooms, a dedicated staff and a great restaurant close to Biarritz. Room service is limited, though, and so are the fitness facilities. A hearty buffy breakfast is served by the lake every morning.

You will definitely need a car, for the hotel is a little remote. Yet, it is located about 5 minutes away from Biarritz centre and beaches, 15 minutes away from Bayonne and 25 minutes away from Saint Jean de Luz, all worthy local attractions.

Overall, this was a great 3 days romantic getaway with my wife: the hotel was great, the region was great, and we definitely enjoyed the whole experience.

  • Liked — Lovely location - so quiet...
  • Disliked — Room service
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Nico1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2007

This is a wonderful small hotel, centrally and conveniently located in a private park set beside a small lake. It's an excellent base for exploring the Basque and Bearn regions of France. The staff was very accomodating and attentive to every need, even though there were several large meeting groups at the hotel during our stay. Especially in the restaurant and bar, service was outstanding. Food was expensive, but not moreso than other similar properties and the quality was excellent. Our room was extremely spacious and comfortable, but a little sparse on furnishings for our taste, and there was a serious overflow problem with a shower that did not drain properly--a hotel of this caliber should definitely fix this problem, which we were told was a structural issue with all rooms on the ground floor.

  • Liked — wonderful setting and excellent service
  • Disliked — sparse room furnishings and shower that did not drain
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hilltopwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anglet
3.6 km away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
6.5 km away
Atlanthal
Atlanthal
#1 of 14 in Anglet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.7 km away
Novotel Resort & Spa Biarritz Anglet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#2 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
13.1 km away
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#2 of 29 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
3.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Brindos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Brindos

Property: Chateau de Brindos
Address: 1 Allee du Chateau, 64600 Anglet, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Anglet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Anglet
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,176 - ₹ 21,054
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Brindos 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Basque Coast, close to the Biarritz Beaches, the Château is tucked awayin the heart of lush greenery near the calm waters of the largest private lakes in France. The Hôtel gives its guests a unique, warm reception and offers elegant cuisine with original flavours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de Brindos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Brindos Hotel Anglet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing