We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,075)
Filter reviews
1,075 results
Traveller rating
722
251
77
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
722
251
77
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbath amenitieslarge roomgreat hotelone nightswimming pooljacuzzialsacesommelierhammamluxurycomfortcanettegerman
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,075 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

NOTE, rating is for Hotel & Spa only, while the Restaurant with its food and wine etc is a 4.

- Not possible to select room type or view when booking just one night. We got a very small window and poor roof view, and despite having a room for 4 people, we only got 2 water bottles and two bathtowels.
- Breakfast is served in the basement without windows, no possibility to enjoy the nice garden. Fridge with its noise is located a few meter from the table. The coffee is weak as water and there is no chef to make fresh omelettes or crêpes despite high price of €24.
- Our kids age 10 and 12 were not allowed to enjoy the warm indoor pool referring to the "quiet zone" although they were quiet and there were no other guests in that zone for over 1 hour. A spa "police" apparently made it her quest to stalk us, peeking at our every move in the spa which was quite disturbing.
- No children allowed in 8 out of 9 saunas referring to "risk of nudity". In other spa hotels, we have been able to enjoy it together as a family.

To summarise, the Hotel is overprized and not very family friendly with very odd and unclear rules. There are plenty better choices in Alsace.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kai E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely spa hotel in the middle of a beautiful and quaint French village. The hotel is stunning from the outside and the room was comfortable, with a separate seating area and balcony.
The breakfast room could do with some updating but the selection at the buffet was good.
The very best thing about this hotel is the amazing spa. 2 indoor and 1 outdoor pool, countless jacuzzis etc, sauna, steam rooms, relaxing areas it was like heaven.
The selection of food and drinks during the day could be extended but did not detract from a wonderful, relaxing stay. Thank you.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank d0nald43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

This hotel is one of the best we have ever been.A very very big spa.The room was big,clean and cosy. We took a half board deal and the dinner was gourmet. The area is great for visiting all the lovely wine villages and only 30 minutes to Strasborg

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 8,30,12,345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

On our arrival we were shown to our room and explained a couple of things about the room; a good start of our 3-night stay. We had asked for a room not too far from the lift and that had been listened to.

The room was large but the problem was that there was a slight ramp from entrance door to "sleeping level". Not the biggest issue but it becomes an issue when the toilet is at the entrance door. Slopes are difficult for people with walking difficulties; so that was not so good.

Although there is airconditioning, we found the system very noisy and it took some time (at high power) to cool down the room.

The spa element seems extremely important to the hotel and the swimming pool of the spa (nice pool) was reached through a covered bridge over the road. All in all quite a walk from our room to the spa.

After we had settled in we were ready for a nice cool and refreshing drink and we asked for the bar. The bar is not open but you have to go to the swimming pool bar. There we were in our normal clothes between people in white gowns, swim wear etc; not really comfortable.

When we went for dinner we noticed that the main (?) bar was open. A large area but with very few people.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlok2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Hostelleries des Chateaux & Spa was were we spent Labor Day 2016. It was the first sound night's sleep that either of us had had in over 6 months! We opted for the suite that featured the Hammam and Jacuzzi with changing lights! The food was exquisite, the room service excellent, and the spa was also wonderful. The experience at this wonderful hotel gave me a new appreciation of France. I'd previously only visited Paris, where I was disappointedly underwhelmed. The view from this second floor suite was absolutely breathtaking; you could see a panoramic view of the village of Ottrot. The hotel gardens were beautifully manicured. The entire experience was surreal and one we look forward to re-living.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews