We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,087)
Filter reviews
1,087 results
Traveller rating
731
253
78
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
731
253
78
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bath amenities large room great hotel one night swimming pool jacuzzi alsace sommelier hammam luxury comfort canette german
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,087 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Beautiful setting in a charming quiet town. Our room was in the older building and required taking an elevator from the lobby, getting out and walking across a bridge, then taking another elevator to reach our room. But the room itself was huge and had a really nice large bathroom. Separate toilet room, but no bidet. Stall shower, along with the usual bathtub/handheld shower.
Dinner was tasty, but the restaurant was unbearably hot, maybe because the spotlights over the table were super bright. We had to ask them to turn the lights down.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gschaetzel, Propriétaire at Hostellerie des Chateaux & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your kind words following your visit to the Hostellerie des Châteaux. I was so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please do come and see us again soon.

Many thanks,

Sabine & Ernest Schaetzel
Aurélie – Guillaume & Alina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We are French and travelling a lot around the world! We love high-end hotels and this one has it all: service mindedness of the personnel, calm, discretion, detailed recommendations for anything you may need, quality of the food, experienced sommelier. We stayed at this place 4 times already, and will return for sure. This house is owned by a family who proposes there a perfect mix between french excellence and german order and reliability. An absolute MUST!! Jean-Paul & Stephanie M.

Room Tip: Chambre Charme is perfect for a coupe.
Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jean-Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gschaetzel, Propriétaire at Hostellerie des Chateaux & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

I was so happy to read your comments following your recent stay at The Hostellerie des Châteaux. I was pleased that we met your expectations and I have passed on your kind words to the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

My kindest regards,

Sabine & Ernest Schaetzel
Aurélie – Guillaume & Alina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We stayed three days and enjoyed every minute. What a nice place! Helpful staff, beautifully furnished rooms, comfort and tranquillity. Plenty of onsite car parking (a short uphill walk) and a nicely appointed spa. The layout of the hotel and its various annexes is a bit confusing, but we soon got our bearings. They need more pool space, and we understand this will be available in the near future. Breakfasts were good, and the dinners really good - and do try the local red wine. The picture postcard village is also a must. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gschaetzel, Propriétaire at Hostellerie des Chateaux & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments following your stay with us at The Hostellerie des Châteaux. I was very proud to share your glowing review of your recent stay with my team this morning. It is comments like this that really make our job worthwhile. We take great pride in the service we deliver and we look forward to meeting your expectations once again in the near future.

My kindest regards,

Sabine & Ernest Schaetzel
Aurélie – Guillaume & Alina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

The restaurant is small and quiet, and speaks of luxury from the highly professional head waiter to the standard of the cuisine. We had the Millefeuille d'Escargots and the Fois Gras de Canard Maison, both of which were very refined and good. For the main course we had the Canette Rotie aux Epices Douces, which lived up to its name for subtle spices. They do not stint on portions: a whole duckling between two meant that we had no space for dessert. As I was driving, the wine waiter chose a glass of red wine - a Cotes du Rhone which was quite exceptional. The restaurant is expensive, but is well worth it if you wish to have an elegant evening.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tamutoscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gschaetzel, Propriétaire at Hostellerie des Chateaux & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us at The Hostellerie des Châteaux. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I will share your comments with the all team. I really do hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sabine & Ernest Schaetzel
Aurélie – Guillaume & Alina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We stayed one night on our way to Saverne in a newly finished suite.
No Nespresso or other coffee and tea available, no mineral-water waiting and not a great view for over €300,-/night excluding breakfast.
The suite was spacious and Ok but not impressively decorated.
Spa pool is small but is being rebuild so that will be up to standard soon.
The restaurant is "old style" and he menu gourmand was good but not great.
Conclusion: this hotel and its restaurant is not to our personal taste.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gschaetzel, Propriétaire at Hostellerie des Chateaux & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us at The Hostellerie des Châteaux. Just to clarify your comments 2 mineral water where waiting on night stand on your arrival and the balcony is overlooking the forest and Ottrott Castles. I hope that our new addition to the Spa with 2 new Pools (outdoor + indoor) 1 outdoor jacuzzi 4 new saunas, relaxation room ... will delight you next time.

Sabine & Ernest Schaetzel
Aurélie – Guillaume & Alina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews