We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
43
103
64
45
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
103
64
45
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel beach takes about minutes tea and coffee nice hotel croissants bread sea view rocks furniture bay balcony fridge
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Grab a well chilled bottle of Pietra, take your seat on the balcony and watch the sunset.
All the top floors rooms are with sea view and balcony, so be sure you have some cold Pietra in the fridge. Or some rosé wine, according to taste. The fridge is quite generous, by the way.
The furniture is basic and the flat TV screen is not that large, but who cares about TV with such a sea view?! All the Valinco bay is at your feet, from the Baracci beach on the right to the Propriano lighthouse on the left and Olmetto just in front. The bathroom - with large bathtub - was clean and functional. AC worked well during our stay (three nights in July 2017).
The parking lot is large and easy accesible.
The breakfast hall offers great views over Valinco bay as well. I enjoyed watching the massive ferry leaving the harbor in the morning, while sipping the coffee. And the yachts passing by the old lighthouse, while tasting the goat cheese (tome de chevre) with clementine jam. However, the breakfast is very French and there is no chance to get anything even remotely related to a typical English breakfast (except for the tea). All you can get for breakfast is croissants, butter, fig and clementine jam, local matured cheese (delicious), yogurt, milk, muesli cereals, hard boiled eggs and bread (fresh French baguette). Plus tea and coffee. A very good coffee, actually. The English breakfast fans will probably be dissapointed, as well as the vegans, yet I enjoyed the breakfast.
The hotel offers a lovely garden to be discovered and a shady alley and stairs to a little sandy beach hidden between rocks. When the sea is rough, the beach is covered by the waves (unfortunately, the sea was rough during our stay, so we did not have the chance to enjoy this beach).
Next to the beach there's a small restaurant that gives a tropical vacation mood about all the place. Well, a quite overpriced tropical mood (8 Euro for a glass of Mojito)
The only minus about this hotel (except for the price) is the distance to the city center (about 30-40 minutes walk). It's just a partial minus though, since the walk to downtown and back is very pleasant, considering the scenery.

Room tip: Top floor rooms offer amazing views
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

When we arrived at the hotel in the middle of the night, I was initially disappointed to see the it wasn't near the town center. It takes about 15-20 minutes to walk to the main street in Propriano. BUT all my concerns disappeared when I went to the little beach beneath the hotel - it is perfection! The hotel's beach is hidden away below the hotel so it's quiet, clean, and beautiful! You can see the port and the greenery across the harbor but you feel very private. It's a fine, rocky sand at the beach, which I prefer. We were able to borrow an umbrella from reception and stay on this beach all day long.
Right above the sand is a little cafe/restaurant which serves decent food and drinks. It was nice that we didn't need to pack up all of our stuff to go and have lunch. The staff were very friendly and could communicate in English and Italian as well.
The rooms at the hotel are very, very basic. The bathroom was very small and the furniture was a bit old but overall, everything was clean and usable. No major issues since we didn't spend much time in the room anyway...
I'd recommend this hotel if you want to spend as much time at the beach as possible. I prefer to have the beach at my feet and have a nice walk into town for dinner once the weather has cooled down a bit.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

This was our 4th stay here and the attraction has always been the great view from the room. We have been prepared to accept the very basic room standard and frugal breakfast just for this view. However the hotel is now cutting costs further by not providing a room with a properly functioning WC. During our 7 days stay they had to call out a plumber on 3 occasions and at times we had to use the WC in the bar and also use bottles of water to flush.
The manager was not apologetic and gave the impression that she did not value our repeat business. As a result, we will oblige by not using this hotel again. When a hotel seems to regard the provision of a functioning WC as an optional extra, I think they have lost the plot.

Room tip: There are no good rooms, only rooms with good views.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2015

We whooped with joy as we opened the door to our family room. Wow! The full size sliding doors on to a small balcony was filled with the ocean view. The room itself is pretty ordinary, as is the rest of the hotel, but with a view like this, who really cares? The second surprise, the really magical part to this place is that it has it's own private sandy beach. A small cove of crystal clear water with rocks on either side just made for leaping from into the beautiful waters. Now for the third and final bonus. The private beach has its own bar and restaurant. And the food at the restaurant is fantastic! I have to say this is the best location around Propriano. As I mentioned, the rooms are less than stellar (but not terrible by any stretch), but the location seriously makes up for any shortcomings. Oh, it isn't too expensive either! The only real problem would be if you didn't have a car as it is around 4km out of Propriano itself. A bit of a hike.

Room tip: The restaurant serves great food.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sardoy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Nice hotel with great views, no good if you want a beer (or coffee) before 6.00pm when the bar opens. Seems it does not do evening meals and is a fair walk from the nearest restaurant (one) town centre is a 30 minute walk away (all uphill on the way back). Taxis are very difficult to find and expensive when you do. Breakfast was very basic and limited. Stayed with a group (MSL Tours) so can't comment on room price.
I think the owners need some young blood to revamp the place.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank keithhd888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews