We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Casadelmar
Nearby Hotels
Santa Giulia Palace(Porto-Vecchio)
US$ 393
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel le Goeland(Porto-Vecchio)
US$ 254
US$ 247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Giovanni(Porto-Vecchio)
US$ 165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 228
US$ 218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Les Jardins de Mathieu(Porto-Vecchio)
US$ 243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Marina di Santa Giulia(Santa Giulia)(Great Value!)
US$ 236
US$ 227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Hotel Mariosa(Porto-Vecchio)
US$ 370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 324
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Costa Salina(Porto-Vecchio)
US$ 296
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 576
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 716/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
168
26
21
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
26
21
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasa del marthe grillmichelin star restaurantcatch of the dayluxury hotelfor instancemain restaurantla plagesunbedseurosterracegymfrettearchitecturecushionscorsicafreedom
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We spent five nights at Casadelmar after touring Normandy and Brittany. We had a great stay, despite some issues with the staff. The weather was perfect, so it would have been hard for them to screw things up. I’m not sure what we would have done if the weather were bad, though. They did offer some activities, but we were focused on lounging.

The hotel design and decor is very modern, but it still has a warm and welcoming feeling. Our suite was great. We had a spectacular view of the water and a large, powerful shower (a welcome change from Normandy and Brittany). The hotel facilities were top notch. The gym overlooked the water and had good cardio equipment. It could use some use heavier weights, though. I am a DaggerBoy after all. The pool was large and inviting, but it was hard to swim laps with the roman steps. The beach is small and private – there is a wooden deck just off a rocky beach.

The food was good but, as expected, very overpriced without enough options. Try to leave the hotel for dinner and lunch whenever possible. Porto Vecchio is only 15 minutes away. We especially liked Chez Anna in town. We had a fantastic meal at the hotel’s gastronomic restaurant, even though the ambience was awkward. The restaurant was too bright and too big for the crowd. The daily breakfast was good, though selection was limited.

The biggest issue was with the staff, but not at the restaurants. Fortunately we were fairly self-sufficient. Definitely rent a car to get around the island and visit the sandy beaches and local restaurants. We had a great day and lunch at Tamaricciu beach. We relied too heavily on taxis given some difficulty renting a car from the hotel. Also, order a drink or food whenever you see the pool attendant because he/she is rarely there.

The biggest problem we had was trying to rent a car through the hotel. It was not until I was about to sign for €15,000 of security that I realized that “any car will do” apparently meant the most expensive Audi sports car that costs €1,000 per day to rent. All we wanted was a cheap car to drive to the beach and lunch, but I guess we should have been more specific. The concierge couldn’t fix the problem and couldn’t get a taxi for us. Eventually they drove us in the hotel van, which was clearly used to carry hotel guests despite their assurances to the contrary. The manager of the hotel actually told my wife that we shouldn’t be so frustrated with losing two hours of our day waiting for a ride to the beach 20 minutes away, especially since “people were dying in hospitals.” It’s unclear if this was a veiled Corsican threat, or some anti-American Iraq reference, but it was inappropriate nevertheless.

The surly staff notwithstanding, we had a great time and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaggerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This hotel is beautifully run from top to bottom. The staff are excellent and very well trained - they aim to please. The 2 Star restaurant was fabulous but of course very expensive as was all the other food and drink here, especially with the £'s value against the Euro! They do allow young children which made the pool a bit noisy at times but we found two more bathing areas down by the sea which were very peaceful with stunning views. This hotel faces west and overlooks Porto Vecchio on the opposite shore and the stunning mountains that rise up behind this lovely town. You definately need a hire car as taxis are hard to come by and when you find one they are expensive e.g. 15 - 20 euros for a 5 minute trip in to town. 3-4 nights is more than enough unless your pockets run very deep - 2 Club sandwichs for lunch will cost you £50. A real treat for people who love to be looked after and eat well.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Don't get us wrong, the hotel is in an absolutely beautiful location. The pool is fantastic, as is the private beach. There were many things about the hotel we enjoyed.

What we did *not* enjoy: 1) The food and drink prices are quite high (€7 for a Coke, >€100 for room service etc). If you're staying a week, expect to pay at least an extra €1,000 on food and drink. 2) Although the restaurant has two stars from Michelin, the food will not please less "sophisticated" palettes. I ordered pasta with beef and received a very wacky creation with a yellow cube of fried something (turned out to be pasta), squid, beef, and a yellow-white cream sauce which looked like someone had blown bubbles in it. 3) I speak French with an accent, and even I noticed that the staff were (as other reviewers have noted) less nice to those not completely fluent in the language. 4) After a few days, you start to feel like a cash register. If you haven't rented a car, you are somewhat trapped in the hotel. We spent an awful lot on meals we didn't particularly like, and on overpriced, tiny bottles of Orangina. The hotel was apparently under-booked compared to last year and we began to feel the staff were expecting us to spend more to support the ubiquitous luxuries of the place. It wasn't a welcoming feeling. We had to send one meal back as we didn't particularly want to eat bruschetta with octopus (I had confused the French word for 'octopus' with that for 'pulp'). The staff were polite, but didn't seem particularly pleased either. That evening, we were sat swiftly and curtly in the very back of the restaurant at the table with the worst view, even though we were first to arrive. Coincidence?

Again, there are many things to recommend this hotel. The turn-down service was great. The room was spotless. The view was beautiful, and there is free wi-fi! But in the words of a local resident to whom we spoke, the staff are "froids" the food "particulier", and the amenities "chers". On the recommendation of this same local, we're going to hit either Grand Hotel de Calarossa or Pinarello next year as we weren't overly impressed by Casadelmar.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travelling_30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

We had an amazing five days at the Casadelmar. The hotel is of a modern design and is truly stunning both inside and out. The location over looking the bay makes spending time in the restaurant, on your room veranda or by the pool an absolute pleasure. We thought that the rooms were excellent with a large wooden veranda outside which makes the most of the fabulous view the hotel enjoys. The service is also first class with a concierge service that is genuinely up to the standard or anything that you will find in W.Europe or N.America (we had kite surfing lessons found and booked, restaurants etc. etc.). Moreover, the concierge is happy to book you into a local restaurant as well as a three star michelin restaurant if you want. The food at the hotel is very good, although, the main restaurant is definitely on the expensive side. All in all, the price is not cheap but you get what you pay for and we would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank salukionholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

The property is very nice, but I totally agree with previous reviewer who almost stayed at the same week we did in SEP and disapointed.

One of the French waitress was so rude and other occasions, they just ignored us and concentrated only on French guests. We were there first, but they serve other French guest who arrived much later serve before us and always attentive to them serving wines. We had to ask so many times to get waiters to come to our table.

Michelline star restaurant was good, but still not so good service. Other grill restaurant was OK, but very very expensive and very slow service. The menu was so limited and one evening we ended up kids meal which is more comfort food, such as vegetable soup and pasta.

Positive
* Reception/Reservation is very efficient, quick, welcoming.
* Junior Suite was quite good and comfortable.
* Gastronomic restaurant was very good.
* Beach/Pool attendant was very frendly and attentive.
* Beautiful view and very quiet.

Needs to be improved
* Some of French staff is only concentrating to French Gests.
* Once you booked the hotel they will charge whole amount of stay before one month. Hotel usually charge only 3 days stay as a deposit. I thought it is quite unusual.
* One casual restaurant (Grill ) needs to increase the menu or change daily.
* Room service menu needs to increase more healthy options.
* There is nothing else other than Hotel and they should provide daily shuttle service to Porte Vecchio. We used Taxi to get there.
* Both Restaurants needs to serve more local Corsican dish. There was no local dish and very disapointed.

If you can afford this hotel, we recommend, Villa Fertonelli in Lake Garda. I also heard other guest is suggesting this hotel to other gest. I prefer Sardinia than Corsica on food and people.

We can afford this expensive hotel, but we didn't get what we paid and we will not go back this place again, until they can treat other NON-French guest as same as French guest.

This hotel is ultra modern and beautiful hotel, but there is no character.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoteljunkiebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews