We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic and Tranquil”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Casadelmar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casadelmar
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Porto-Vecchio
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chic and Tranquil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed four nights at Casadelmar as the first leg of our honeymoon. The experience was pretty much flawless. All the staff were courteous and solicitous. I wanted to practice my french and the lovely front desk staff kindly obliged and only spoke to me in french even if it took a couple tries for me to understand. Room service was always prompt and discreet. They left us treats in honor of our honeymoon (champagne, locally produced massage oil) 3 of the 4 nights we were there, which made us feel very pampered and special. One night we even came home to rose petals scattered EVERYWHERE in the room, and votive candles and a drawn bath. Amazing! The room was on the small side (considering it was close to $1000/night) but the floor to ceiling windows overlooking the bay and the mountains more than made up for that. The decor is chic and there was plenty of closet space. The bed was super comfortable and the room was spotless. We never wanted to leave the infinity pool or the nearby bar/lounge with views to Porto Vecchio town. Even though there were a few children when we stayed there it retained an adult and tranquil vibe. There was a good mix of young couples, middle aged parents and retirees. The restaurant was never very crowded even though this was peak season. The restaurant and bar serve fantastic food (it is Michelin starred) and is correspondingly VERY expensive (we also suffer the dollar/euro exchange rate, which was about $1.25 to the euro when we were there). For instance, the cheapest room service option is a 38 euro burger, which is about 45 bucks- -ouch. There is a small fridge in the room and I recommend buying some provisions at any of the nearby local products markets and eating/drinking those in the room so you're not at the mercy of the hotel prices.
We each had a massage at the spa which was very nice and reasonably priced relative to the other services at the hotel. The gym has amazing views over the water which made working out an actual pleasure! I was the only one using the gym when I went to work out which was bonus.
Overall, if we could afford it, I'd never stay anywhere else! This might be the nicest hotel experience I've ever had.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snaize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    23
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
21
111
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

We spent five nights at Casadelmar after touring Normandy and Brittany. We had a great stay, despite some issues with the staff. The weather was perfect, so it would have been hard for them to screw things up. I’m not sure what we would have done if the weather were bad, though. They did offer some activities, but we were focused on lounging.

The hotel design and decor is very modern, but it still has a warm and welcoming feeling. Our suite was great. We had a spectacular view of the water and a large, powerful shower (a welcome change from Normandy and Brittany). The hotel facilities were top notch. The gym overlooked the water and had good cardio equipment. It could use some use heavier weights, though. I am a DaggerBoy after all. The pool was large and inviting, but it was hard to swim laps with the roman steps. The beach is small and private – there is a wooden deck just off a rocky beach.

The food was good but, as expected, very overpriced without enough options. Try to leave the hotel for dinner and lunch whenever possible. Porto Vecchio is only 15 minutes away. We especially liked Chez Anna in town. We had a fantastic meal at the hotel’s gastronomic restaurant, even though the ambience was awkward. The restaurant was too bright and too big for the crowd. The daily breakfast was good, though selection was limited.

The biggest issue was with the staff, but not at the restaurants. Fortunately we were fairly self-sufficient. Definitely rent a car to get around the island and visit the sandy beaches and local restaurants. We had a great day and lunch at Tamaricciu beach. We relied too heavily on taxis given some difficulty renting a car from the hotel. Also, order a drink or food whenever you see the pool attendant because he/she is rarely there.

The biggest problem we had was trying to rent a car through the hotel. It was not until I was about to sign for €15,000 of security that I realized that “any car will do” apparently meant the most expensive Audi sports car that costs €1,000 per day to rent. All we wanted was a cheap car to drive to the beach and lunch, but I guess we should have been more specific. The concierge couldn’t fix the problem and couldn’t get a taxi for us. Eventually they drove us in the hotel van, which was clearly used to carry hotel guests despite their assurances to the contrary. The manager of the hotel actually told my wife that we shouldn’t be so frustrated with losing two hours of our day waiting for a ride to the beach 20 minutes away, especially since “people were dying in hospitals.” It’s unclear if this was a veiled Corsican threat, or some anti-American Iraq reference, but it was inappropriate nevertheless.

The surly staff notwithstanding, we had a great time and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaggerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

This hotel is beautifully run from top to bottom. The staff are excellent and very well trained - they aim to please. The 2 Star restaurant was fabulous but of course very expensive as was all the other food and drink here, especially with the £'s value against the Euro! They do allow young children which made the pool a bit noisy at times but we found two more bathing areas down by the sea which were very peaceful with stunning views. This hotel faces west and overlooks Porto Vecchio on the opposite shore and the stunning mountains that rise up behind this lovely town. You definately need a hire car as taxis are hard to come by and when you find one they are expensive e.g. 15 - 20 euros for a 5 minute trip in to town. 3-4 nights is more than enough unless your pockets run very deep - 2 Club sandwichs for lunch will cost you £50. A real treat for people who love to be looked after and eat well.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

Don't get us wrong, the hotel is in an absolutely beautiful location. The pool is fantastic, as is the private beach. There were many things about the hotel we enjoyed.

What we did *not* enjoy: 1) The food and drink prices are quite high (€7 for a Coke, >€100 for room service etc). If you're staying a week, expect to pay at least an extra €1,000 on food and drink. 2) Although the restaurant has two stars from Michelin, the food will not please less "sophisticated" palettes. I ordered pasta with beef and received a very wacky creation with a yellow cube of fried something (turned out to be pasta), squid, beef, and a yellow-white cream sauce which looked like someone had blown bubbles in it. 3) I speak French with an accent, and even I noticed that the staff were (as other reviewers have noted) less nice to those not completely fluent in the language. 4) After a few days, you start to feel like a cash register. If you haven't rented a car, you are somewhat trapped in the hotel. We spent an awful lot on meals we didn't particularly like, and on overpriced, tiny bottles of Orangina. The hotel was apparently under-booked compared to last year and we began to feel the staff were expecting us to spend more to support the ubiquitous luxuries of the place. It wasn't a welcoming feeling. We had to send one meal back as we didn't particularly want to eat bruschetta with octopus (I had confused the French word for 'octopus' with that for 'pulp'). The staff were polite, but didn't seem particularly pleased either. That evening, we were sat swiftly and curtly in the very back of the restaurant at the table with the worst view, even though we were first to arrive. Coincidence?

Again, there are many things to recommend this hotel. The turn-down service was great. The room was spotless. The view was beautiful, and there is free wi-fi! But in the words of a local resident to whom we spoke, the staff are "froids" the food "particulier", and the amenities "chers". On the recommendation of this same local, we're going to hit either Grand Hotel de Calarossa or Pinarello next year as we weren't overly impressed by Casadelmar.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelling_30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

We had an amazing five days at the Casadelmar. The hotel is of a modern design and is truly stunning both inside and out. The location over looking the bay makes spending time in the restaurant, on your room veranda or by the pool an absolute pleasure. We thought that the rooms were excellent with a large wooden veranda outside which makes the most of the fabulous view the hotel enjoys. The service is also first class with a concierge service that is genuinely up to the standard or anything that you will find in W.Europe or N.America (we had kite surfing lessons found and booked, restaurants etc. etc.). Moreover, the concierge is happy to book you into a local restaurant as well as a three star michelin restaurant if you want. The food at the hotel is very good, although, the main restaurant is definitely on the expensive side. All in all, the price is not cheap but you get what you pay for and we would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank salukionholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto-Vecchio
2.0 km away
Hotel Costa Salina
Hotel Costa Salina
#1 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Mariosa
Hotel Mariosa
#2 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
3.9 km away
Grand Hotel de Cala Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel le Goeland
Hotel le Goeland
#5 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
54.5 km away
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea and Spa
4.7 km away
Les Hauts de Porto Vecchio
Les Hauts de Porto Vecchio
#19 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casadelmar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casadelmar

Property: Hotel Casadelmar
Address: Route de Palombaggia, 20137, Porto-Vecchio, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Porto-Vecchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
#8 Luxury Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
#10 Romantic Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,178 - ₹ 1,15,308
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Casadelmar 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek, striking, and filled with natural light, Hotel Casadelmar is located on a peninsula just outside the town of Porto-Vecchio on the southeast coastline of Corsica, overlooking the Mediterranean. An intimate, contemporary resort, its design blends seamlessly with its environment. Surrounded by well-tended gardens, the hotel offers rooms with clean, uncluttered lines, accented by oversize windows, stone floors, and brightly colored fabrics that reflect both the calm and liveliness of the Corsican lifestyle. Each accommodation also boasts an outdoor terrace with sunbeds, and sweeping sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casadelmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casadelmar Hotel Porto Vecchio
Casadelmar Porto Vecchio
Hotel Casadelmar Corsica/Porto-Vecchio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing