We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but limited”
Review of Hotel Carre Noir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Carre Noir
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Porto-Vecchio
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We stayed here for 5 nights.
Plus points. The reception and the room (we stayed in 101) were lovely. Good English-speaking staff who were very friendly. The room was well-appointed and the décor classy and new. It had a splendid balcony overlooking the bay. Comfortable bed, excellent air-con (quiet and effective). Rain-head shower all very nice. The deck upstairs with a small circular pool is beautiful.
Negative It is in the middle of nowhere - 30 minutes walk up hill to get back and no taxis. You must have a car. I expressed concern about drinking and driving for dinner and was told not to worry as their were no police!
The worst aspect is there is no bar or restaurant or room service you have to go out to dinner (how do you get 4 stars for this?). The restaurant of the same name that appears on some websites is not theirs and not a proper restaurant. Buffet breakfast is over-priced.
If you're happy t o drive and

Room Tip: get a sea view room the view is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2016

Comfortable well maintained hotel with a modern decor and genuinely nice young staff. The hotel is within a short driving distance from fantastic beaches and restaurants.
The view was also nice. Limited parking space.

Room Tip: seems all rooms are quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Hotel Carre Noir has a kind of chilled out grown up Ibiza vibe. The rooms are spotless, as it the rest of the hotel actually. The top part of the hotel is pretty flawless with an amazing view, beautiful round pool etc, the lower part is still good but not quite as high-spec. The nearby beaches are very walkable, the walk back burns a few calories but that's probably a good thing! We didn't have a car or bike and were here for 5 nights, which was just the right amount of time to do not much at all. You might wish to hire a car if you want to go any further than the walkable beaches (taxis are expensive). Perfect start to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aishag22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We were greeted by the receptionist smoking at the entrance to the hotel, not good impression to start with however we were greeted with a smile as she checked us into the hotel and showed us to the room. Upon entering the room you are blown away by the aspect over the bay of Santa Guilla located a few hundred metres away with great balcony to sit and take in the view. The pool which is located on the roof is a round shape and is quite small. Unfortunately several umbrellas were broken and given it was the middle of summer the pool area was not some where to stay for very long as there was limited shade. It could also do with some form of permanent shade structure and some additional day beds and lounges. Music could also enhance the atmosphere as it was quite solemn although some guests would more than likely enjoy that

Room Tip: Any of the rooms under the pool as they have direct views over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beejay03sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015

This was a very nice hotel, but for the price, I imagine you could find something better - especially if you do not have a FULL sea view.

ROOMS: I had read PossumAdelaideSA's review below regarding the limited seaview for most of the rooms so emailed ahead of time. I don't know if I ended up with the best Superior room or got upgraded but we had an amazing view of the bay of Santa Giulia. Our room was # 102 conveniently located across from the reception area (not right there though) and downstairs from the pool. A/C was pretty good. Shower (no bath). Nice shampoo, conditioner, etc. Pool towels can be borrowed from reception. Rooms are cleaned daily - and really cleaned - like they mopped the floor every single day.

LOCATION: The hotel is in a fine location - about a 10-15 minute drive to town or the beaches (Palombaggia and Tamaricciu). Santa Giulia is much closer.

I think there might be 2 pools but we only swam in one (the circular one). It's small but really nice, beautiful color, clean, perfect temperature. The pool deck (on the roofs of the top rooms) never had more than 2 other people on it. No shade. Lounge chairs, same great sea view that we had from our room (we were right below the pool in Room 102).

BIGGEST PROBLEM: The wifi is pretty much non-existent. I asked the front desk several times and never really got an answer. Don't expect to have any wifi if you stay here. It really seemed unacceptable given the price. I would have stayed elsewhere had I known.

STAFF: Really nice & helpful.

RESTAURANTS: we didn't eat at the main restaurant at all (why would you when there are so many other good ones?) but we did pay the 15 euro pp breakfast the first morning. Nothing great. A bunch of pastries and then pre-made omelettes. Good fresh-squeezed juices. Nice deck w/ shade to eat on.

Room Tip: We were in Room #102 - FANTASTIC view. I don't think there is a room in this hotel with a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank lauramanyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto-Vecchio hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Alivi di Santa Giulia
Hotel Alivi di Santa Giulia
#21 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
99 reviews
5.3 km away
Hotel Ambassador Palombaggia
Hotel Ambassador Palombaggia
#28 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
64 reviews
1.2 km away
Le Roc e Fiori Hotel
Le Roc e Fiori Hotel
#12 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 km away
Hotel Marina Corsica
Hotel Marina Corsica
#14 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
108 reviews
6.6 km away
Private Hotel
Private Hotel
#16 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
96 reviews
6.6 km away
Hotel le Goeland
Hotel le Goeland
#3 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carre Noir? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carre Noir

Address: route de Santa Giulia | Lieu-dit Bella Vista, 20137, Porto-Vecchio, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Porto-Vecchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
#13 Luxury Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
Price Range: ₹ 12,242 - ₹ 26,084 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carre Noir 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Carre Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carre Noir Corsica/Porto-Vecchio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing