We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated rooms in expensive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Porticcio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 August 2017

The Hotel is uniquely located on the "Punta di Porticcio" with a view of Ajaccio opposite the bay. Sunsets are a unique experience.
The breakfast is excellent and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are very small and dated, a renewal would be most welcome. Drinks and diner are expensive.
The pool is filled with salt water.
There is sufficient parking space.
As you leave the main road towards the hotel mind the 7 speed bumps which are not all indicated!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are too small. Best to take a superior room (5m² extra)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelGolfeAjaccio, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear guests,

It was a great pleasure to welcome you at the Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio and we thank you for sharing your review.

I am glad you enjoyed our wonderful view and the friendliness of our staff.
The Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio is in the process of renovation (the restaurant and the bar are now brand new) and we still have nice projects in a near future.

We look forward to welcoming you soon,

Thank you again for your time,
Warm Regards,

Magali Perrot
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Our experience at this Hotel started on a horrible note as while arriving to check-in, my wife and I were informed that we were transferred to the nearby Radison Hotel for one night due to overbooking. We were both very angry knowing that we had already paid for our stay and that the Radison is not the same category Hotel. After an average stay at the Radison, we came back to Sofitel. We stayed one night at this Hotel and wished that we could have stayed longer.

The location is amazing and i think that all the rooms have a sea view. You can enjoy a great sunset; also, worth mentioning that the hotel is located. 10 - 15 mins away from Ajaccio.

We had a suite with a balcony; the room was very comfortable, coffee and tea were offered, the balcony by the sea was great.

The swimming pool is nicely located, water is heated if i am not mistaken; it offered a nice experience;

The different restaurants offered good food and drinks; service was good too.

The Spa is also professional and up to the standard of big hotels'.

Overall, despite our bad 1st night experience and despite the fact that we didn't have an apology from the hotel management or even a small gesture like a bottle of champagne in our room, i must admit that we really enjoyed our stay there! Recommended!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gaby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelGolfeAjaccio, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Dear Gaby M,

We are delighted that you spent a nice stay by us and we do regret that you could not stay the first night.

I am sorry that you did not get my message inviting you for an aperitif in our garden but I hope you enjoyed the room we selected for you as it was a triple upgrade.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Corsica,

Warm Regards,

Magali Perrot
Guest Relation Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

The location is great - easy access to Ajaccio and right on the beach with incredible views. The supporting parts of the hotel - the beach, the pool, the bar and restaurant are all really quite nice. The real downside - the rooms could use a major refresh. The bathroom is very dated and the rooms have a real 90's feel to them. The rooms are very clean and well furnished, just outdated.

So, if you can get past the oldish design, all is good.

As for the restaurant - the breakfast buffet is very nice with lots and lots of choices. For dinner the food was very, very good. The service was spotty and uneven. They really had a problem getting a couple of bottles of wine out and served.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jgregb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelGolfeAjaccio, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Dear jgregb,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay by us and take very seriously your comments about the premises.

As you noticed, the Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio is on the process of renovation and we are now thinking about the next step to make our beautiful hotel even better.

Providing impeccable services and facilities to our guests is our utmost priority, and I sincerely apologize for the inconsistencies about the service. Be assured that we have addressed this with the F&B team.

Thank you again for your time,
Best regards,

Magali Perrot
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Booked for last few nights at the end of a magical holiday in Corsica, but what a disappointment! Hotel in need of a face lift, rooms had chipped furniture and cracks in walls and immediately under the flight path!!!! Did not appreciate trying to relax with planes going overhead, when at the pool and in our room at night! Some staff very good but others extremely unfriendly!

Room Tip: Cannot imagine there is a quieter room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelGolfeAjaccio, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Dear Karen W,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Our hotel is indeed in the process of renovation and we have the pleasure now to have a brand new bar and restaurant.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Do not hesitate to call me back or to e-mail me ( 04.95.29.40.40 - H0587-GRR@sofitel.com) to tell me more about your stay by us.

Sincerely,

Magali Perrot
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Sofitel brand claim their properties are “luxury hotels”. But pretending luxury is not enough. To be acknowledged among the many top brands in this world, you have to deliver accordingly.
The Sofitel Thalassa Ajacccio, Corsica, is no exception to this rule. This property would much better be positioned as a Novotel, and be able exceed, in certain areas at least, the standards of an upper midscale corporate hotel, instead of pretending luxury and missing most of them.
To start with, the ugly hospital-looking building, located right under the take-off or landing corridor of Ajaccio airport, is the first luxury eliminating factor for this property. Moreover, overflown 20 hours a day and as late as until 2:00am by on-going noisy air traffic, hotel simply cannot ensure guests a quiet sleep, a priority expectation for any luxury hotel. Especially in a leisure destination.
Overall, hotel lacks attention to those many key details that make a difference between a corporate hotel and a luxury resort. The stunning views of Ajaccio bay from guestrooms and public areas - indoor and outdoor – cannot, however, make it for the rest.
Average cuisine experience (except breakfast), poorly maintained tennis courts, cheap looking corridors - which some windows oversee rotten pipes and other bad looking technical equipment on lower rooftops - , no general manager (if any) or any executive to be seen or interacting with guests during one of the busiest week-ends of the season, altogether leave us with an impression of unfulfilled promises. What misses here is a soul, the essence of luxury.
A warm welcome and friendly staff everywhere are, however, to be noticed. Same for the many electrical bikes available on premises.
All in all, if you are looking for a nearby airport corporate hotel to organize a seminar in Ajaccio, and provided that all delegates are bringing their earplugs and keep their guestroom windows closed, this hotel can make it.
But if you are in the search of a luxury seaside retreat in this very part of Corsica, and an experience that truly reflects genuine local culture and hospitality in a refined and quiet environment, better stay away from the pompously called Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea & Spa Hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tripcounsellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelGolfeAjaccio, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your review as your feedbacks are very valuable to us in assisting with continually making improvements to our hotel.

The Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio is in the process of renovation and we are really sorry that you did not feel the spirit of Sofitel and Luxury we strive to provide to our guests.

At your earliest availability, please contact us directly at H0587-GR@sofitel.com so we may discuss your visit at length.
We look forward to hearing from you, and we hope to have the opportunity to restore your trust in our property and brand.

Thank you again for your time,

Warm regards,

Magali Perrot
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porticcio
2.3 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay
5.7 km away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
577 reviews
54.5 km away
Hotel Casadelmar
Hotel Casadelmar
#13 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Hotel Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
23.7 km away
Hotel Marinca
Hotel Marinca
#1 of 7 in Olmeto
362 reviews
3.1 km away
Kalliste Hotel Residence
Kalliste Hotel Residence
#1 of 10 in Porticcio
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa

Address: Domaine de la Pointe | Golfe d'Ajaccio, 20166 Porticcio, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Porticcio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Porticcio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porticcio
#2 Family Hotel in Porticcio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Porticcio
Price Range: ₹ 11,396 - ₹ 27,839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Ajaccio Bay and the Sanguinaires Islands, Corsica provides a stunning setting for the hotel and its thalassotherapy institute. With unrestricted views of sky, sea and rocks, the hotel boasts a small private beach, where guests can sunbathe and swim in total peace, plus a large outdoor pool . This is simply heaven. The ideal setting for long holidays or short and memorable healthy breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Thalassa Porticcio Hotel Porticcio
Sofitel Porticcio
Accor Thalassa Porticcio
Porticcio Sofitel
Sofitel Golfe D'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea And Spa Porticcio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing