We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful, Quiet Tuscan Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hermitage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poggio a Caiano
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Quiet Tuscan Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

This hotel is about 45 minutes west of Florence in a very nice residential neighborhood high in the hills. There are olive groves down the road from the hotel. You can actually see the Duomo in Florence in the distance.

The parking was free in a graveled and fenced lot out front. The lobby was spacious with plenty of seating and a flat screen television. The room was very clean and nicely decorated reminding us of a Marriott or Hampton Inn. It had a large bathroom and a lot of closet space.

Breakfast was in a very nice restaurant area wth ample seating and included in the price of the room. The buffet had plenty of croissants, rolls, cereals, yogurt, cheese and lunchmeats, with juices and coffee/tea.

It was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of the big city. We really enjoyed touring around the area and checking out the church with its Lourdes grotto and olive trees.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifflef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    47
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
32
41
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden via USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

The pros: This hotel has great service -- at the front desk as well as the restaurant. The rooms are great, and we had a really lovely balcony. Unfortunately, the pool was not open yet; but it looked beautiful. The countryside is gorgeous and very relaxing. Once we figured out how the air conditioner worked, it was fantastic as well. The pillows are quite flat, but if you ask, the staff will be happy to give you a second set.

The cons: The hotel sits on top of a huge hill. If you walk from the bus stop (like we did), be prepared for a hike. Also, we did not rent a car.... we rented bikes from the hotel. At the time we thought bikes would be perfect. We did not realize how extremely hilly the surrounding area was which made our bike rental almost a joke. We thought we could take a nice leisurely ride around town and to some of the surrounding vineyards. Unless you are comfortable biking up steep hills repeatedly, this is is definitely a place you want a car.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamFancypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2008

I took my mother to Florence for 8 days. I wanted somewhere with a pool and not too busy as she is now 80 and doesn't like too much noise etc. Poggio a Caiano is pretty quiet and an excellent spot for touring the various places of interest such as Lucca, Pisa and Florence. We took the bus into Florence which was only €2 each way and about 30 mins. Better than driving and having to find parking! Tip for driving especially round Tuscany where a lot of the towns have baffling one way systems - take satnav if you have it! Without ours we got lost round Prato twice!

The hotel was excellent - our room was a little dark and so they moved us - in fact they let my mother have a choice of rooms to move to. All the staff were most helpful and friendly. Breakfast was adequate and we ate out most nights (hotel evening meals not quite so good!) again they advised us on restaurants to try and we had some very good pizzas locally and a lovely meal in a village a few miles away sitting outside looking out over a panoramic view of Florence!

In the end we only used the pool on our last day there to wind down before going home!

We would like to thank all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisydell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2007

We stayed her for 6 nights during August and were amazed at the quietness of the place. We had a great room with a patio which we didn't expect, very spacious and clean. Hardly anybody was staying at the hotel and we had the pool to ourself most of the time. The area is great to drive around and get lost in, we found a town which was jam packed with garden centres which supply the world with topiary. We also happened across Vinci (where Leornado came form). Brilliant restaurant in the town, a short stroll from the hotel where the staff are really friendly. Geat food. Also a very nice ice cream parlour in the town. Great place if you like it quiet. We will definately return.

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — No restaurant during August
  • Stayed August 2005, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SomersetSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2007

Hotel Hermitage is not far from the Florence airport (20-30 minutes driving). It is away from town and from the autoroute, so it took a bit of navigation to find it (easier if you follow the smaller road then the autoroute).

We were looking for a place after our long flight to Italy to spend the night before the short window for arriving at our villa (Sat between 3 and 6 p.m.). We were pleasantly surprised. I had booked through the hotel website, and got a fast response. The hotel was willing to set up a quad room for the 4 of us. Their service was excellent.

What we found when we arrived was great. They had set up up in two adjoining rooms. Each was realatively spacious and had a wonderful view.

The kids most apprecited the swimming pool. We arrived around 7 p.m., all the kids wanted to do was swim. It wasn't until after we had done or swimming I read the pool closes at 7 or something. But the hotel didn't say a thing.

Breakfast here was great. It was much more complete than a typical Italian breakfast. The adults and the kids each found plenty to eat.

So overall the hotel was marvelous. The hotel was beautiful and well-kept. The service was very pleasant. The food was good. My only nit is that it is a bit out of the way. My sense was this hotel is ften an escape for Italian who want to get out of town. If you are willing to drive, Florence and Pisa are just over 30 minutes away. But this seems a much better choice if you are looking for a relaxing out-of-town getaway.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Leroi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poggio a Caiano
2.2 km away
Hotel Villa San Michele
Hotel Villa San Michele
#1 of 3 in Carmignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
5.2 km away
Villa La Malva
Villa La Malva
#2 of 3 in Carmignano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
7.1 km away
Art Hotel Museo
Art Hotel Museo
#4 of 18 in Prato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Albergo Il Giglio
Albergo Il Giglio
#3 of 18 in Prato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
8.4 km away
Art Hotel Milano
Art Hotel Milano
#2 of 18 in Prato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
3.9 km away
Artimino Apartments
Artimino Apartments
#2 of 2 in Artimino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage

Property: Hotel Hermitage
Address: Via Ginepraia, 112, 59016 Poggio a Caiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Prato > Poggio a Caiano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poggio a Caiano
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,366 - ₹ 7,106
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hermitage 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in Poggio a Caiano, in a quiet residential area, on a panoramic hill, close to the beautiful Villa Medicea "Ambra", which was erected in 1479 A.D. by order of Lorenzo The Magnificent Ideal both for business and leisure travellers, the hotel lies just 18 Kms from the artistic treasures of Florence; 6 Kms from Prato and 3 Kms from its industrial district Macrolotto; 16 Kms from Pistoia and its tree nursery district; 12 Kms from Quarrata (renowned for the production of furniture).Moreover, it lies within short driving distance from Carmignano, the medieval village of Artimino and some of the best wineries and olive oil producers in the Montalbano region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hermitage Prato

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing