We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
281
105
26
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
105
26
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmake surepizzawaiting staffgreat servicefeel welcomeweddingbolognabarbaracountrysideviewssummerlunchsceneryhilltopqueentourhand
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Outstanding, outstanding, outstanding! Beautiful venue, beautiful scenery, amazing staff and super star food. This is a rustic, country Italian gem. Attended my daughter's wedding here on January 3, 2015 Never have been treated so kindly. Palazzo Loup is rustically beautiful. The staff was friendly, kind, responsive and proactive. Barbara, the manager, is worth her weight in gold. Barbara arranged for a hairdresser for the day of the wedding. The day before the wedding she went out of her way on a very busy day to drive us to meet the hairdresser to make sure the bride was comfortable with her. Palazzo Loup arranged a food tasting before the wedding to make sure the food was what we wanted. The chef is a superstar. The wedding cake was a vanilla semi-fredo with raspberry puree-amazing. His tagliatella with pancetta - I ate every morsel. His boar stew, balsamic with cherries, polenta, everything was delicious! Everything was prepared onsite.

Palazzo Loup is located on a mountain top in the country. The staff noted that many customers come here in the warmer months and walk the beautiful countryside. Because of the walking I did while there, I came back seven pounds thinner in spite of eating the chef's food. Palazzo Loup is only 30 minutes from Bologna. We did a day trip to San Marino. Not far from Florence.

This is a perfect choice to go for a peaceful, quiet time. Enjoy the beauty of the countryside and all that Palazzo Loup has to offer. When you feel the need for some hustle and bustle, drive into Bologna for the day.

Thank you again, Barbara, for making our stay one that I will remember fondly and smile!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms can be small. Advise you email for specific information. The main building is pretty quiet. The building to the side of the main building is more quiet. The junior suite in the main building was lovely.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loup2011, Proprietario at Palazzo Loup, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2015

Dear Beachfrau,

thank you so much for your wonderful words of appreciation! It was a real pleasure for me and all my staff to meet you and all your family above all Marco and Allison. You all are entered in my heart and I keep in my mind with affection the days you have spent here.
I hope you will have another occasion to come back here in order to enjoy the new wellness center!!
Thank you so much again for your kind words.
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Location, location and location ! Between Bologna and Florence, on the hilltop, yet easily accessible ... Beautiful gardens and grounds, views, main building and the bedrooms in the nearby annex, quietness ... Lovely swimming pool and most of all - lovely people making you feel at home and relaxed. Mille grazie to Laura and everyone, Johanna and I really enjoyed our June weekend break at the Palazzo Loup and hope to go back at the first opportunity :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mladen_P930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Ever since our first visit in 2011, we have been completely in love with his gem of a hotel in the beautiful hills of Emilia Romagna.
Having stumbled across it whilst trying to find a place to stay close to mugello circuit, we still cannot believe our luck.
In itself a one stop escape to the Italian countryside with great facilities but it's unbeatable location means it is also a great base to explore the surrounding areas.
Once you have experienced the charm of Palazzo Loup and it's incredible team you will be telling your friends and wanting to return. This is exactly what we did and now do.
Rooms-antique furniture and rustic decor feels like stepping back in time. Reasonably priced with added grandeur!
Food - Continental breakfast, with a large choice.For Italian dining to remember, do not miss le volte restaurant. The menu is locally sourced and changes seasonally. The service is impeccable (attentive but subtle).
Following our engagement Palazzo Loup was the first and only place we considered and we became the first foreign couple to marry at Scanello church in the grounds.
PL suited those in our family who are active or relaxed, young and old. The team helped with everything from florists to musicians to paperwork and a crash course in Italian the night before so we could say our vows in the native language.
We cannot thank them enough for their love and support - they really went the extra mile to make it wonderful and nothing is ever too much trouble no matter the question or occasion.

Always in our hearts, viva palazzo Loup.

Room Tip: Have stayed in the main house and the outbuilding overlooking the pool and valley, doubles and junior suites are spacious, spotlessly clean and offer breathtaking views of the grounds.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charlotte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Most importantly the staff were pleasant and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble in helping to make our stay memorable. The dining facilities are excellent with views out over rolling hillsides and impeccable table service. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The swimming pool is set below the main buildings and again with breath-taking views over the valley. My nephew was straight in there before the bags were even unpacked.

Unfortunately we were not there long enough to enjoy all the facilities, but we will be back.

I just read that review from one Harold_ Ester, and all I can say is that he must have be staying at another place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our main objection to Palazzo Loup is its designation as a 4-star establishment. The furnishings are very tired. There is no sense of luxury about the place. The shower in our bathroom was a Home Depot-type add-on. The worst experience was the dining room environment which most resembled an unused banquet hall with a couple of tables provisionally set up for the 2 parties of diners. The food was terrible, the worst being a lasagna which looked and tasted like something reheated from lunch. Breakfast choices were adequate but minimal. Overall, the place gave the impression gave the impression of a lot of corners being cut. We had booked for 8 days, left after 2, and were forced to pay a 1-night penalty. Never again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold_Ester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews