We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Better than the pictures”
other travellers have booked this property
The 16m natural swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The 16m natural swimming pool
Luxury Lodge nr Beechworth 5 acres of magnificent garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The 16m natural swimming pool
Luxury Lodge nr Beechworth
5 acres of magnificent garden
Generous living and dining
Funky rustic living space
Lodge bedroom
Generous king bedrooms
Lodge bathroom 1
Modern comforts - kitchen and entry
Spacious kitchen well equipped
Picturesque outdoor dining
Private garden and dining
Giant chess
Arts Suite living room
Arts Suite romantic bedroom
Relax on the bocci court
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Stanley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
russell27...
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than the pictures”
Reviewed 25 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Just spent the weekend here with four friends and our adult daughter to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. It was brilliant. A real wow factor as soon as you walk in. The house is beautifully presented with all the features you might hope for. The spacious bedrooms all had very comfortable beds. We used the well equipped kitchen to prepare our evening meal for seven. The extensive gardens are a real highlight and create a very peaceful environment to relax in or simply look out on.
The pool was great, but it was the only negative. It would definitely benefit from a little maintenance. The water was very clean but there was still a fair degree of sediment. The "creepy-crawley" was in the pool but it didn't look like it had been running in recent times.
Regardless, the overall experience here was fantastic, our host Genevieve was wonderful, the property is excellent. I recommend it whole heartedly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2018
It was a great pleasure to host Sue and her family and friends for their anniversary weekend. I am delighted that you were comfortable and that you had all that you desired to make this a special weekend. In response to you comments regarding the pool - this is a natural pool integrated with a water garden that keeps the water pristine clear and clean without relying heavily on chemicals. Plant sediment does collect on the bottom over time but that is 2m below the swimmers so is not usually a cause for concern. As part of our daily service of the pool the "creepy-crawly" is cleaned and put on every day to pick up any loose and floating matter and skimmer baskets pick up any other matter floating on the surface. Over time some of the organic residue collects on the floor of the pool and becomes solid and bound to the pool liner. We regard that as part of the natural look of the pond and we do not expect or desire that the pool floor to look like a conventional chemical pool. Natural pools, hugely popular in Europe and America, are a relatively new experience in Australia and not always well understood. But we are always delighted to explain the system to our guests and enjoy the thrill and enjoyment so many have in experiencing this beautiful natural swim surrounded by lillies, reeds and water plants. I look forward to welcome you again and hope that next time you will take the opportunity to enjoy a swim also. Best wishes. Genevieve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skate_13
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The perfect place for a family break”
Reviewed 16 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Planetrees Lodge has everything for the perfect family break with a superb pool set in a lovely garden. There are lots of activities in & around Lodge for young & old from boules to outdoor chess & there are many cycle paths close by. The Lodge is very comfortable & has everything needed.

Further afield there are plenty of local restaurants & pubs & Beechworth has many attractions. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit & hope to return one day.

Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2018
Thank you for your appreciation. It was a delight to host your lovely family. I look forward to welcome you another time soon ! Best wishes. Genevieve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookie077
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Stunning, stunning and stunning!”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

What a wonderful place to stay and unwind.

Beautifully appointed accommodation, well equipped but oh the garden........gorgeous.
A clean house with quality linen and comfy beds. Little extras in the kitchen very helpful.....foil, cling wrap, oil, sauces.....much appreciated.

So much thought and work has gone into this Property and as the guest you reap the rewards.

The natural pool setting was so lovely and refreshing on a warm day.

Everywhere you turn, the garden tells a story.

We are definitely coming back.

Thanks Geneieve, we loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2018
Thank you for this wonderful appreciation of Planetrees. It is always my great pleasure to see my guests making the most of the facilities and enjoying the comfort, peace and green luxury. It was my absolute pleasure to meet you and to host your group. You are model guests - so respectful of the property and facilities and thank you for leaving the house is great condition. I look forward to welcome you anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley T
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They say that photos never lie!”
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

But in this case they do - Planetrees is even more stunning than the photos show. Eight of us enjoyed a 5 day getaway at this beautiful location. Although we ventured out & about & enjoyed the sights, sounds & tastes of Stanley, Beechworth, Yackandandah & Milawa we would have been just as happy to laze around in the gardens or swimming in that amazing pool. Thank you Genevieve for creating this luxurious retreat. We were sorry our stay wasn’t longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne m
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Planetrees”
Reviewed 8 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Gorgeous accomodation.It was like a little piece of Europe..heavenly garden and beautifully designed interiors. We all had a fantastic weekend all our friends want to revisit again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing