We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nyoman Gunarsa Museum of Classical and Modern Art
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful paintings in very poor conditions

This museums apparently houses an exceptional collection of ancient Bali paintings and... read more

Reviewed 13 May 2015
nickfromParis
,
Paris
Art gallery of fine works but in a sorry state

This museum contains hundreds of exceptionally fine examples of classical Balinese art, some going... read more

Reviewed 7 February 2015
afdickey
,
Perth, Australia
Read all 9 reviews
  
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
5
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
3
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2016

I have visited all major museums in Bali. This one impressed me the most. The collector is also a famous Indonesian artist. He used all his money to collect those pieces. many paintingsare only protected by plastic. There is no air con. I just worry how those paintings can survive the heat and humid air. The collections are world class. By looking at those same art objects, you can appreciate more of Balinese art. A must for any art lover.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank curious101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2015

This museums apparently houses an exceptional collection of ancient Bali paintings and craftsmanship but , as somebody has already said on this site , the building is not equipped properly and the display conditions are very poor , I was nevertheless very glad to see this museum which has very few visitors and is out of the tourist track , I recommend a visit for the lovers of old Bali art - you need a car , taxi or driver to get there

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank nickfromParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2015

This museum contains hundreds of exceptionally fine examples of classical Balinese art, some going back centuries. Unfortunately, they are in a building that is not air conditioned and is poorly lit. I have little doubt that it would take millions of dollars to conserve and rehouse these works in a museum that befits their importance. The museum staff are helpful and welcoming, which makes the state of this museum all the more sad. Visitors to the museum are, it seems, few and far between.

I recommend anyone who has an interest in classical Balinese paintings to see the many fine works in this museum before the ravages of time do any more damage to these wonderful examples of this genre of Balinese art and culture.

Date of experience: February 2015
2  Thank afdickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you are travelling to Klungkung and/or you are a student of Balinese art then this museum is worth a visit. It is some 6 kms before Klungkung (Semarapura, you see signs using both names) on the road from Gianyar. Watch for the bend in the road with police mannequins. It costs 50 thousand to enter and is looking somewhat run down but that rather adds to the atmosphere. We were the only people there during our visit and I cannot imagine it being on the tourist bus itinerary.
There are several floors of very historic pieces, many are three hundred or more years old. I have not seen similar pieces displayed in museums like the Neka in Ubud. The lighting/ displays are not the best but the works include ones which are not common, for example the wooden doorways.

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank UbudBaliRichard_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews