We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short on Staff and necessities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lajitas Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lajitas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed during Spring Break so we expected a large crowd. You would think the resort would as well. I felt sorry for the staff because it seemed they were over worked and they tried their best with what they had. The owners of the resort really need to read these reviews and make some changes. For example, hire more people, buy more towels, listen to their employees, do not keep the doors open to the restaurant during buffet time because of flies coming in and they were visibly seen flying and landing on the food, the shop owners pick and choose who they speak to and are not very friendly, fix their reservation system, clean out the fountain, etc.
The resort has a lot of potential to be 4 star or higher if they can improve on very simple things. It has the look and location, it just really needs better management to turn it around so there is better customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jetmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 496 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

Now, this is an excellent way to spend your down time after exploring Big Bend! Rooms are great! Highly recommend the condos on the boardwalk. Perfect when you are with the kids. Food is good. You must try the bakery. Freshly made pastries and the cinnamon rolls are to die for!! Atmosphere is very southwestern. My only negative was the service. However, I will give them a break since it was Spring Break and they were packed! A must-stay on your trip to Big Bend.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alcwHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Cannot really fault anything at the resort too much but with the price they are charging you expect excellent Ritz Carlton like service and facilities and it was nowhere near.

It is a amazing setting with mountain views but when you start meeting the staff the place starts to unravel a little bit. It seems like they have picked 10 decent people at random, dropped them at the resort with no training and told them to get on with it.

The Thirsty Goat is OK but lacks soul and the Dip and Chips were the worst we have had. The bar man Stan, it depends what mood you catch him in.

His wife works in the RV park where we stayed about, 100 yards from where our rig was located. My wife had a spa day booked but unbeknown to us the clocks had gone forward that night. The spa lady rang the woman at the RV park as she could not get through to our phone (no signal in the mountain) and she phoned as well. If that was me I would have come and knocked on the door as it was obvious what had happened. My wife subsequently lost 45 mins of her 2 hour spa treatment! How is that relaxing?? A top notch hotel would have handled that totally differently

The golf course is an amazing setting. Some of the views are breathtaking and is worth the $95 fee, however like the resort itself it just lets itself down. The fairways were is pretty shabby condition with a mixture of browning dead grass and sodden grass around the irrigation. The difference between a 220 yard and 280 yard drive was where it bounced, very very poor. Tee beds and greens were great but no 19th hole!!!

If I had shelled out $300 for a room I probably would have given this place 1 or 2 stars. However if you love driving the drive from Presido is the best drive I have ever done, hire a sports car with a drop top!, it will be better than the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We made reservations in January for spring break. We were offered a unit with two bedrooms with two queen beds in each. When we called to confirm we were told that infact only one bedroom was available, and the the cost was the same because the original price was a mistake.

As we were going to be driving all the way from Houston we called one more time to be absolutely sure that the reservations were set, and were told that we were getting a single bedroom with double beds, not queen size, but that the sofa folded out into a double bed too.

On arrival we found that the sofa was not a fold out, and the staff told us that they had no rollaway beds, and did not have enough towels for us to have one each. They offered bath mats as an alternate. When we asked what they could do about us having sleeping space for only five out of six people, the manager shrugged and said he understood, but offered us nothing. We asked for sheets and pillows for the sofa which he grudgingly provided.

Unbelievably poor service. Think carefully before you drive all the way down to big bend if you have reservations here!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at Lajitas so that we could hike at Big Bend National Park during the day and be comfortable at night. We found the grounds impeccable, and the resort and rooms were beautifully decorated. This resort is convenient to Big Bend. There is a good bar, and a good restaurant. I highly recommend it. The front desk did have a challenge with our reservation, and they also added another room charge to our bill, and took several days to work it out, but they worked hard to make both situations right so I still think they deserve a "five star" rating.

Room Tip: If you have the option to upgrade, do it. Go for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyoto5301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lajitas Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lajitas Golf Resort

Address: 100 Main Street, Lajitas, Big Bend National Park, TX 79852-9703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Big Bend National Park > Lajitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lajitas
Price Range: ₹ 13,526 - ₹ 23,880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lajitas Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lajitas Golf Resort offers a boutique resort setting nestled in the lowland desert between the majestic mountains of the Big Bend National Park and the Big Bend Ranch State Park in Texas. Featuring resort amenities with an award winning Lanny Wadkins designed championship golf course, world class zip line adventure with 9 stations and over 8,000 ft. of adrenaline producing zip lines that span canyons, a relaxing spa, an equestrian center,and a variety of outdoor adventure activities including jeep tours, mountain biking, hiking, river rafting, 5-stand sporting clays, cowboy action shoot or just relaxing poolside soaking up the warmth and beauty of the pristine desert. In the evening visit the resort's casual restaurant with outdoor seating with incredible vista views of the Big Bend mountains, or sip on a cool drink in the Thirsty Goat Saloon with live local music most nights and enjoy star gazing on the patio. Come and enjoy the "ultimate Big Bend experience!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lajitas Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lajitas Golf Hotel Lajitas
Lajitas Golf Resort And Spa
Lajitas Hotel
Lajitas Resort Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing