We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
117
40
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
40
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old style other guests homemade bread furniture bath backyard toilet artifacts
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Probably built sometimes in the 1880’s, but without any real charm, by a noisy road. We actually had to call the hotel on the phone to get hold of staff and check in and get our key. Some quirky rooms improved with seasoned furniture and upgraded en suite bathrooms. Breakfast is rock bottom, the cucumber was definitely from the day before, and selection poor, including a melting cheese, but homemade bread and sufficient coffee. Would I go back? Well, probably only for the back-yard coffee.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank vivere2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Of the many places I stayed at on a recent three week cycling tour in Scandinavia, this had by far the most character and was by far the most memorable.

The hotel dates back to the Nineteenth Century and is crammed full of period furniture, paintings, ornaments and other artefacts which take you back to when, for example, it was used by members of the British aristocracy who stayed here on hunting and fishing trips. It simply oozes history and character.

Don't expect things that most travellers now take for granted or even insist on. Rooms do not have their own en suite facilities, so you will be sharing a bathroom with other guests. Don't be put off by this. It's a big part of the hotel's attraction and gives you a really authentic experience. The brass bedsteads and other quirky memorabilia strewn about the place do as well ! The floors upstairs are wooden and uneven and reminded me very much of an Eighteenth Century house I used to stay in as a child.

The breakfast provided was of a very high standard. The owners, who only acquired the hotel recently but whose son has worked there for some years, are extremely welcoming, friendly and informative.

If you're into history and character, you'll love it. If you're not, look elsewhere (but it'll be your loss).

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

A nice hotel just off the E39. This hotel in Lyngdal suited my purposes as being low cost and only a short car Journey from my location. The facilities may be basic in the rooms but this is the charm of the place. Shared bathroom was no problem, neither was TV and other amenities in the room. Nice comfy bed and warm warm only a small heater. Breakfast was in the cafe and had the place to myself - no buffet but the waitress laid on a feast.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saggabott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We stayed overnight on our way back to Denmark. Already when stepping out of our car, the camera was in use. It’s an amazing old Norwegian style hotel where everything, down to the smallest nail in the wall, is kept in original style. We arrived Sunday and sadly, we didn’t know that the kitchen closed at 6:00 pm. However, the kindly staff quickly guided us to a nearby restaurant.

The room was nice, cosy and we did get a good night sleep. When joining the breakfast we did get a good talk with the owner about the history of the hotel. We will come back for sure.

PS: Thanks to Jimmi for a wonderful morning.

Room tip: Amazing old Norwegian style
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank René F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We had a few days at this charming hotel, it felt like a trip back in time. We loved the surprising details, and style from the 19th century. A real Norwegian breakfast served in a calm atmosphere, with small story's of the history of the hotel by the owners, gave such a good calm start. You could of course have all your meals at the hotel, but nothing beats a god start of the day. The room was kept in its original style, the bed was comfortable. The downside was the traffic noise outside and the small bathroom. If you want a different and personal hotel experience this might be what you are looking for.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wenche S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews