We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
160
149
30
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
149
30
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old harbour small harbour perfect location ferry terminal waitress service first floor breakfast overlooking lake garda quality towels surrounded by restaurants minute walk balcony overlooking porto vecchio air con watching the world lovely little hotel reasonable size
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has a good location 15 minutes walk from the train station, a minute from the lakeside, 5 minutes from boat station and plenty of restaurants nearby. The hotel itself lacks quite a lot. The Wi-Fi was terrible, the breakfast was poor, the roof terrace closed early and to top it all we were given someone else’s key when we checked in. This meant we never left our key at reception when we went out. When we actually got the key to our room it was clean and spacious but why would you have a shelf above the bed so you continually hit your head on it? When we asked about changing air con temperature it seemed like it was centrally controlled as we were told we’d have to speak to Alberto. Staff were polite and fairly helpful.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jackijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberto s, Proprietario at Hotel Piroscafo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your
vacation , sharing your personal and valuable experience.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this hotel, it was a 15min downhill walk from the train station and was really easy to find. It's right in the heart of the old town making it the ideal location to explore Desenzano. We loved eating our breakfast overlooking the marina as it was so beautiful. The rooms are spacious and clean, the breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LouiseP1443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberto s, Proprietario at Hotel Piroscafo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It is good to know that our Hotel and its facilities and location provided such an added value to you. We hope to welcome you once in the nearest future.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A boutique type three star (officially) bed and breakfast hotel facing the old harbour, bobbing boats, ducks and swans, very restful! It is surrounded by many bars, cafes and restaurants and round one corner the shops start and round the other, a five minute walk to the ferry terminal for all of Lake Garda's beautiful resorts. There are plenty of buses and the trains to Verona, Venice and Milan run from the station a mere 15 to 20 minutes walk. It's uphill so depends on your agility. The Harbour view rooms are a little bit extra but so worthwhile. Better still the rooms with shared terrace are fabulous. I've stayed in both. Clean, no frills but excellent buffet breakfast, free wifi and courteous, helpful staff. Beyond the trees on the seafront, less than ten minutes walk and you are at the side of the lake itself. Throughout the year the community organises a variety of special attractions including, outdoor music, a circus, flower festival and air show. Fantastic!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kimfisher60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberto s, Proprietario at Hotel Piroscafo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are really glad that we have been able to meet the expectations you had about your holiday in our hotel.
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and goodbye from Desenzano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We recently stayed in this lovely hotel for 5 nights, It has a beautiful situation in Desenzano, looking out on the old port. It is about as central to everything as it's possible to be.
We had a warm welcome from the owner when we arrived and went up to our room to find that we had a room with a balcony overlooking the port. I hadn't expected this as there were none available when I booked the room. I mentioned it to the owner and he said that one had become available so he thought we might like it (at no extra charge). It was such a bonus to have it.
The room was comfortable with a large shower room and the lighting in the room and shower room was excellent. The hairdryer was also of good quality. Breakfast was plentiful and had plenty of choices, from boiled eggs to lovely croissants and pastries. It can be eaten in the breakfast room or at tables outside.
We were within 200 metres of the ferry port and less than that from good restaurants and caffés. Eating out is not expensive.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Desenzano.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a balcony overlooking the old port.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberto s, Proprietario at Hotel Piroscafo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are really delighted you have enjoyed your vacation
in our hotel. We thank you for your amazing review and hope to
meet you again.
Best regards from Garda lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

From the moment our taxi pulled up outside this hotel, we could not believe our luck. What a fantastic view of the little marina! Friendly staff, clean rooms, varied breakfast options, and so central. Just around the corner form the ferry terminal too.

Room Tip: Marina view
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberto s, Proprietario at Hotel Piroscafo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

We are really glad that we have been able to meet the expectations you had about your holiday in our hotel.
Thank you very much and goodbye from Desenzano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews