We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveller rating
519
183
20
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
183
20
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station great hotel lake garda superior room good size pool area hotel is spotless italian town a busy main road rooms are spacious lovely pool cooked breakfast five minute walk three star town centre yogurt plenty of sun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 731 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

This was the first stop of our trip round the Italian Lakes and what a brilliant place to start. The hotel is fantastic- the staff are very friendly and helpful, the hotel is very clean and modern, breakfast is plentiful - wide selection of fruit, cheeses, cold meats, scrambled egg, bacon, croissants, rolls and Prosseco is even available to drink at breakfast. There is a lovely pool and sun beds to relax on if you can pull yourself away from the beautiful sights of Lake Garda. Our room was a Superior Double room with a balcony and was very spacious. The hotel is close to the lakeside and its many restaurants but far enough away to make your stay a very quiet, peaceful and relaxing one. All in all we would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Stayed at this hotel for our second week of a 2 week stay in Lake Garda. Fairly decent hotel, clean and modern with a great pool area. Its also a short walk into the town. Lunch options are very nice as well. Breakfast was a bit boring but adequate.

However, the atmosphere in the hotel was very subdued, you wont find too many hanging around the bar of an evening and I felt the place was just a bit flat in its vibe. The staff for the most part are helpful but a few of them are a bit unapproachable when looking advice etc.

Although there was one member of staff who was extremely helpful to us, unfortunately don't recall his name. Hes a middle aged, slim male with short grayish hair. He was the go to man.

I cant recommend this hotel as I think there are probably better places, and better areas than Desenzano, if I were to do it again I would probably have stayed in Sirmione.

Ps if you do stay here ask for a pool view room, its much nicer and you can sit on the balcony and enjoy a glass of wine. The lake view rooms are looking onto a car dealership and a busy road, the view of the lake is minimal. I asked to be moved after 2 nights and it was a smart move.

Room Tip: Pool view room
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jay2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We picked Desenzano for a four day trip in 2015 because it was the only Town on the South of Lake Garda with a train station as we were travelling across from Milan.
What a piece of luck because in our opinion it's the best resort on the Lake.
The train links with Verona(25mins) , Milan (60mins) and Venice and the station is a relatively short walk downhill to the hotel ( seems longer back up !)
Hotel Nationale is classed as a 3 * but it is better than that - much better.
Scrupulously clean with very helpful , friendly staff who efficiently go about their work with a good attention to detail.
Our room this year was slightly smaller than last year but still plenty big enough with a stand only balcony in place of a seated balcony.
Get a front , Lake facing room if possible even though it's onto a main road there is no noise.
The Hotel has a really nice pool area which this year did suffer slightly from "Towel Leavers" , which was pointless because the Hotel pool is big enough to accommodate its residents.
Only a short walk into the Town where you can get Ferries around the Lake .
Plenty of shops and choices to eat and drink but our favourite restaurant was La Taverna Del Garda (street side) where the food was both good value and excellent quality.
Back to the Nationale , breakfast is plenty with a good choice and they put out free picky food daily at 6pm which is a nice touch .Even better was a "Pool Party"evening which was actually a Birthday Party for the new Hotel Manager (who's name I've forgotten !)
With a 3 course buffet and drinks all completely free for residents ,Family and friends.
We spoke to a few other returners at the Hotel and this is probably one of the best indicators you can have.
Special mention for Mario. Not sure how he keeps his glasses on his head !

Room Tip: Front facing .
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tumpboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Just returned following a 4 night stay. Absolutely beautiful hotel. Modern, clean, great location, great breakfast, friendly staff. Lovely room with balcony, mini bar, toileteries and free flip flops - nice touch. Nice pool. Would definitely return and definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Superior room has better view.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dihayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

One night stay in hotel.very nice amenities. Lovely pool.excellent breakfast.little pricey on drinks but consistent with rest of town and restaurant areas.would I stop again.......yes I would.5 minute walk to harbour area and nightlife.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews