We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
74
96
21
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
96
21
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet street train station great location star hotel lake garda free wifi breakfast room fridge shore lobby 10min desenzano supermarket boat cheese milan
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Fantastic location - cannot be beaten. 10min walk to train station (on direct line to Verona, Venice, Milan etc), has a port 5mins walk to go all over the lake, as well as buses to also go around lake. 1min walk to UniCredit ATM, 2 mins walk to In's supermarket, and 2min walk into town.
Very comfortable rooms, excellent beds, good sized bathroom. Fridge, safe, toiletries, kettle, tea, coffee etc. The rooms are very well sound-proofed as we did not hear a single noise from other rooms, or outside the hotel.
Breakfast is 7-10:30 and excellent selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, pastries, bread, cold meats & cheese, tea, coffee, hot choc, juices etc.
Very helpful reception staff for questions on area, transport, where to eat etc.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank expressive-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

During our visit to Italy travelling by train we booked our accommodation at Hotel City located in Desenzano. The hotel was a fairly easy downhill walk from the railway station taking approximately 20 minutes with our luggage. We were checked in efficiently by friendly staff at the reception giving us helpful advice on the area which we had never visited before. The area of the lake where the boat trips depart and the main area where the bars and restaurants were located roughly a 5-minute walk from the hotel. The room was comfortable and had a good night’s sleep with in a comfortable bed. The continental breakfast was served in the breakfast room with a lady keeping the food items well stocked and was there to help with finding items etc. We had a good Wi-Fi connection in our room.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

This hotel is in an excellent position just a minute's walk from the lake and all the restaurants, shops and bars. Although a budget type hotel it has everything you need and is clean and comfortable, with helpful pleasant staff. Free parking and a good buffet style breakfast. Rooms are clean and comfortable with good bathrooms, fridge, safe , kettles and free wifi. We had everything we needed and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have lake view.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank philipy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

The City Hotel was perfect for our needs. Conveniently positioned close to many restaurants on the edge of Lake Garda, it was well run by friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were comfortable and immaculately clean. Reakfast, basic but good. Overall strongly recommended.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Let's be clear here: I'm joined in Trip Advisor just to explain how the City Hotel has a perfect position and small clean rooms but, mostly, it has a huge and very noisy car wash just opposite the entire south side of the building.

Believe me, I should have checked first on Google Maps.

The noise is incessant from early morning to late afternoon. Honestly, this means: you can't keep open the windows without earplugs and neither you can enjoy a nice view.

The noisy and the cars force you to keep the windows and the curtains close.
It does not allow you to relax.

I don't know how an industrial car wash it can be located in the center of a touristic charming place like Desenzano del Garda without any kind of full sound insulation.

I'm an Italian architect and I've never seen anything like that in northern Europe.

Sorry to say but I strongly suggest you stay away from City Hotel and its incessant disturbance if you are traveling with children, aged people, and pets. It is unnerving and a waste of money for a holiday trip.

With sincerity

Room Tip: Avoid the carwash
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stiletto10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews