We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Palace Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$ 201
US$ 189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Al Cacciatore(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$ 113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alessi Hotel(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$ 151
US$ 137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Castello Belvedere Apartments(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$ 208
US$ 202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral Hotel Villa Erme(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$ 119
US$ 112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Moniga(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Le Preseglie(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$ 207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Benaco(Desenzano Del Garda)
US$ 171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Trattoria Italia(San Martino della Battaglia)(Great Value!)
US$ 98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
37
28
8
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
28
8
7
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2015

We spend a 2days small weekend at Borgo Machetto in August 2015. Very nice property with amazingly friendly staff, a big thank you to the restaurant waiters as they went out of their way for every request we had! We received complimentary a very nice and spacious room on the back side of the property. Very clean. The hotel is good situated to visit the different towns around Lake Garda, just nearby the main road. The location has a little downside: car noise from the road but it was no issue in the rooms, very good isolated and at the pool the hotel management has done everything to cover for the noise with lounge music. They have a very nice pool, good sunbeds and towels at your disposal. On Sunday they often have special pool parties that guests from outside the hotel are attending. We found it a lot of fun, but for those who like quiet and relax time at the pool maybe not as convenient. We loved our stay and would certainly recommend it all our friends !!!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CindyVdE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I cannot believe that this place has been awarded a tripadvisor certificate for excellence. Yes the grounds are beautiful, well presented and maintained with a great pool and a nice golf course. But that is where it ends.

Forget about staying here if you don't have a car. There is no bus nor shuttle service to the town of Desenzano. It's a 10 € taxi ride one way which cannot be booked in avdance and is subject to availability of one of the twelve taxis in town. We called five times and waited half an hour today to finally get one.

The room is spacious but lacks attention to detail. Visible electrical wires are protruding from the wall, broken toilet seat and heavily stained couch just to name a few. There is no wifi connection in the room (in 2014) but only at the bar located near the pool.

The shower is by far the worst feature of the room. A failed attempt to a luxurious shower. There are six shower heads (yes you read right), none of which function properly nor have decent pressure. There are huge damp stains on the ceiling and mould in the track of the screen door. We had a cold shower on the first day because something was wrong with the hot water system. Although this was promptly fixed, the water temperature is almost impossible to regulate.

Breakfast was ok but not impressive. There is an affordable restaurant on the grounds where food is alright but this is not enough to make this place worth staying at. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValMella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorgoMachettocc, Direttore at Borgo Machetto, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Referring to your recently review, we are sorry to read your comments regarding our hotel.
We are not perfect and we may have small faults but the most important thing for us is that our guests will understand that we care about their needs and requirements as well as we try to solve problems as soon as possible
We apologize for the disruptions that you have encountered during your stay in our hotel and we charge the whole responsibility about what happened. We are working to solve the problem of Wi-Fi, we must say that ours is an ancient farmhouse, and for this reason it is not easy to create internet connection in each location. For this reason we have created areas with free WI FI access (lounge bar and common hall in the rooms). The stain on the wall of the room has been caused by a loss of the pipes, inconvenience that can happen in any structure, but also in this case has been fixed.
Our location is nestled in the green and quiet and is just 2.5km from Lake Garda and about the TAXI, we can just say that, unfortunately, it does not depend on us.
Probably that day there was too much movement because they are usually on time, arrive in 5min.
We are very pleased that you appreciated our kitchen and breakfast and we invite you to return to our hotel, we promise the best in comfort.
Thanks for the review and criticism that will help us to improve.
Best Regards from Borgo Machetto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

It was a nice hotel and a good seized room. The pool and surrounding area were great. The breakfast was really good too. We did not have a car and this hotel is not suitable for anyone without one. The road in to Desenzano is not safe to walk for parts and is too far from Desenzano to walk to everyday anyway. It would be nice if the wifi was in the rooms too.

Room Tip: Hire a car if you want to stay at this hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews