We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
67
72
40
17
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
72
40
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view minute stroll lakeside room hot breakfast lovely swimming pool out of season mini bar main town terrace desenzano shore euros ferries cheese towns
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I parked our car in this hotel having just arrived in Italy today .. we went for a 40 minute walk on the lake. When we returned the gates had been closed and we had essentially been blocked in.

The receptionist came out to the car park and refused to open the gates to let us out until we paid €10. There was no sign to say parking was for a fee and NOWHERE did it say parking was for residents only. I understand her not wanting us to park there,it was a genuine mistake and I apologised... She was highly aggressive and demanded €10 or she wouldn't open the gate!! Really not the sort of thing you'd expect from someone in the tourism trade....

I paid her the €10 - hopefully they use it wisely.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Orlacullen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

At first look, when you see the understated reception area, breakfast room, and guest rooms that are very 1970's B&B with lots of laminate/old fashioned textiles and carpets, the hotel feels disappointing: Chic or slick it isn't. The rooms are oddly cramped too, with a weird, narrow excuse for a dressing table - you have to sit on the bed to do your hair etc. At these times, my husband climbed over the bed to get to the balcony. However, as you get to know the Lido, you find it really does tick a lot of boxes. The staff is friendly and helpful, and everywhere is clean, comfortable and practical. Things WORK. There are really nice pool, bar and breakfast terrace areas, and it is very quiet, being outside the main town. It is worth mentioning that out of season these areas are very quiet, and seem little used. Some fellow guests told us It wasn't that easy to get a drink, especially later in the evening.

You do need though to pay a little extra to be sure you get a room with a balcony onto the lake, where you can also relax and enjoy the views of the water and mountains, the sunrises and sunsets and, one morning on our trip, a spectacular storm. Ordinary doubles and singles look out onto the road, and surely this defeats the object of coming to the lake?? There are also a couple of rooms under the bar and terrace areas that look direct onto the water. Behind the bar there are 2 gates onto a pathway so you can walk all the way to town or back: take care though as they are locked in a random kind of way! To be honest, if fit enough you can climb them with little difficulty or be helped over . . . not very dignified however.

The breakfast for Italian hotels is pretty good, with tons of choice of juices, cereals, fruit, pastries, rolls and toast. There is a good continental selection of cheese and meats, and a hot breakfast. This, however, does not make the grade: it's essentially cut up omelette (looks bad, but does taste better than it looks) warmed up fatty and floppy prosciutto and mini frankfurters. You can risk the eggs but the hard boiled eggs are maybe better. You can certainly fill your boots however and we also made a little picnic each day for our trips on the ferries/visits to the little towns on the lake. Coffee was an oddity, out of a machine and you had to work hard to get more than an egg cup full. I took my own filters. There's teas as well however and decaf. You can get - if a true addict - espressos from the bar for a few extra euros.

On the whole therefore this is excellent value and we had a much nicer stay than we initially imagined: having the large balcony was a real bonus, and we certainly used it to the full. We had no real criticisms except for small-ish details. The hotel also now has a lift, recently added, on the outside of the building. Depending where you are, however, you might still have some steps to negotiate: If you have mobility problems, check this out in advance. You could come round from the car park and in through the back of the breakfast room and use the lift, especially if staying in 62-66. Otherwise check with the hotel before hand as some rooms are not accessible or as easily accessible. It is also worth mentioning you need to be careful as there is a step up onto a step on the balcony and then a shallow step down!! This would be really challenging if you had mobility difficulties or are a klutz like me: I tripped over or fell down it every day, only getting used to it the day we left.

Room Tip: 62-66 are great on 2nd floor and with balconies. Don't book ordinary double or single here as they look onto the road
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank hfulton32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Our view over Lake Garda was fantastic. There's little better than waking up with that view. There's also a bar and small pier where we spent some fabulous late afternoons and I particularly commend the barman for his swift service (lacking on his day off however) . The rooms and the entire hotel is very clean but feels rather unloved. There's a bit of paint peeling and the shower in our dated room was awful. Breakfast was basic and favoured our European friends' taste rather than British. One irritating thing - a 5€ charge for orange juice! The rooms at the front are small and noisy. However the view from my lakeside room must make this hotel incomparable. It's not perfect but the view is.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danno2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Great view from balcony. Great staff, small but comfortable room
One of few hotels on the lake shore
Happy to return. Will come back again
i hurt my back and for 90 euros we had limousine to airport booked by hotel

Room Tip: balcony with sea view
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We had a great welcome, and all the staff were friendly and helpful, the position is excellent with breathtaking views of the lake. It is a walk out of the centre but a 5 minute stroll away.
The hotel was clean and the breakfast accommodated all needs even gluten free.
The down side was the bar shut at 10 so when you came back you were unable to get a drink unless from the mini bar. Also no tea and coffee in room.

Room Tip: We had room 56 which h had good views
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank helenpage61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews